Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Columbia Heights Education Campus

Public | 6-12 | 1262 students

We are best known for project based learning.
 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2013

i'mm a student at Bell and the only thing i can say is I LOVE IT!!


Posted May 16, 2013

I am a Junior at BELL MULTICULTURAL SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL (C.H.E.C) CLASS OF 2014. The principal MS. T one of the strong principal who stick to her philosophic views how a SCHOOL should be run and how student should be taught. This school has taught me to take a rigorous path that will challenge you to work hard in the future. I like how the school pushes you to take at least 2 AP college board classes and how they make you take capstone to prepare you for college and work one on one with you on essay and how they offer early college to student to get the credits for college. Another thing i like is the college career center where they help you prepare for your career that you want to study and they really stick to that. If parent are considering this school for your child. I really would say do it. The asst. principals are really helpful they can answer your question 9 of 10 times. The counselors try their best to get you to go to college if not a four year at least a community college. And the teachers are really nice and sticks to there subject areas. if people ask I will say security is always present and personally feel safe a C.H.E.C. I will say its a COLLEGE PREPARATORY SCHOOL


Posted January 29, 2013

I am currently a student at bell, and I've met some of the best staff on this planet. Bell legitimately cares about where it's students will head after high-school and hold you to nothing short of your best. With great scholarship opportunities, and a warm and friendly diverse community, Columbia Heights Educational Campus truly proves to be a great high school. Those with negative divergent views on Bell's curriculum were obviously not up to their high standards. @ CHEC Class of 2013, the greatest class on the face of the planet.


Posted May 17, 2011

I am a former student of Bell Multicultural High School. I completed my freshman year and half of my sophomore year there until I was transferred to School Without Walls, a much better school. Anyways, back to the point, Bell is a school where grades and test scores are the most important thing. Forget about how a student feels about anything, they do not care. The only thing the staff cares about at Bell is its reputation. They treat all their students like little kids and give them little to no say in anything that goes on in school. I feel as if schools should have a family environment where everyone is free to voice their opinions if it means bettering the school, but no at Bell students are nothing more than teenagers that have to listen to the adults and do exactly what they say if not you will be put out and that's the end of it. Overall, I think Bell is a reputation hungry, close-minded, degrading school.


Posted May 3, 2010

THE Best school in DC. The environment is hands down perfect foe teens to hang and do their best in school. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2009

What a great school. The environment is outstanding and love the diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

i agree with the review under me. im am rite now a freshman at Bell and its true because yes they give educational guidance but the teachers always focus on the kids that are not there to learn and not on the kids who are there too learn something new..plus we barely get to have a non-uniform day....!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 6, 2009

To whom it may concern: I m certainly a senior at Bell Multicultural High School. Through out my years in Bell I have had my ups and downs, though that s common for most students. Bell has teach me many thing for example how to write research papers, how to collect data, and among other educationally things, although one thing they have not let me do is express my thoughts and be creative. I won t argue about Bells education, is very helpful and rigours because it s gives kids the education the need and disserve. Bell goal and only goal is to give kids the education they need but the staff in bell have only focus on working the mind but not caring about the kids. Through out the years that I have attended DC public schools I have never felt so neglected and disrespected. Bell gives education but that s not the only thing kids need they also need guidance for the future and for the real world Bell treats every kid like they were in kindergarten of course excluding naptime and snake time. I have a few month before I graduate and as a senior every time I walk in the doors of Bell I feel as I m walking in a communist world, I understand that kids need boundary but as a senior that is about to walk out of kid world and walking in into adult world I believe that we should be treated as adults and let us make are own choices, because if we don t start now then when will we. Bell portray a school that focuses on accomplishing all the education achievement only to get recognition. Bell it giving education it is not give support to the students and it is not letting them grow up as adults. Bell staff seem like they don t want the student to succeed in life the want the school it self to succeed.


Posted February 28, 2009

I'm a student from Bell Multicultural High School and it has changed a lot than how it was back then. I really enjoy this school a lot. The school teaches many things that are really important in life. If anyone moves to DC, Bell is the best school you should go.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2008

Excellen School, I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 42% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
34%
Writing

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
33%
Science

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
16%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
34%
Science

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%
Writing

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2011.

