Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Discovery Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 604 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2014

My girls have been going to this school since kindergarten, yes there had been a problem with lice, but that doesn't reflect on the school, that is a problem from home. Children come to school from home and bring it to the kids at school. It's our responsibility as parents to make sure or children are bug free, and that we clean and retreat all our kids. The staff is very nice and caring. I have had the opportunity to see my girls expand their knowledge and it's the care of the teachers that take the time to help and teach our children. They are fantastic. I especially love Mrs Oleson, Mrs Bennett, Ms Cochran, Mr Collins, Mrs Leren and Mrs Friedrichsen. Thanks to all you wonderful teachers..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2014

Great staff, the PTA puts on great events for the kids and families. Parent involvement is key, some parents want to sit back and complain that it's ghetto, good parents get involved and work with the school to make it a second home for their child. My daughter has grown so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

Hi everybody , my son studies here second year ( 1&2 grade) . I unlike these school. Here like at ghetto. My son brings a letter from the school about "a case of head lice has been identified in his classroom"(((. This is the second letter in the last 2 weeks. It happens in the 21st century! what's happening here??? Is it a school or a homeless shelter? where the director is looking???their advice to solve the problem - visit helpful websites, and I advise to the Director - clean up the school. I will have to find another school for my son, and it will be very uncomfortable for me!!! But I do not see another way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2013

I simply don't like the area in which the school my son is going to. And when I am finished furthering my education in DC I will be moving him from that ghetto school and area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2012

Both of my kids go to Discovery. My son is in his kindergarten year and my daughter is in her final year with this wonerful scool. The teacher and staff show them love and caring daily and make sure all the kids are welcomed allways. I feel welcome as a parent everytime I come into the school and I a am allways happy with my kids grades. they show just how great the scool is. my daughter wants to be a teacher because she has been so inspired by the teachers she has had here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2010

Good PTA and great 3rd grade teacher Mr. McCullough! he has very good rapport with kids, They always say that time goes fast and they are never tired!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

I just move here fom Marysville, School Distict, which I loved. I checked out the parents ratings on Discovery Elementry, and it was all good. The staff was very nice , when I went enroll my daughter. Tammy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

This is the most amazing, nurturing enviroment for our kids! The principal, the staff, and the PTA all work so hard to make this school fantastic!! Discovery is the best!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

Mrs. Schott is an awesome Principal. She really cares about the staff and every child there. She listens to what everyone has to say and she finds solutions. I have been involved with Discovery in the classroom and PTA for 4 years. No matter what you are doing there, you will be surrounded with love and warmth. I see joy and pride on the children's faces when a parent or grandparent is able to help in the classroom or PTA activity. We are allowed to pop in and have lunch with the kids too. Throughout the year, EVERY child in the school is recognized with an award for something special they do. Academics are very important at Discovery, but so is building confidence, pride and self esteem. Children come first at Discovery always! Phyllis Meacham Courtney's Grandma & Discovery PTA Secretary 2007-2008
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

Wonderful teachers! Lots of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

High level of parent involvement. Great teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2004

The PTA makes this school! I have never seen such wonderful, hardworking parents! Kudos to Dave O'Neal! There is actually a man on the PTA Board!(He was President last year!) Let him be an example to all the other Dads out there! We need more Dads volunteering! What a great star of a year. I can't wait to see what else is in store for the 2nd half!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
16%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students54%
Female51%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asian47%
Asian/Pacific Islander47%
Hispanic51%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income48%
Not low income78%
Special education26%
Not special education61%
Limited English44%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students61%
Female60%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asian67%
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income56%
Not low income83%
Special education22%
Not special education71%
Limited English49%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students70%
Female74%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income65%
Not low income81%
Special education42%
Not special education74%
Limited English38%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female74%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asian55%
Asian/Pacific Islander46%
Hispanic52%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income58%
Not low income78%
Special education33%
Not special education68%
Limited English29%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students70%
Female74%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asian73%
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income63%
Not low income89%
Special education58%
Not special education71%
Limited English43%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students68%
Female74%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asian87%
Asian/Pacific Islander87%
Hispanic56%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income65%
Not low income77%
Special education25%
Not special education76%
Limited English29%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female78%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low income65%
Not low income87%
Special education25%
Not special education79%
Limited English24%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students60%
Female67%
Male53%
Blackn/a
Asian67%
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic52%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Low income54%
Not low income77%
Special education25%
Not special education67%
Limited English12%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 40% 20%
White 34% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 7%
Two or more races 9% 6%
Black 6% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 124%N/A8%
Special education 116%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 274%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 9N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 57%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Rosalynn Schott

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11700 Meridian Ave
Everett, WA 98208
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 366-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Special Services
Everett, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT