Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Garfield Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
I want to send a huge thank you to Ms Shaw and Mrs Dunmore. They are dedicated to making sure our children are prepared for next grade and genuinely care about their progress. My daughter has learned so much and is eager to learn all the time. I appreciate you both and wish you were teaching 1st grade next year. Happy Teacher Appreciation Day!!!! Thank you, Nakeisha Williams

Garfield Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Ms Shaw, Mrs Dunmore, and Mr Carter are my daughter's favorite teachers. Thank you all.


Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
I love Garfield Elementary School and the staff. Happy to have my daughter attending. She is excited every morning to go to school; mainly for her teachers

Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2015
- a teacher
Garfield is a wonderful place to teach! The community, parents, staff, and students create a valuable partnership and everyone works as a team. The teaching and learning at this school is top quality. Students are engaged, creating constructive arguments, and progressing forward at incredible rates. Students have what they need to be successful at our school: technology in the classroom, data driven instruction, teamwork, and a loving community to thrive in. I wouldn't want to teach in any other school.

Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a teacher
Garfield ES is quickly becoming one of the best schools in DCPS. Parents and Community Stakeholders are engaged on a monthly basis. Children are growing in math and reading at rates higher than ever before. Students come to school everyday and on time. Teachers, coaches, and staff members are always learning new and innovative to educate the children. The school has successfully launched a Blended Learning program and the school day runs from 8:15-5:00. There are also several extracurricular activities for students to explore from 5:00-6:00, such as cheerleading, band, volleyball, softball, robotics, lacrosse, and soccer.


Garfield Elementary School 4

Posted June 24, 2014
- a community member
I work with one of Garfield's community partners; we provide support such as book distributions, online tutoring, and assistance with the annual registration carnival. I have been very impressed with all of the teachers and staff I've met at this school, all of whom are very invested in providing a top-notch education, and caring about their students. I have dealt often with the librarian, Mr. Mathieu, who knows and respects his students and works hard (since he splits his time with another school) to encourage not just literacy, but a love of reading. I think that the school is continuing to improve and provide and value excellence in the community, and I'm proud to be a small part of that effort.

Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a teacher
I have been a teacher in DC Public School going on 17 years. I have been in several different school. Garfield is by far the best school I have been in. The staff really comes together as a family. The administration leadership team in top notch. ( I think they need to be running the entire school system..they are that good) The support is fantastic. Garfield is doing great things. I though I knew data until I got to Garfield. Everybody works hard to do whats right for the kids.

Garfield Elementary School 4

Posted June 22, 2014
- a teacher
Test scores are on the rise at this turnaround school. Alot of events for families. Teachers are delivering differentiated instruction all day. The community is supporting our school. Blended learning is the new best thing.


Garfield Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 20, 2009
- a parent
Garfield school is terrible. The staff, parents of students, the neighborhood everything. I don't reccommend !

Nearby schools

Garfield Elementary School
2435 Alabama Avenue Southeast, Washington, DC  20020
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (202) 671-6140
Last modified Garfield Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top