Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Clyde Hill Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
Super grateful for Ms. Vegarra! She continually goes above and beyond to help our child who has some special needs. She is super attentive, communicates with us frequently, and has been the perfect classroom fit for our child this year. We consider ourselves very lucky!

Clyde Hill Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
Too much for such an early age. Our child really struggles at facing homework after a long day, and we resent having to spend a big chunk of our evening family time on homework. Wish this didn't start until later, like grades 4 or 5. I've read studies lately that early homework doesn't necessarily help kids.


Clyde Hill Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
Constant homework, even in early grades. Lots of challenges that teach responsibility and working hard.

Clyde Hill Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
Our child's class talked about respect the first week of school, and taught that as a core value and expected behavior, which is great.

Clyde Hill Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
I think the school does- but I'm not exactly sure how in the early grades. I think the staff models caring behavior for the kids.


Clyde Hill Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
The school has a values curriculum, and teaches things like the virtue of the month. There's also an emphasis on developing social and community skills, and learning how to problem solve and be polite.

Clyde Hill Elementary School 4

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
Our daughter has been at CHES for 2 years. We've been very impressed by the attentiveness of her teachers across the board. The school is great at communicating what's going on in the classroom and it's nice to have a variety of activities like PE, music, art, etc. Field trips are great too. The school also has wonderful reading instructors- something that has been a great help to our child. On the down side- the building is quite worn out and not super nice considering the neighborhood. We hear it's going to be torn down and rebuilt in 2-3 years. The other thing is constant fundraising. We donate, but at the same time, our property taxes are going up literally 15-20% every year, which we'd hope would fund the schools well (and then some). All around positive experience, great staff.

Clyde Hill Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
We are new to the Seattle area from CA and feel very welcomed by the office manager, Shannon Leahy, at Clyde Hill Elementary. She seems to understand our relocation issues well by initiating communication and working hard to expedite our school registration. We are excited to start school here!


Clyde Hill Elementary School 1

Posted February 14, 2015
- a parent
The school administrators show lack of care to the welfare of the children. For example, 3 out of 5 first grade classes have long term sub teachers for an entire year. At least 2 classes (K and 1st grade) already have had to deal with transition from one teacher to another. In one of those cases, the transition was sudden. The children were told that a teacher was coming back after the maternity leave, only to hear from the principal later that she was not and another long term sub teacher was to take over. Understandably, many parents were upset and wrote to the Bellevue School District Superintendent for a better explanation of what had happened. Through the communications, it showed that the principal had no interest in the children's well-being and have no plans to provide stability to children's learning. I can say that my child learnt nothing in the year. I hope that the leadership will be motivated to improve communication between families, principal and staff, and help them become more engaged in their job. There is only thing I respect about Clyde Hill is a couple of teachers care what happens to the students.

Clyde Hill Elementary School 3

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
We had a terrible experience with Clyde Hill School when we moved in the area last year. You can forget about teachers helping your student in any way. They are there to help themselves to make sure that if any student that might be below 80% achievement be single out so they will not be blamed at the end. It seams that some teachers did not have any pedagogy classes during schooling; there is no effort to understand and connect with a student. Assistant principal is a total bully so make sure that all correspondence is done in writing. One fifth grade teacher is total psycho she even makes the classroom to look like some kind of her own republic with her own money and rules. If you are moving to Bellevue rather try Woodridge or Enatai middle school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Clyde Hill Elementary School
9601 NE 24th St, Bellevue, WA  98004
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (425) 456-5000
Last modified Clyde Hill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top