Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Old Bridge Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 698 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 17, 2013

LOVE this school. I have 3 kids who attend and couldn't be happier! The teachers are great, the principle is great and I love the PTO!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2013

Excellent! We couldn't be happier. The facilities are nice and the staff is exceptional. Parent involvement is high. The PTO is very active in supporting functions, field trips, and technology for the students. We have two children attending, and it has been a joy watching them learn and mature. I highly recommend OBE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2013

WE LOVE THIS SCHOOL!!! This is absolutely a school of excellence!! Both of my children go here and love it! The teachers, Principal, and staff are amazing, helpful and VERY involved. I have absolutely no complaints what so ever about this school, we love it here! There is a zero tolerance for bullying and I feel very safe knowing my children are in great hands here. I highly recommend this school to anyone considering moving to this school district! They go above and beyond at OBE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

My children (grades 2&5) are in their second year at OBES & love every moment of it. My youngest, most especially was not one of those kids that found school very appealing. I am thrilled that, for the second year in a row, he remains enthusiastic about going to school every day. My oldest is in the Signet Program & is having a great time learning. In addition to a superb academic environment, I am most impressed with the conduct of the children in this school. As great as a school could possibly be, if you & your child are witnessing behavioral issues in the building, it will not be a great environment for your child. This school appears to have zero tolerance for inappropriate behavior - though certainly not in a heavy-handed way. If I could give higher than 5 stars for teachers, administration & support staff I would!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2011

I have three of my four kids going to school here. I'm in the Air Force and this is their third elementary school. It is bar far the best one yet compared to the ones in Oklahoma and Nevada. The teachers are fantasic and there is a decent amount of money put into the school by the PTA. All the teachers have Smart Boards in their rooms and it enhances the childern's learning quite a bit. The homework load is perfect. The school is clear and all of staff is very professional and nice. I haven't heard any complaints from any of my neighbors whose kids go there as well. Don't hesistate to send your kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

Old Bridge Elementary is and should be the absolute model for other schools to follow. The principal is outstanding as is the rest of the staff. The staff do really get to know each child and family. There is a very high rate of parental involvement as well. Whether your child exceeds their grade level or are struggling even in just one area, the staff does their best to cater to each child's needs. I really wish the whole rest of the country would take a look at this school and use it as a model for how others should operate. Definitely a 5 star!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2011

OBE was our son's fourth school and it was by far the experience we've had with a elementary so far. The principal is simply OUTSTANDING. You will be hard pressed to find a better leadership staff in all of PW county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

Excellent school, fantastic family atmosphere, caring faculty and staff. Old Bridge is a wonderful school that we are blessed to be a part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My son entered this school in the first grade and has really enjoyed his time here. Old Bridge has gone far and above my expectations. The principal and staff know each child by name and are extremely friendly towards everyone. Old Bridge has many programs after school for students,parents and their siblings to enjoy including movie night and dances! We are moving and are sad to go. This is definitely a model school. If you have a child entering the first grade, you will be blessed to have Mrs. Gundersen as your child's teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

Great principal and teachers. Very attentive to parents and children's needs. Excellence in every area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2010

I must say I love that my son is going to this school. Three months into Kindergarten he learned how to read and is doing really well at beginner math. This school has an high emphasis on education, discipline and respect for others. The curriclum is challenging but fun and the staff is good natured. My son loves his teacher and loves going to school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

OBE, WOW Being a parent of a visually impaired student. I am happy to say that OBE is giving my daughter an excellent opportunitiy to learn in a normal class envoirnment. They have been so helpful with not only educating my child, but they have also showed that they truly care about her education and future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2008

OBE is the best! We are ending our first year here as a military family and couldn't ask for a nicer office staff and teachers. Everyone is always smiling and very friendly. I am very pleased with both of my children's teachers. They far exceeded my expectations in challenging them to higher levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

This is an excellent school with strong leadership and outstanding teachers.


Posted April 24, 2008

I have had 6 children go to Old Bridge Elementary, We have been there since 1999. I am very pleased with the school, and the teachers. I have only had one teacher I didn't feel was doing the very best for my child. She was a screamer. All of the other teachers (there have been many!) Are excellent! My children feel safe, they are in a very diverse cultural society at OBE. My children don't see race issues. They have excellent programs for gifted kids, and the playground is really fun. The kids have really enjoyed the music programs too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

I have had children at Old Bridge since the second year it opened. Two of our children have moved on and we still have two at Old Bridge. We have seen many changes over the years, three different principals, many staff changes and a diversity of children. We love Old Bridge and always have. School of Excellence year after year, check to see how many other Prince William schools have achieved that honor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

Our daughter loves OBES as do we. The teachers are professional, caring people. They have helped our daughter make great strides in the two years she has been there. We are thoroughly pleased with the academic and social progress she has made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

From the moment you enter the school you see smiling faces of the students and staff that make you feel very welcome. It is a great school! It is a school of excellence for 7 straight years. I would highly recommend this school to anyone moving into this area.


Posted April 13, 2008

Old Bridge Elementary School is one of the most outstanding schools my children have ever attended. We are a Military Family and two of my three children went to OBE. I loved the school so much that after my children moved on to Middle School and High School, I decided to apply for a job at OBE. I am pleased to say that today I am not only a very pleased alumna parent, but also a very proud staff member
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 13, 2008

What can I say? I love to send my kids to OBES each day! The diversity in this school is phenomenal...many different ethnicities and languages spoken. The kids feel special because their teachers care. I disagree with the parent who stated that there is too much emphasis on mastery for the SOLs and not enough on the curriculum! The SOLs measure the mastery of the curriculum and I've seen teachers monitor this all year long. OBES has a great test score history and continues to strive for the best for their kids. The teachers my kids have are very caring and loving but instill in my kids a positive work ethic and level of responsibility that I've not seen elsewhere. There are problems in every school. OBES has its share of challenges but the administration and teachers do everything possible to ensure the safety of my kids and others!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students86%
Female students85%
Male students87%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracial83%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities96%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students77%
Proficient in English89%

Math

All Students70%
Female students68%
Male students72%
Black students59%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracial83%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities87%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficient students52%
Proficient in English75%

Science

All Students89%
Female students91%
Male students87%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracial100%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities88%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students81%
Male students82%
Black students77%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities86%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient students70%
Proficient in English87%

Math

All Students87%
Female students83%
Male students91%
Black students83%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities80%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students79%
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students90%
Female students97%
Male students84%
Black students93%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracial90%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities100%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students77%
Proficient in English95%

English: Writing

All Students80%
Female students88%
Male students75%
Black students88%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracial90%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities87%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students63%
Proficient in English87%

Math

All Students91%
Female students95%
Male students88%
Black students93%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracial70%
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students83%
Proficient in English94%

Science

All Students85%
Female students86%
Male students85%
Black students81%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracial90%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students78%
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3051 Old Bridge Rd
Woodbridge, VA 22192
Phone: (703) 491-5614

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Prince William Academy
Lake Ridge, VA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT