Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Emerson Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 600 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2014

I agree with previous poster, this school is full of bullies. Heatbreaking for my child everyday. My kids complained daily about the lunchroom ladies so I went to investigate it myself. I was floored. What a horrible horrible experience. I watched so many kids being "placed on step"... I watched the clock and one child sat out for 12 minutes of his 15 minute lunch (after standing in line for 5 mins to GET his lunch), had no time to eat and was shipped back to class w/out eating. What an eyeopener it was for me. Teachers make all the difference as my eldest had a terrible time, but my son had a great 1st grade experience.. all due to his teacher. She was amazing and he is lucky enough to get her again this year. Parents listen to your children and watch for their growth. My 9 yr old went from thriving and loving school to hating it and losing interest, let alone have limited friendships. Once more year and I am pulling her out in favor of private education. Good luck and keep your eyes open!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

This is a horrible school. My kid has been nothing but bullied here. The workers at the front desk are EXTREMELY rude, & I have witnessed them yelling at a little boy because he was lost. This school stole my daughters innocence. Since she started, she has major anger issues from being bullied. Dont bother telling teachers, or the principle. They say "kids will be kids." Kids steal anything they see another kid with. Teachers do not supervise these children while theyre at recess. Everyday she was there, I had such bad anxiety worrying if she was getting beat up. Stay away from this school!! I cannot express how bad it is. Myself, along with other parents are trying to get this school evaluated. The teacher my daughter had bullied her as well. She went from a overachiever to a kid that is failing and afraid to make friends. The counsiler is the only one that tried helping. The teacher purposely sat my daughter with the 3 girls that would surround her and push her around. Stay away from this place please!!! It has ruined my daughter !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

There is no joy or happiness inside this school building. I am so uncomfortable picking up my student at the end of the day. The principal still has not returned my call made three weeks ago, and when I call the office I am told they can not transfer calls to the principal. Leaving messages over concerns is a waste of time. Parents are complaining but feel they can't do anything. It seems like it has really gone down hill in the past two years. The people in the office make me feel like I am stupid if I ask a question, and the principal just hides in her room.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2014

My daughter who's Caucasian has had a horrible time for YEARS at this school, which is 70% hispanic. The bullying problems here continues even after teachers and staff have been notified until I was blue in the face. They stop teaching spelling here after 1st grade. The teachers try their best with limited resources but the staff is judgmental and rude. Long story short I am trying to move my family to a new neighborhood now after ten years ONLY to get my kid into another school...any other school. I posted this here today so that hopefully nobody else's child will suffer like mine has. If your child speaks Spanish they might do OK...might...but the bullying here for my daughter has been horrible and relentless and they do NOTHING to stop it. The bus is so out of control,a report to the supervisor got me sympathy on phone but then NOTHING done and the driver still can't control things. DON'T send your kids here. They hover over them at lunch like drill sargents so I don't know why they can't stop all the Hispanic kids from picking on the white girls. We feel hopeless so we are leaving but not until I shout it from the rooftops that this school has BIG issues!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

I would not recommend this school to other parents to take there kids. I went through the whole year and didn't go to my sons class to volunteer. My son would come home intimidated with a slip to sign that he didn't make his day. Finally, the last day of school I went with him and stayed in his classroom and noticed that the kids were very uncomfortable with answering their points. I think that there is other ways of showing the students involvement in class. Teachers should acknowledge the students one on one instead of getting put down by others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2013

My daughter attended this school from kindergarten through 5th grade- Teachers are great! loved everyone she had. Administration? not so great- by the time she reached 5th grade they were on their 3rd principal The second principal, we liked- he was addressing many issues with problem students- but he left due to health reasons (thats what we were told)- My daughter did well academically- mostly because we worked with her at home as well. Too much focus on AR over the last couple of years, not enough focus on math- as you can tell by the low math scores- lots of low income families attend the school- which i'm sure doesn't help testing- bottom line is without parent support at home, the school will never have better scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

Great programs, specialists, PTA, after school activities, before and after school childcare through Boys and Girls clubs on site. Have attended K-2nd and so far have had great teachers, especially for K and 2nd. Kindergarten teachers work together and go the extra mile. In first grade, there were two teachers sharing classroom space and I didn't like that. My son struggled with reading in first grade, but got a lot of support from reading specialists to bring him up to par. Now he's excelling in the AR reading program. Teachers have been very interactive. They have an effective disciplinary system called Make Your Day and emphasize respecting others. On the down side, they have had three principals in three years. They have low test scores, from what I hear, mostly due to non-English speaking kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