558 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2011.

521 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
31%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2011.

158 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
16%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 45% in 2011.

224 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

All Students65%
Black, non-Hispanic56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Reading

All Students41%
Black, non-Hispanic44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

All Students58%
Black, non-Hispanic61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficient45%

Reading

All Students51%
Black, non-Hispanic51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficient37%

Writing

All Students44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

All Students52%
Black, non-Hispanic55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficient36%

Reading

All Students46%
Black, non-Hispanic52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficient34%

Science

All Students23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

All Students46%
Black, non-Hispanic48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficient37%

Reading

All Students48%
Black, non-Hispanic51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficient26%

Science

All Students38%

Writing

All Students50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

In 2012-2013, this school was designated "Rising".

About the tests


The DC school classification system includes multiple measures to evaluate performance and student growth. The possible classifications, from highest to lowest, are Reward, Rising, Developing, Focus and Priority. These measures include the DC CAS, annual growth, graduation rates, attendance rates and participation rates. Under the system, required under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), each school is given a School Index Score based on the performance of its students. Schools receive different levels of support, resources, flexibility and monitoring based on their classification.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the city.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests in the District of Columbia. Test scores are based on 2012-13 DC CAS results.

Close
This school
City
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
City
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
City
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT/SAT participation

100%

ACT/SAT college ready

6%

Graduation rate

65%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 DC CAS results from the DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE).

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from the DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE).

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 63% N/A
Black 33% 1%
Asian 2% N/A
White 1% 1%
Two or more races N/A 57%
Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/AN/A
Special education 9%N/A13%
English learners 36%N/A7%
Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education, 2011-2012

Attendance

  This school District averageState average
All Students 97%N/AN/A
Asian/Pacific Islander 97%N/AN/A
Black, not Hispanic 96%N/AN/A
Hispanic 97%N/AN/A
White, not Hispanic 95%N/AN/A
Economically disadvantaged 97%N/AN/A
Students with disabilities 96%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 97%N/AN/A
Source: DCPS, 2009-2010

Graduation rate

  This school District averageState average
All Students 52%N/A75%
Female 92%N/A77%
Male 96%N/A71%
Asian/Pacific Islander 83%N/A79%
Black, not Hispanic 100%N/A77%
Hispanic 90%N/A62%
Economically disadvantaged 100%N/A96%
Not economically disadvantaged 77%N/A58%
Students with disabilities 100%N/A94%
General-Education students 93%N/A73%
Source: DCPS, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Bancroft
Tubman
Cooke
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students None
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Cantonese)
Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Italian
Japanese
Spanish
Igbo, Swahili, Vietnamese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Quality School Initiative Award (Fight for Children) (2009)
  • Newsweek Top 100 High Schools (2008)
  • Newsweek Top 100 High Schools (2007)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Igbo, Swahili, Vietnamese
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45am
School end time
  • 3:15pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Maria Tukeva

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • None
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Igbo, Swahili, Vietnamese
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • 52, 53, 54 (14th Street Line), 70, 71 (Georgia Ave-7th Street Line), 79 (Georgia Ave Extra Line), H1 (Brookland-Potomac Park Line), H2, H3, H4 (Crosstown Line), H8 (Park Road-Brookland Line), W47 (Wilson High School Line), DC Circulator (Woodley Park-Adams Morgan-McPherson Square Metro)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Debate
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Parents are involved through a parent association, representation on the local school restructuring team, and the non-profit board of directors. parents are welcome to visit the school and classes. there is a full time parent coordinator. we have partnerships with many organizations and businesses, through which we provide internships and other opportunities for our students.
More from this school
  • CHEC has as its mission to send 100% of our students to college. We do this through creating a rigorous program, starting in the 6th grade, and providing wrap around services to help remove obstacles to achievement. We have a strong department of counselors, social workers, and youth outreach workers.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3101 16th St. NW
Washington, DC 20010
Website: Click here
Phone: (202) 939-7700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Sacred Heart School
Washington, DC





Choosing a school in Washington, D.C.?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download

Navigate the system in
Washington, D.C.

Read how to navigate the
local process »
Washington, D.C.
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT