Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 79 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Springwoods Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2016
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. We have a daughter with some learning differences we are learning about. We are somewhat familiar with IEP process and found the administration and teachers to be extremely supportive and responsive to our needs. Teachers are willing to stay late, come early, conference in person or by phone. Our kids are very happy and there is a strong 'community' within the school.

Springwoods Elementary School 4

Posted June 26, 2016
- a parent
This is a fantastic school. As of 6/16 not sure why it's rated a 5. We have been here for a few years and moved into this school's boundaries when it was rated a 9, only 3 years ago. It is just as wonderful a school today as it was 3 years ago. Teachers are committed, administration is involved, PTO has great activities. There is a very strong school community. If you are really considering moving into a neighborhood feeding into this school or any other, don't be fooled by subjective parental input, go to VDOE and look at the 'report card' for the school you are considering. You will see for yourself.


Springwoods Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
great school, the new principal work hard , best teachers ,the rating of this school shoul be higher than 7 !!!!

Springwoods Elementary School 1

Posted May 13, 2015
- a parent
For the person who mentioned racsism can you please notify me, I am a relative of a two students who are experiencing some major racism

Springwoods Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
This school is Fantastic! The new administration is hands on and caring. I have a 2nd grader, a third grader and a 5th grader. We have been at this school the past two years and the teachers are caring and responsive. I am grateful that we moved into this area and will be sad when we transfer out of the area next summer. Couldn't believe the negative comments on the teachers and admin. Wonder what attitude these parents/children had bc there is no way that I believe this principal and teachers could be anything but helping and accommodating. I am a former teacher and know what good admin and teachers look like. Without a doubt I can say that 80 percent of the teachers and 100 percent of the current admin are stellar. Thank you Springwoods.!


Springwoods Elementary School 1

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
This school, it's principal, and the majority of its staff are representative of the worst that the education system has to offer. There are one or two teachers that meet the standard, the rest are relics they'd dug up from retirement. The principal should be removed, as she is not a leader and is incapable of setting a course for the school. We have experienced racism within the school. One teacher in particular only favors Asian female students, reflective of her personal tastes. The retiree teachers are undertrained and worse don't care. How anyone rates this mini prison a 5 is beyond me. Va supposedly has some of the best schools in the country, if they counted springwoods i am positive this inflated information would change.

Springwoods Elementary School 1

Posted September 20, 2014
- a parent
Where to begin? Despite claiming serious changes (in actuality they have just brought their school up to the physical standards expected within the state) very little has changed at Springwoods. The school is more concerned with 'equality' than it is with the education it provides its students. Go to their home page, when half your screen is covered in Urdu and other languages, it indicates two things 1) Teaching is near impossible given language barriers 2) Kids who speak english as their first language fall behind as a result. The standards for math and english are low, there is next to no homework of value, and this system is perpetuated by a principal who is more concerned with image than actually doing her job. Our children have fallen behind as a result of attending this supposedly 'great' school. The tenured teachers are unable to learn and adjust, they are jaded, and frankly ineffective. Look at how many teachers have been hired back out of retirement, how can anyone claim this is progress? And yet the board muddles through and pretends that by updating the building the education has improved. If you want to set your child back developmentally send them to this school

Springwoods Elementary School 3

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
Unfortunately this school has moved to being rated a 9 to a 7! We moved here based on the high rating. The administration has changed, which often adds to rating changes, but the overall quality of instruction is concerning. There are some excellent teachers there, but there are also "burnt out" teachers and either teachers who are inexperienced or just don't want to put the effort into their position. It makes us really question the administration because they all come from very mediocre schools and are inexperienced in their positions.


Springwoods Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
I have nothing but nice things to say about Springwoods so far. My son attended kindergarten there and I was thrilled with the knowledge he came away with. And the teachers/administrators were awesome - not only did they teach, but they cared. After the first day of first grade, my son came home and announced, "My teacher is really fun!" Looks like it's going to be another great year. Construction has been going on at the school over the summer and it is not completed yet. But I think it's to increase the size of the school (hopefully do away with the "trailers" in the back...) and also to upgrade the school technology. It will be nice when it's done.

Springwoods Elementary School 5

Posted July 29, 2014
- a parent
We are a military family who chose to live in the area because of the great reputation of this school and we have not been disappointed! My children are now going into their 4th year at Springwoods and we have been extremely happy with their teachers and the administration. This past summer they have undergone construction making the school bigger and better. The new administration has been a welcome change to the community. Springwoods also has a strong group of parents/PTO that plan fun activities for the students throughout the year. I am a teacher at another school in the county and my kids choose to go to Springwoods instead of attend my school because they love it so much. If you are thinking of moving or buying a house in this area, I strongly recommend it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Springwoods Elementary School
3815 Marquis Place, Woodbridge, VA  22192
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 79 reviews. (703) 590-9874
Last modified Springwoods Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top