After having some great teachers in past years, I pulled my child from this school because of her current teacher, I am rating the teachers as average, because some are fantastic, and some are below average. I would keep a close eye on my child's well being. The office staff are great. The school concentrates on studying for the state tests and nothing else. The administration leaves a lot to be desired, just Google the principle and see why the move from the last school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

My daughter has attended this school k-1st.I thought it was and ok school. Then I get this letter about the test scores .I did feel they could use more teacher help in the classroom(teacher+ teacher-aide).Like when I was growing up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

This school has low academic standards. Everything seemed to be dumbed down. No written reports were required in fourth grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

After reading reviews here about Emerson school I was really sad that my daughter will have to go to this school we start looking for other options but at the end we had to send our daughter to this school. Now after sending my daughter for one year we realize that we are the lucky to be in this school because everybody there is soooo nice and helpful. teachers are nice , we are really happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2009

All my children attend this school. Their teacher and principle are very nice. The school is accomodative to what we need. They always send class material home so we know what my children learn at school. I really appreciate their working.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2008

My child attends Emerson Elementary. The teacher works with me to ensure that my child is getting everything she needs to be successful in class. The staff is always happy to see us as parents show up to help out with special events or daily support. For my child's IEP meeting there were 8 people in the meeting from the school and the district, all had made sure that they were familiar with my child and her needs. We came from a school that was in a 'higher' ranked school district, with a much higher median income. I must say that Emerson has provided us with better services and a higher level of support. The 'make your day' system and structure of the school provides a safe environment. I was apprehensive at first about moving to Emerson, now I am very glad we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

While I feel that the teachers themselves are of good quality, the dicipline program is far to strict. I do not feel that the expectations are age-appropriate. The end result being a very discouraged child. Wea re changing schools next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

The leadership/principal at Emerson leaves a lot to be desired. Overall the teachers are outstanding. I just wish they could get the administrative support that they all deserve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

This school is outstanding! We have been there for three years now and each year has been a great experience. The teachers and staff go out of their way to make education as interesting and fulfilling as possible. I commend the school on it's discipline and ability to work together toward the common goal of educating our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

This school is too strict in some areas and in other areas is too lax. My children are not thriving there and we are changing schools next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

The make your day program leaves children with learning and/or behavior disorders with low self-esteem and should be called public shaming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2005

I have 2 daughters attending Emerson. One daughter constantly tells me that they are not allowed to talk during lunch on most days. My other daughter missed a field trip because the teacher lost her permission slip, and didn't inform me of the lack of permission slip till the day of the trip! My girls have made good friends, but I feel the teachers play favorites, and the rules change depending on the situation or the kids involved. I think that is an unfair way for children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2005

would not recommend this school for children you would like to see as our future leaders.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
23%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students68%
Female69%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asian65%
Asian/Pacific Islander65%
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income62%
Not low income84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education71%
Limited English44%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female82%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian77%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income68%
Not low income94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited English32%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students56%
Female54%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanic48%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Low income46%
Not low income90%
Special education0%
Not special education64%
Limited English24%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female80%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic84%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income76%
Not low income100%
Special education18%
Not special education91%
Limited English67%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students50%
Female63%
Male35%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White41%
Low income42%
Not low income79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education57%
Limited English29%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students62%
Female61%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asian75%
Asian/Pacific Islander64%
Hispanic61%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Low income57%
Not low income75%
Special education19%
Not special education72%
Limited English8%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female65%
Male55%
Blackn/a
Asian67%
Asian/Pacific Islander64%
Hispanic61%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income56%
Not low income71%
Special education13%
Not special education71%
Limited English17%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students42%
Female54%
Male31%
Blackn/a
Asian42%
Asian/Pacific Islander43%
Hispanic46%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White44%
Low income38%
Not low income54%
Special education6%
Not special education51%
Limited English17%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 60%
Hispanic 31% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 7%
Two or more races 8% 6%
Black 5% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 125%N/A8%
Special education 113%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 246%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 19N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 55%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Cynthia Jones
Fax number
  • (425) 385-6202

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8702 7th Ave SE
Everett, WA 98208
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 385-6200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Special Services
Everett, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT