Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 37 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


38 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Peter School 5

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
My husband and I consider ourselves so fortunate for the opportunity to send our daughter to St. Peter School. The teachers are top notch and really care about each child. The school doesn't just address academics, but also stresses character-building, leadership and respect. It has been a truly nurturing environment and our daughter has thrived. She cannot wait to get up each morning to go to school.

St. Peter School 5

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
St. Peter School is a terrific school, with incredible teachers and faculty. Our family has children in third and PK and we could not be happier with our decision and have greatly enjoyed our first 5 years at the school. Not only do we enjoy the strong academics our children are receiving, but we greatly benefit as a family from the "community" that is the school. We knew we made the correct decision in sending our kids to St. Peter School when the school was named a Blue Ribbon School by the Department of Education last year which was one of the top 200 schools in the nation based on test scores and strength of the school administration and faculty. I highly recommend St. Peter's to anyone looking to place their kids on the Hill.


St. Peter School 5

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
I agree with many of the recent reviews. St. Peter s is an outstanding school that is academically challenging and doesn t just educate the children s minds, but nurtures their spirit. The entire faculty is fully invested in the children and they are constantly striving to make the school and academic experience even better. A few items to highlight: 1) 2013 Blue Ribbon Award winner; 2) Student Families (a student family is one kid from each grade K-8) these families are tasked with service projects. It allows older students to mentor and younger students someone to look up to - while teaching the importance of giving back to the community. 3) St Peter s has good families that raise good kids. Less time teaching respect and dealing with behavioral issues means more time focusing on educating. You have never met a more polite student body. 4) The school is just getting started. The relatively new leadership of the school puts a real emphasis on continuous improvement. 5) Value you won t find a better school in DC and the cost, especially when compared with other local schools, provides exceptional value.

St. Peter School 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
St. Peter's is a small Catholic school with excellent academics and a strong community. Our two children get individualized attention and everyone in the school knows their names. There is a robust accelerated reading program, a competitive science fair, and math and geography bees. Our oldest daughter is active in the school's music programs and is looking forward to the next spring musical and her ability to participate in the drama production this year. There is regular physical education and time for outdoor play. The thing we enjoy most is the strong grounding in faith, the emphasis on community service and social justice in the student families program, and the connection to the church.

St. Peter School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
High academic standards, great little school community, caring teachers, in a unique Capitol Hill neighborhood, St Peter's is a true DC treasure. It has a values-infused culture inspired by its Catholic faith, and it doesn't shy away from that culture. Your child will emerge from St Peter's with a solid education, but just as importantly, an exceptional character. Highly recommended.


St. Peter School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
I am a parent of three at St Peter School and we love the holistic education that our kids are receiving. It starts with the academics, which have improved significantly over the past 5 year culminating in St Peter being awarded a DOE Blue Ribbon School designation last year. This is awarded to only 50 private schools nationwide each year. But more importantly, St Peter's teachers and staff educate the whole person with a focus on making our kids good and decent human beings. It really does feel like a family.

St. Peter School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
I am a parent of three at St Peter School and we love the holistic education that our kids are receiving. It starts with the academics, which have improved significantly over the past 5 year culminating in St Peter being awarded a DOE Blue Ribbon School designation last year. This is awarded to only 50 private schools nationwide each year. But more importantly, St Peter's teachers and staff educate the whole person with a focus on making our kids good and decent human beings. It really does feel like a family.

St. Peter School 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
St. Peter School is a true treasure & we are thrilled to have our 3 children here! SPS is a small Catholic school (PreK-8) located three blocks from the nation's Capitol. DOEd recently recognized St. Peter s greatness by naming it a National Blue Ribbon School. Caring teachers create an academically challenging learning environment with a holistic approach to ensure students gain a love of knowledge as well as strong character. We have been at St Peter School over 5 years now and we feel blessed to have this wonderful school and the community of life-long friendships that go along with it. If you are looking for a school to offer a great education in a warm, caring environment with excellent teachers, involved parents and well-rounded students then take a look at St. Peter School.


St. Peter School 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
I'm a parent with three kids currently enrolled at St. Peter School. Our oldest child has been at St. Peter School for seven years. We couldn't be happier with the outstanding academic education our children are receiving, as well as the strong moral grounding they get from a Catholic-based education. The principal, teachers and faculty are top notch, and the parent community is committed and engaged. We are grateful to have this special school in our Capitol Hill neighborhood!

St. Peter School 5

Posted March 13, 2014
- a parent
St. Peter School is an amazing community of dedicated teachers, a strong administration, supportive parents and dynamic students from top to bottom. A faith based education that leads to the top area Catholic High Schools including Gonzaga, Visitation, St. Johns, Dematha and Elizabeth Seton to name a few. Students leave St. Peter School well prepared for high school, are grounded in their faith and strong in their academic grade school basics. Its the longest running Catholic Grade School in Washington DC and you can see the Capitol Dome from the top floor- its a pretty amazing place.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington Dc


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Peter School
422 3rd St SE, Washington, DC  20003
(202) 544-1618
Last modified St. Peter School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Peter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top