Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

K-8|Private
535 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Blessed Sacrament Elementary School 2

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
Blessed Sacrament has all the potential to be an amazing community asset and instead is a terrible disappointment. It's key weaknesses are curriculum, STEM education, technology, and lack of any bullying policy. We have moved a number of times and had the chance to experience both excellent Catholic schools as well has nationally ranked public schools and single sex private schools. If you are looking for the most competitive curriculum, incredible access to gifted education, languages, 1:1 technology starting in early elementary, differentiated classes for different learners, comprehensive after school activities such as coding, engineering, 3D modeling, etc. it is at the Montgomery County Schools within a mile of Blessed Sacrament. We would have bent on some of these capabilities for a comprehensive religious and character building curriculum, but that does not exist either. In fact, we were told by the principle that he does not care for a no-tolerance bullying policy after our child was physically attacked 3:1 on the playground. If you want to really stretch, challenge and expose your child to an incredible curriculum in a safe environment, this is not the place.

Blessed Sacrament Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2015
- a parent
Blessed Sacrament is the place to send your child if you value a well-rounded education for your child. We continue to be impressed and happy with the academic, social, religious, emotional and physical support provided to our children. It is the bedrock of our family life and we are so thankful to raise our children in this loving, caring growth environment.


Blessed Sacrament Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2015
- a parent
Blessed Sacrament has provided my children with an education that goes beyond the classroom. They have taught each of them how to be a good person with integrity and faith and has provided them with a moral compass to make good decisions. The amazing community of faculty and parents has been there to help in times of need and celebrate in times of joy. I highly recommend Blessed Sacrament to anyone looking to send their child to an academically challenging and faith-filled school.

Blessed Sacrament Elementary School 2

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
This is a Catholic school, but DO NOT send your child there if your family is not White, Irish Catholic. Your child will not be fully accepted by the school community, especially amongst certain teachers and families. It is an insular group, and it is seriously lacking in diversity (I believe the current figure is 89% White), and to my knowledge there is little or no meaningful outreach to enrich the multi-racial nature of the school. If your child is an outsider, he/she will be treated that way, especially through the middle school years, when kids become more aware of differences in race and ethnicity. The results can inflict damage on your child's self esteem, as was experienced by our family. Furthermore, most of the teaching staff is pulled directly from the congregation, who mainly live within the bubble of Chevy Chase, and whose narrow outlooks and views clearly reflect long held stereotypes they harbor toward anyone who is "different." Based on our experiences, it also appears that those on the inside track also clearly benefit regarding placement in advanced classes. Simply put, being Catholic is not enough and I emphatically do not recommend it.

Blessed Sacrament Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2013
- a teacher
Blessed Sacrament is a highquality school that has programs to meet the needs of a variety of learning abilities and styles; the resource department is staffed with an expert team of helpful teachers who assist students with learning disabilities and organizational issues. The middle school has honors placements for students who have demonstrated exceptional aptitude in math, language arts, or foreign languages. Using the Responsive Classroom Model in grades K-5 and the Advisory Model in grades 6-8, the classes cultivate strong social skills and leadership skills which result in graduates who are self-confident, service-oriented, and ready for the challenges of high school.


Blessed Sacrament Elementary School 1

Posted April 10, 2013
- a community member
Blessed Sacrament was the worst school I have ever been to. I was constantly bullied about everything. I was threatened, physically had my arm broken, and I received the worst punishment of all, an eating disorder. The girls and the boys constantly made fun of me and my family. The school is predominantly white. I wasn't accepted as a person. They treated my like an outsider. The teachers barely taught me what I needed for High School. If your weren't "popular" no one valued you. Most of the kids are "legacy students" they are favored against the who aren't. None of the teachers believed me when I confronted the bullying, not even the counselors. I switched schools, I went to OLOL in bethesda. There I learned what true friends were, teachers helped, and bullying was non-exsistent. At Blessed Sacrament I had the worst time of my life. Please save your child the tears, and don't send them to Blessed Sacrament.

Blessed Sacrament Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2011
- a community member
This is a fantastic school. My niece recently entered the middle school after being in a dc charter school and she LOVES LOVES LOVES being at the school. she is happy to get up in the morning and does her homework without a fuss and talks about her new friends all the time. everyone is very nice. it's a great school.

Blessed Sacrament Elementary School 4

Posted March 31, 2009
- a parent
The Teachers and Staff are wonderful. We have a new Principal who needs to be attend school activities. I was a little disappointed not to see him at the school band concert. I know he saw it during school hours but it would have been nice to see him present at the evening presentation. Even after school as the kids are leaving it's nice to see the presence of leadership. He's new, so I hope it's just a matter of time.


Blessed Sacrament Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2009
- a parent
I recently switched my two children to Blessed Sacrament and our experience has been incredible. They both had social and academic problems at their former schools, but have blossomed emotionally and academically since their arrival. The kids are so incredibly friendly and bright. The Honors classes, in middle school especially, are considered to be the finest in DC Catholic schools. The resource and learning support program is comprehensive and teachers adapt to each child's needs. The teachers are friendly, but enforce discipline well. They have extensive training and are wonderful role models. The curriculum teaches students regarded on the national level for their achievement, many of whom have learning differences. The community is faith-filled and welcoming. Blessed Sacrament creatively teaches first-rate curriculum and challenges, but recognizes the blance of a child's experience. The music and visual art programs are fantastic. This school is AWESOME!

Blessed Sacrament Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2008
- a student
i love this school. Yes, it is challenging, but the kids are friendly and welcoming.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blessed Sacrament Elementary School
5841 Chevy Chase Pkwy NW, Washington, DC  20015
(202) 966-6682
Last modified Blessed Sacrament Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Blessed Sacrament Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top