Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Woodbridge High School 3

Posted September 13, 2015
- a student
Made many memories here. Unfortunately some not so great, but some will change my life. For the most part, very supporting and helpful of the LGBTQ+ community. Unless you seek help by yourself for college, you won't recieve any. Football games are very spirited, a lot of school pride. And I agree with the others, it is money hungry and overpopulated. Because they plan to move the CFPA program it likely will change. Teachers typically go against county rules, the homework rule in specific. You are only supposed to have 30 minutes of homework per class, including AP, and I often find myself spending up to 2 hours on certain subjects. I can't imagine how rough it is on student athletes. Certain faculty show care towards you, but favoritism is evident. On a more positive note, they do their best to make school a fun experience. Many extracurriculars and sports, as well as events and fundraisers that are enjoyable. Very clique-y at times. Each group of friends is very divided and rarely blend. Again, if you play sports you'll be worshipped, it's evident that if you spend your time as a scholar you are under appreciated. I have one year left at the school, and educationally it's extraordinary. I promise it's an amazing learning space. Socially is where issues arise. I will return to update is anything changes.

Woodbridge High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 13, 2015
- a student
Mr. Bryant in counseling is AMAZING. Best person ever, more than willing to help in college searches and providing you with support and the proper schedule. ALSO- Mr. Godinez in choir, for being an amazing role model and connecting with his students as a unit. Very good at making you feel cared for without going easy on you, and he believes in you. Very trustworthy person.


Woodbridge High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted September 13, 2015
- a student
Fairness, not so much. Because they definitely favor athletes. But honesty, they are great on. They rely on honesty and integrity.

Woodbridge High School 2

Posted June 01, 2015
- a community member
Guidance counselors are foolish, unintelligent, and unhelpful. They are lazy, careless, and lack motivation to help students with the college process. I have had few memorable teachers and overall they have been nothing special. There is a lack of attention towards students who are not star athletes. There is a high demand for money here, and students are required to pay fees for required classes, transcripts, and everything in between. Huckestein is the poorest excuse for a principle in the entire county and cares only about how well his sons are treated in the school. The only positive thing to say about this school are the memories I've made, my friends, and close relationships with a select few teachers. Otherwise, avoid if possible.

Woodbridge High School 4

Posted August 03, 2014
- a community member
I graduated from WSHS last year and have to say there are no "pods" yes the school is over populated but it has yet to cause any sort of problem. The guidance councelors are not great. They seem to lack motivation and did not help me in any way when it came to picking classes, writing college essays, essays to receive scholarships, or anything SAT/ACT related. Most of the teachers on the other hand are so incredibly helpful, it is rare to find a teacher that won't let you retake tests/quizzes or stay after for tutoring. Over all a great school, change the guidance counselors and it would be the best in Prince William County.


Woodbridge High School 1

Posted December 03, 2013
- a parent
Comments about administration not caring or listening to parents are spot on. Have had two graduate from WSHS with more following. Won't send the others there. They won't even follow county policies. WSHS does not want parents involved. On a positive, if you child is a star football player you'll be treated like royalty.

Woodbridge High School 2

Posted April 10, 2013
- a parent
Woodbridge Senior High School has disappointed me. We were impressed with what it had to offer when we moved here but have found the school only looks good on paper. I highly advise you to avoid this school if your child will transfer in from another high school out of state/country. We came from a DoDEA school in Germany. The school guidance/ administration is not educated in this type of transfer. Mostly the SOL requirements have confused them. It's been tough. My children registered for JROTC and were extremely active. We have become more and more disappointed in this program. The leadership doesn't follow school guidelines for field trips and basic safety. They also lack in any type of mentoring.

Woodbridge High School 5

Posted November 13, 2011
- a parent
Woodbridge has been a very good High School for my Daughter, and she has attended two other highly rated High Schools listed in Great Schools. Due to my prior Military career (now retired), my Daughter had to transfer twice. With Woodbridge being her last School, she was still able to maintain her high grades and have a diverse group of friends that she likes. The Teachers,Staff and curriculum have all been great!


Woodbridge High School 5

Posted April 06, 2011
- a student
i read in woodbridge senior high school. now iam moving from there. i will miss it's great eduacational system. it really provides the greatest educational system.

Woodbridge High School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Woodbridge Senior High School is a great community of diverse students and teachers. I enjoyed the 20 years I taught there, and I miss the students and my colleagues.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodbridge High School
3001 Old Bridge Rd, Woodbridge, VA  22192
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (703) 497-8000
Last modified Woodbridge High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top