Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stillwater Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 355 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2014

My daughter attends Stillwater and we have been very happy. She has shown great improvement over the year, and has a very enthusiastic and effective teacher. The principal is very nice and involved in all the events. The events have been great as well, especially the annual STEM night.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2013

Very poorly run school, kids who are the race , religion, or different are forces out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2013

This school practices a systematic program of running out kids who have a handicap or don't fit the mix. . Bottom line, if you have a choice to go to another school, do so because there are very few desirable things about Stillwater. There are a handful of decent teachers but the principle sorely lacks any leadership skills. This school in my opinion would rate about a 2.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 10, 2013

My middle school aged and 5th grade sons attended/attend Stillwater Elementary. They have been so happy in that school. They have received excellent grades all the time and also in the State's Tests they are always in the advanced scores and high quality standards and programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

My kids love the school and principal! My kids have received excellent grades and test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

My son is a first grader and he loves going to school every day. Teachers and staffs at Stillwater ES are very dedicated and friendly. You can already feel the positive atmosphere when you enter the front door of the school. I have been volunteering for two years and I see many parent helpers ever time I go to school. I am particularly proud of its school library. It is the place where every student is stimulated and driven to read and learn and relaxed. The librarian and her parent helpers have been working tremendously hard to make the library not just an ordinary library but also a place like a science center/ a museum/ an art gallery where children discover new things and know deeper. I am one hundred confident that students are being well take care of every moment they are at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2013

My high school aged son and 4th grade daughter attended/attend Stillwater Elementary. All the teachers and specialists my children have had have been caring, hard working and hands-on educators. However I've had some concern in recent years with the lack of involvement and poor leadership of the former principal. Now there is a new Principal (Jack Madigan), things have improved tremendously. Stillwater is (now) a well-run school that provides its students with great learning opportunities, excellent staff and has positive parent/community involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

After moving out of the district this past year and going to a school that is rated a 10, the differences are incredible. Bottom line, if you have a choice to go to another school, do so because there are very few desirable things about Stillwater. There are a handful of decent teachers but the principle sorely lacks any leadership skills. This school in my opinion would rate about a 2.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Teachers are amazing - really active parent group - great programs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Our daughters transferred here from another really excellent school. I have been really impressed with the teaching curriculum and teacher approach to mutli-dimensional learning. There is a lot of disorganization in programs and information to parents. Disorganization also shows in the school policies and practices for parent involvement. I have found a few staff members to be off-putting and bordering on rude. New ideas or suggestions are not welcome, even when broached very diplomatically. That being said, my children love their teachers and the school, and seem to be happy and thriving in their classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

My two daughters (3rd grade and Kindergarten) just started at Stillwater this year and we are very impressed on how well-organized the school is and how enthusiastic and friendy the teachers and parents have been. We were nervous about the public school route but are minds are at ease now because of the wonderful experience so far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

Stillwater Elementary is a great school. I am on my seventh year of attending this school as I have three children who are working their way through. All my kids can't wait to go each day, they want to do their homework..... And though I hate the test have done above the state average by a good margin. I give the review in this way is that school is about the kids and if the children love learning and going to school the school is doing it's job. The music teacher is fantastic!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2008

Stillwater Elementary is a great school!! There has been quite a bit of principal turn over in the last few years, but the current principal, Mrs. Wright as well as the new counselor are top-notch! The teachers are very committed and work to make Stillwater a great place. There is a new consistent behavior plan and a focus on anti-bullying behavior. My child is having a fantastic experience at Stillwater!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

A lot of people say that this school is good. Well, I guess if you haven't been to a really good school, you will not know the difference. This school needs improvement on every aspect. Some teachers are great and parents want to be involved, but the overall approach and program of the school is bad. Almost no before and after school classes (probably 4 classes - mostly arts - and you have to pay). The principal doesn't communicate that much. The approach to discipline is just simply wrong, so rigid, yet high tolerance to bad language and bullying. They ask kids to do a lot of things that don't help the kids at all (just to relieve the staff of their works, I guess). There are a lot of great kids, parents and teachers here - just need the right direction and program. So disapponted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2006

Excellent teachers with lots of experience. Great field trips and plays. We have a 2nd grader and kindergartener and they love the school. I've seen a lot of parental involvement as well. Lots of emphasis on reading, and writing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students65%
Female67%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income27%
Not low income75%
Special educationn/a
Not special education69%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female87%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income53%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students79%
Female79%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low incomen/a
Not low income84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female85%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low incomen/a
Not low income92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students77%
Female81%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low incomen/a
Not low income81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students78%
Female76%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low incomen/a
Not low income82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female90%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low incomen/a
Not low income85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students74%
Female76%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low incomen/a
Not low income74%
Special educationn/a
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 60%
Hispanic 8% 20%
Two or more races 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 7%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 12%N/A8%
Special education 19%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 215%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 19N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 13N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 52%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11530 320th Ave NE
Carnation, WA 98014
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 844-4683

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Parade
Carnation, WA




Hillside Academy
Duvall, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT