Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

PK-8|Private
220 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Peter School 5

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
Our first years at St. Peter School have been great. I am delighted to see my child sounding out letters and words on the way to becoming a proficient reader at a young age. We are practicing Catholics and I also enjoy hearing my child come home with explanations and stories about our faith. My child has established some really great friendships, and our family has developed a network of friends throughout the school. The St. Peter school community is very strong and supportive and an important aspect in our family's decision to have chosen St. Peter School.

St. Peter School 5

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
we came in 7th grade and the school was most welcoming. Great Principal, Teachers are hands on. Dedicated staff. Very nurturing.


St. Peter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
very involved with the students and go beyond. I certainly understand why St. Peters School won the Blue Ribbon School in 2013

St. Peter School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
yes each student is challenged. my daughter was challenged in so many ways and has grown tremendously and is a well versed kind and passionate child. As we move on to 9th High School we will hold St. Peters School dear in our heart. Thank you for all you have done. Thank you Principal Ketchum you are awesome!!!!!!

St. Peter School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
Respect all children regardless if they are catholic or not. As a result this is only a win win situation.


St. Peter School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
with my daughter coming into 7th grade, her fellow students were caring and very empathetic. In no time she settled in nicely

St. Peter School 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
Our first year at St. Peter School has exceeded expectations. We knew going into the year that St. Peter School has a great academic reputation; what we did not know is how much of a community it is. We have been struck by the fact that the older students at the school interact with the younger students and really get to know them. It is reassuring to walk down the hallway with our daughter (in pre-K) and have so many 4th, 5th and 6th graders say hello to her, by name. Thanks to the great teachers and staff, our daughter has grown from a shy little girl that stressed about leaving mommy and daddy to a confident little girl that is eager to go to school every day, learn new things, and socialize with her friends. Thanks to our daughter s great teachers, she is excited about learning, and is constantly coming home with new concepts and experiences. Special programs, such as the Virtue of the Month, and community service activities, have enhanced our daughter s awareness with regards to how we should treat others and help those in need. We are excited to be at a school that has such strong values, and we feel good every day about sending our daughter to St. Peter School.

St. Peter School 5

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
Our son is thriving in preK. He wakes up excited to go to school and can't wait to tell us about his day when he gets home. He likes to recreate some of the science projects at home and often makes observations about concepts he is learning at school. I like that the students are largely from Capitol Hill making St. Peter's a true neighborhood school. It is fun for him to run into classmates at the playground and during sports activities. St. Peter's is a great value and has provided our son with the building blocks he will need as he progresses through the elementary grades.


St. Peter School 5

Posted March 27, 2015
- a parent
My children have attended St. Peter School for many years, and we have been very happy with the quality, creativity and the level of passion of the teaching staff. The teachers there are truly committed to their vocation and continually demonstrate their desire to help each child achieve their best. We have also appreciated the broader spiritual and service focus of the school. Student family projects that bring children together across the grades, service projects that benefit St. Peter's Church's twin parish in Haiti as well as service projects that benefit those in the District have helped my children to focus not only on what school can do for them, but how they can contribute to the larger community outside the walls of their school. The small community of St. Peter School truly nurtures close connections between the children as well as the parent community. We have all made life-long friends at St. Peter School!

St. Peter School 5

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
St Peter School is everything we wanted for our children: a small, nurturing environment with top notch academics and a real commitment to helping its students grow into their best selves. St Peter School takes advantage of all the educational opportunities in this city, but it remains a safe haven for our kids. St Peter School is helping our children develop both roots (in the city, in academics, and in faith) and wings. The combination will surely allow them to soar.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Peter School
422 3rd St SE, Washington, DC  20003
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. (202) 544-1618
Last modified St. Peter School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top