Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodridge Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 523 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2014

Woodridge Elementary is a place where students come to learn and grow in a loving and caring environment. The teachers, new principal and staff are amazing. If your child needs special education services, believe that you will get the best that your child deserves. Thank you to everyone who works at Woodridge!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

Woodridge is an award winning school. We have a very active PTSA which raises funds for enrichment activities and extra staff for the classrooms. Our teachers are well educated and very engaged with the students in their learning. They adapt their teaching style to incorporate the needs of every learning style. The principal encourages and supports teachers to stay up to date on proven teaching methods to continually improve overall learning. When we moved here four years ago I found Woodridge Hill to be the friendliest place I have ever encountered. It was easy to become involved and other parents are very welcoming. Creating and maintaining a positive learning environment is the highest goal we have here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

Woodridge is a great elementary school for western Bellevue. We have a beautiful campus that is growing because we have a large diverse population of students. My child is challenged in class and the teachers hold the students to a high standard. I appreciate the stem type after school activities and hear that more are coming. Class size needs to be lowered but I heard that the BSD is working on a solution. I am confident that this will happen in the next year. As a PTSA member, the auction this year is about celebrating Woodridge and raising funds for greater curriculum enhancements in each classroom. I like that focus. Coming from private schools for our children, we are happy with the quality of Woodridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2014

We have children in both Woodridge Elementary and Woodridge Preschool, and we love both the schools and the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2013

What a wonderful school this is! You will not find a more caring, professional, or skilled staff at any other Bellevue public elementary. They truly do go above and beyond the call of duty for their students and have built a warm, welcoming community that we enjoy being a part of. It is a multi-cultural, diverse community. As a parent who has been involved with the school for the past eight years, I can attest to the fact that the previous review is unkind and untrue. The staff cares deeply about the students and helping them succeed - they follow a rigorous curriculum and do not "teach to the test" and they work hard to meet individual needs despite growing class sizes that threaten their ability to do so. Public schools in our state are devastatingly underfunded, and the PTSA works hard to help provide Woodridge kids with academic enrichment and community building activities. The yearly dessert buffet mentioned in the previous review is solely done for teacher appreciation (something all schools in the country do) and is donations based, not PTSA funded. We really do appreciate our teachers and enjoy showing that during teacher appreciation times of the year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

The school rank orders the children starting at Kindergarten. 4 out of 5 kids at the bus stop were told they had ADHD. Another child cried everyday, and begged her parents not to send her. If you can compete AGAINST the other students and not cooperate or work as a team, you will do well. The school kept asking for more and more money, plus instead of the PTA funds going to the children, they go to the staff's monthly dessert buffet. The staff cares more about how they look, then how the children learn or feel. The only thing they care about is getting more funding for scoring well on the state exams. They teach to the test!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2010

The best teachers they are vey caring and supportive for the children and their educations. Willing to do that extra step for them to do whatever it takes to help you and your children. We were there 3 years and all 3 were each 3 wonderful experiences. I can't say enough about the teachers there. They really care. I've never met more caring techers ever. I've met alot too because I'm a grandma who's raising my granddaughter so this is my second time through. Thank you Woodridge You were Terrific for us. We were so sorry to have to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Great school! The teachers are awesome. The parents are very involved and the PTA is really good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2010

Woodridge is an exellent school! My Children have been going here since preschool and now my oldest is in 5th grade. Most every parent gets involved with the after scool activitys and the teachers are great they go out of there way to make sure every student learn and does the best. At the end of the school year my daughter will be sad to leave Woodridge but at least she has the great memories of this wonderful school. Now it is my sons turn to be in 5th grade when the bell rings and the school year is over!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2006

My husband is a Ph.D. in Physics and teaches it at the UW. I am a Ph.D. psychologist. We are both very impressed and pleased with Woodridge School. My older kids went to private elementary schools because we did not feel our neighborhood school at that time would meet their needs. We had tried it there, and found it stultifying. We moved to this catchment area because we had heard that Woodridge was far better than that other Bellevue school. What we had heard was confirmed with our experiences at Woodridge. Our younger two either are attending now, or attended when he was that age. They had excellent teachers, and challenging curriculum. The social atmosphere has been positive and well managed. The school is multi-ethnic and multi-racial, unusual for Bellevue, and we appreciate the richness this brings to the classroom experience of our two boys.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students77%
Female78%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic31%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income56%
Not low income90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited English44%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female89%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian84%
Asian/Pacific Islander84%
Hispanic56%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Low income68%
Not low income93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English59%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students81%
Female85%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income71%
Not low income84%
Special education30%
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female91%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian91%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income91%
Not low income82%
Special education50%
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students87%
Female100%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asian97%
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low income86%
Not low income87%
Special education70%
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students74%
Female75%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanic43%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income48%
Not low income83%
Special education29%
Not special education80%
Limited English71%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female95%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian95%
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income76%
Not low income92%
Special education43%
Not special education94%
Limited English73%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students85%
Female90%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian95%
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income69%
Not low income91%
Special education50%
Not special education90%
Limited English88%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 63%
Asian 30% 7%
Hispanic 9% 18%
Two or more races 9% 5%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 128%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 216%N/A8%
Special education 210%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 7N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 66%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12619 SE 20th Place
Bellevue, WA 98005
Phone: (425) 456-6200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT