Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Bellevue, WA
Students enrolled: 388
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Phantom Lake Elementary School 4

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
This is our second year at Phantom Lake Elementary and we are very pleased with our school! The principal is involved with the children in the classroom and out. She is an excellent leader! The teachers are dedicated, welcome parent-help, and have respect for each of their students. The families of Phantom Lake provide a great community to live and participate in! Our children have found some wonderful, caring friends at this school.

Phantom Lake Elementary School 4

Posted February 20, 2013
- a parent
We are new to the area and choosing the appropriate school for our daughter was daunting! We decided to give our local public school a try, and are we ever happy we did. The front desk staff, teachers and supporting staff are wonderful. We have been surprised at the high level of academic learning in the classroom, particularly reading, as well as the fact that this school offers art and music lessons. There is also a strong emphasis on learning appropriate social skills such as compassion and friendship; the children here are caring and kind. The new principal is enthusiastic, very involved and believes in small class sizes.


Phantom Lake Elementary School 4

Posted February 20, 2013
- a parent
We really didn't like what we saw at our home school, and did the rounds checking out other schools in the district that were available for open enrolment that school year. We opted for Phantom Lake because we really liked the small class size, and on-site before and after school care. We also put our youngest in the Integrated Preschool after seeing how awesome that program is. We have been PL parents for 3 school years now, and loving it! There are definitely areas for improvement, but Phantom Lake is a school with great community, excellent staff, and dedicated teachers. Small school with a BIG heart!

Phantom Lake Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2013
- a parent
My two children attended the Integrated Preschool for 2 years each, and then K-5 at Phantom Lake. We've had excellent teachers at every grade level, and have been particularly impressed with the school's inclusive culture. The kids display compassion and kindness every day. The K-5 curriculum is the same as in every Bellevue school, and does not include a specific program for gifted education. Both my kids fall into the gifted category, but were challenged appropriately with the existing curriculum. They had opportunities to blossom as leaders in a smaller school, with teachers who found ways to keep them engaged academically. The new Principal is an excellent and tireless leader, and brings out the best in our staff and students. Our PTA is a dedicated and talented group of parents. Despite a small budget, we're able to provide academic opportunities and fun family activities for our kids. The Integrated Preschool provides an incredible opportunity for typically-developing kids and those with challenges to learn together. The curriculum emphasizes communication and empathy, and has had a profound positive influence on my kids. Transition to K was seamless!

Phantom Lake Elementary School 5

Posted March 17, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Phantom Lake Elementary School 3

Posted November 01, 2007
- a parent
We have had mixed experience so far with this school. The curriculum is too easy for our second grader and her teacher is brand-new to the field and has no idea how to challenge her. The librarians, specialist teachers and more experienced teachers are excellent, and the school facility is really conducive to learning. The principal is very involved and knows the kids on a first-name basis; the PTA folks are dedicated. I just wish there was more for smart/advanced kids. Worksheets don't cut it when your child is ready to really LEARN.

Phantom Lake Elementary School 3

Posted October 15, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Phantom Lake Elementary School 4

Posted April 18, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


Phantom Lake Elementary School 4

Posted March 17, 2006
- a parent
Phantom Lake is a wonderful school. The facility is new and technologically advanced. Our experience with Phantom Lake is with the Kindergarten and Preschool. My children have been peer models in their intergrated preschool for 4 years (between the 2 of them). My oldest also went to Kindergarten there. The curriculum and academic programs are very developementaly appropriate for each child. Many 'specialists' on staff to work with children with any type of delay or problems. Music, art, PE, and library time is incorporated into each class weekly. PTA and other parent involvement is lacking. The few parents that do volunteer are very devoted. The community does support the school through Granpals, SeniorNet, Overlake Rotary, and middle school tutors.

Phantom Lake Elementary School 4

Posted December 01, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Phantom Lake Elementary School
1050 160th Ave SE, Bellevue, WA  98008
(425) 456-5600
Last modified Phantom Lake Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Phantom Lake Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top