Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eatonville Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2013

Find it funny that all of the sudden there are 5 reviews within days of each other after there is word of closing Columbia Crest but also that Eatonville El is on the cusp of cuts as well. I cannot support a 5 out of 5 for Eatonville El. The school is a decent school with decent teachers. The Spec ed program is doing a great job with the spec ed kids. The town on the other hand is not welcoming like another poster stated. She must be on something to think they welcomed her with open arms. She is a fool is she doesn't think they don't talk about her behind her back. This is a tight nit community, if you grew up here and graduated from EHS. I have made several attempts to get "in" with these people. I have lived here for over 5 years now. All of my kids participated with the local sports league, what a nightmare that is. Again, tight nit, if you grew up here or have family that did. I pray this town learns to change its ways or the rate of declining people moving in will stay the course and we will be considering closing the doors to all schools and busing them to Bethel. So to all locals reading this, CHANGE and welcome people in! oh and GO CRUISERS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

Our experience at this school is average. They seem to be a bit behind technically. Teachers are somewhat older and their teaching style old as well. I bring my kids to school every morning and I 'm still not sure who the principal is. At our previous school, we received weekly recorded updates from our principal and she made every effort to say hello to every student and parent each morning. The mood around the school is bare. It could be we haven't been there long enough, but so far it doesn't seem to be great, just another average school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2013

My experience with Eatonville Elementary has been fantastic. I appreciate the strong, consistent leadership that the principal brings not only to the school, but to the community as well. I came to this town 5 years ago and was welcomed like I grew up here. The community support for our kids is beyond stellar and the quality of the teachers here is evident in the academic success my kids have been blessed with. I especially appreciate the PTA/Booster club; these dedicated volunteers provide untiring support for our stellar educational staff and are always there to assist any kid who is in need. I sincerely cannot say enough good things about EES, from the excellent leadership that the principle provides, to the quality of the programs available to all types of kids and the unwavering support of a fantastic volunteer core, this is one of the best place in Washington and perhaps the nation to raise your kids. Bottom line, I would try to get your kids enrolled in this school if possible. GO CRUSIERS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

I have two children in this school and have had great experiences. The staff is always helpful and courteous. The teachers I've encountered have the students in their best interests. The principal is fair and professional and willing to talk if you communicate. Although this is a small town I came here only a few years ago and feel right at home. Very nice people and a great group of parents who volunteer as well. Great little school for the kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

This is a great little school. The building was recently remodeled, and features some of the latest technology and school safety features that are available. It is a Title 1 school, so there are some special programs in place to help boost student achievement. I especially like the small group reading instruction that is available for younger students. I've had experience with big city schools where the school staff and principals are only there until the next career move. This school's staff members are part of the community, and they care about the kids and their families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

I have now been a parent at Eatonville Elementary for almost 8 years. One kid has made it through while two more are still in attendance. This school and its staff have always been respectful and understanding as well as helpful. There is a great sense of community and many opportunities to become more involved. When I was new to this town, I was welcomed with open arms and made to feel like I belonged there. Now, it feels like home! The teachers and staff communicate well with parents and always greet you with a smile. My kids are very different and touch both ends of the spectrum as far as behavior and learning abilities. We have always been given the best of everything. I am more than happy with the Leadership, Academics, and Staff at EES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2012

This school lacks leadership. Any issue, minor or major that I have brought to the school principal has been ignored completely. I have brought this issue up to several parents and a few had the same experience. Like others have pointed out, this school has a tight knit community, BUT if your new in town be sure you won't be a part of THEIR community. The PTA is especially exclusive, almost a "Mean Girl" community. So far, our teachers have been great and the staff that greets you in the office are a group of wonderful, caring women. Bottom line, I would try to avoid this school if possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2010

We moved our son from Weyerhaeuser Elementary School to this school. He has made a huge turn around in his attitude and grades. I love his teacher Mrs. Aims and the fact that she and other staff give up one lunch a week to hold a study hall for any kids that want it. My son does study hall everyday and has not been late on one assignment. This real teaching and I am thrilled with this teacher and school. I wish we would have moved my children sooner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2010

Seems to have poor leadership in the school. Most teachers are great, some should consider retiring. Does not seem to be a good school for gifted children, does not seem to challenge them so they get bored and are looked down upon as trouble by some teachers and staff. Does not seem to be willing to take in parent considerations.


Posted October 30, 2005

They do not offer any gifted program until the fourth grade. Not a good school for challenged dhildren. They need a lot more parent involvement and would get it if they would consider parents feedback.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2005

We are new at the school this year, with a kindergartner. Our first impression has been very good though and I have heard wonderful things about her teacher from other parents. We have an older child who attended the Middle School in this District and he is now at the High School. We had a great experience there so expect the same at the Elementary School. This is a small town with a tight knit community. The only downside I've seen thus far, is that the District has not been successful in passing a school bond in years, so the facilities are in dire need of upgrades and modernization. The District is working on a Bond to be presented to the voters, hopefully they will be successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2004

A great small town school. Class sizes are average, if not smaller. The teachers arrive early and stay late to help your child achieve the learning they deserve! Great school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students59%
Female53%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Low income55%
Not low income63%
Special educationn/a
Not special education66%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female85%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income84%
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students42%
Female50%
Male38%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White40%
Low income38%
Not low income46%
Special educationn/a
Not special education49%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students66%
Female82%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Low income59%
Not low income71%
Special educationn/a
Not special education72%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students48%
Female64%
Male38%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Low income38%
Not low income55%
Special educationn/a
Not special education55%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students29%
Female22%
Male35%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White27%
Low income17%
Not low income40%
Special educationn/a
Not special education29%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students55%
Female57%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Low income50%
Not low income60%
Special educationn/a
Not special education60%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students45%
Female43%
Male46%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White46%
Low income46%
Not low income44%
Special educationn/a
Not special education47%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 60%
Hispanic 7% 20%
Two or more races 6% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 7%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 10%N/A8%
Special education 19%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 245%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 13N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 14N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 39%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Diane Heersink

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

209 Lynch Creek Rd
Eatonville, WA 98328
Phone: (360) 879-1600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT