Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wilson High School 5

Posted December 14, 2013
- a parent
I am not a Washingtonian and was terrified of my 1st daughter attending a DC Public high school. A smart student, she did well and graduated from Wilson in 2010. The school was old and outdated, her teachers were great. Now my son, 12th grade & daughter 9th grade attend the new improved Wilson school. Administrators, Principal Cahall, Alex Wilson, Ms. Bean, Ms. Arrington and others are totally involved and engaged in the school and its diverse culture(s). Ms. Williams (Choir Director and performing artist/mom) exposes the students to a variety of performances from the Mayor s office, the White House, the Kennedy Ctr, etc. Teaches like Dr. Smith (Math), David Heckler (History/swim coach); Joseph Herbert (Math), Ms. Grant (English), Mr. Downing (Spanish), Ms. Lambert (Ceramics) and I could go have been observed going above and beyond to make Wilson a model Urban high school. There are some disruptive students but that is something Wilson is working on. Wilson has come a long way and is continuing to make major improvements. A great school, with diversity to fit any type of student (academically, athletically, artistically, socially, etc) Kudos to the Wilson High School Staff!

Wilson High School 1

Posted January 10, 2013
- a student
It's my first year in wilson,as a freshman student and i would not recommend it to any 8th graders or other students.Coming from a small school,and always going to a small school wilson has been a very big change for me.The teachers never have time to help the students one-on-one,they constantly forget to change your grade since every teacher in the school has about 100 students and they can't take control of the noisy students that never let the teacher teach anything.I really regret not applying to more school's last year,it's a good school and has great students but horrible control,behavior and learning system.In my old school teachers would always come up to students and help them,in wilson there are to many students for the teachers to do anything.I would not recommend this to any applying student.


Wilson High School 4

Posted April 29, 2011
- a student
I went to woodrow wilson highschool for a couple of months when i lived in d.c and i absolutely loved it!!! the teachers were great and everything is so open and diverse. the students are really nice and d.c is a great and fun place to live in. i had a great time there even though i lived there for a short period of time. i wish i could move back! the school that i go to now is horrible and the people are sooo different and theres no diversity here i miss wilson so much.. i think any student would love wilson and you should definitely go!!

Wilson High School 1

Posted April 27, 2011
- a parent
Wilson at this time have to many students so it is not as effective as it should be. I think that because of this issue, the teachers do not have much time to attend to the students that do not understand the concepts of the class that they are teaching. For the students that get it that is great. For the students that do not get it, it is a challenge for the student. This is really hurting our students in the DCPS system.

Wilson High School 5

Posted February 15, 2011
- a community member
As a proud former Tiger, I can truly say that Wilson was a big part of my education, both academically and socially. The diversity of the Wilson student body, and the diversity of the staff-are the school's biggest assets. Wilson has five academies to choose from- 1. The Academy of Finance, 2. AAA (Academic Athletic Achievement Academy), 3. HAM (Humanities, Arts and Media), 4. SciMaTech (Science, Math, and Technology), and 5. WISP (Wilson International Studies Program). Wilson also has a variety of sports and extra-curricular activities, ranging from Football to Crew, from Track to Band, Soccer to Baseball and everything else in-between!


Wilson High School 0
no rating

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
School is doing well for what they have to work with. Presently in transation at another location while their school is being renovated. Need more parental involvement and engagement tactics for children of color to increase their grades and participation. More accountablilty options.

Wilson High School 5

Posted April 17, 2010
- a student
Wilson has a great range of classes and a student body that is diverse in every way. Whether it survives the trip to UDC during the upcoming construction remains to be seen but until then, if you want to go to the best public school in the city, then look no further

Wilson High School 4

Posted January 25, 2010
- a parent
Wilson is a large urban school with a wide array of students. It has four academic academies. Both of my children attending Wilson's academies. Although the DC administration has sometimes caused frustration, Wilson's teachers and staff have almost always been helful and supportive. Most of its teachers have been excellent. A few have been not up to the challenge of teenagers.


Wilson High School 1

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Wilson High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
It is probably the most ethnically inclusive school in the nation. It includes many children from the Embassies here in DC who come from all over the world.I am a grandparent of several grandchildren who have gone to Woodrow Wilson. My daughter was President of the PTA.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington Dc


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wilson High School
3950 Chesapeake St. NW, Washington, DC  20016
(202) 282-0120
Last modified Wilson High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wilson High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top