Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Weyerhaeuser Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

WES has been the biggest let down to my daughter. She attended for 2 years and had done very well. We found out 2 WEEKS before school starts! They stated, "Due to budget cuts, we no longer allowed out of district transfers of students with learning disabilities" I feel this is discrimination and I had a very hard time telling my kid that she won't be attending the very school she's been established at. This total letdown has damaged her self esteem!! It's very clear to me that WES does NOT have the students best interest at heart and obviously cherry pick which kids can and can't attend. The school district claims, they had no idea this was going to happen but the Principal admitted to me, these budget cuts have been in the works for 2 YEARS!! I won't be making any complaints to the district because they stick up for each other and hide the truth, But, I will be bringing this to the attention of the WA State Board Of Education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

WES is a great school! Both my kids were happy with their old school, but were each amazed at how much they love Weyerhaeuser.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

I have been a parent of students at WES for 11years now I loved the school when we first moved here great teacher involvement and caring teachers and staff. I am pulling my child from this school due to the lack of discipline on MAJOR issues. The Bullying is also out of control and undealt with. Parents are not being notified of these issues our children are having to tell us no matter which end of the problem they are on. I do not feel that it is safe to send my child their. They do still have a couple great teacher's but i feel most are just there waiting for retirement and a paycheck, i feel 95% of the rest of staff is just there to get a check and socialize they do not seem to care about our children(accept their favorites) I also feel in the last 2 years acedemics have severly dropped we can not look at state testing to see what our children are learning cause they make the children study the test everyday for over a month before they test. what happened to teaching our children then testing them to see what they have learned. I wished that I had something good to say about WES but I am affraid that i no longer do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

This school needs to be reviewed. I am very concerned about the students saying the Principal doesn't care if they are being pushed around or she will not listen to them when they come to her. One student said if you tell the person you told on will get you back and then nothing happens. There is a fear here for these kids and it is not right


Posted October 22, 2010

I am to the point of wondering if these teachers care at all how there students succeed. My child has struggled for 3 years now with no offers of help, he has been pushed through the system and is now so far behind that he needs tutoring to bring him up to grade level. Not sure if this district even offers special classes for kids in need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

I have been HIGHLY disappointed in this school. The principal doesn't take her job as disciplinarian seriously. My son has had issues with bullies. He even got punched in the mouth and got a split lip. We weren't even contacted by the school! When he got home we saw what happened. I went down to the school the next day and was told the boy who did it was suspended for 3 days. He was back in school messing with my son again THAT DAY. Later on when I asked for records of the incident, I was told there were no records. SHE DOESN'T EVEN KEEP TRACK OF WHAT HAPPENS TO WHOM! I will admit the teachers are nice, but some are in their own little worlds most the time. And the "helper staff" like duties, etc, are NOT above picking out certain kids and "picking" on them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2010

My daughter had to remove her daughter from this school bacause of safety reasons.The principal was well aware of the problems (plural) but refused to take any action because my daughter is not in the "click." The superintendent was made aware of the problems and refused to take any action. Poor leadership - poor school.


Posted September 13, 2010

I do not feel this school is a safe place for students. No one listened when my son was beat on and bitten . When I showed the staff the bite marks I was told "well that happens" and then my son was accused of being a bully. If you speak up they accuse your child of wrong doing so you won't speak up! I also got the feeling there were clicks in the parent group and the kids of these parents were taken care of by staff while the "other" kids were left to fend for themselves. I am sure there are parents who think this school is great, but you have to be apart of the right group to be treated right!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2010

This is a very good school. No one cares if your child is struggling and they don't want to help.All they do is blame the kid! I think there are some good teachers, but some are really mean to kids and almost make it hard for some to do well. If I could do it again, I would not let me kids go to this school.. We moved so I am very happy now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

Great School! Teachers are dedicated and friendly. Students are their number 1 priority. Parents are valued and treated with respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2009

This school needs help! This is a country school with some backward ideas about learning. Would not recommend moving to this area for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

The staff is great. Best teachers I have ever dealt with.


Posted April 29, 2009

I find this school to be a wonderful environment for my child. The staff is very cooperative with our family schedule and plans. My daughter has had a very positive experience here so far, and I expect it to continue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

Great school, I love that we get to go and have lunch, and be involved in our sons classroom. The Staff is very friendly & helpful. Thank you Steffie Pettygrove
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

I personally love Weyerhaeuser Elementary School. We moved from Eastern Washington (TriCity area) and WES is a highly better school than in the TC area. Have enjoyed spending time with each of the teachers which really seem to care about their students. I am currently on the PTA and wish more parents were involved but that is not the schools fault. Thanks WES teachers; you are appreciated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I love this school. Teachers care about the children and the class sizes are small enough for one on one time. PTA could do a little more for the kids. This school is all around good and I feel my child is safe in the hands of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students51%
Female36%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Low income41%
Not low income55%
Special educationn/a
Not special education55%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female60%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income59%
Not low income78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students74%
Female81%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income71%
Not low income75%
Special educationn/a
Not special education79%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female69%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income59%
Not low income86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students77%
Female77%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income65%
Not low income83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students44%
Female42%
Male45%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White44%
Low income29%
Not low income50%
Special education0%
Not special education53%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female75%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income53%
Not low income82%
Special education30%
Not special education82%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students60%
Female54%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Low income53%
Not low income63%
Special education30%
Not special education67%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 60%
Hispanic 6% 20%
Two or more races 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 7%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 10%N/A8%
Special education 110%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 239%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 14N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 14N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 62%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Pamela Burke

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6105 365th St East
Eatonville, WA 98328
Phone: (360) 879-1650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT