Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jackson Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 324 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2013

We requested to be moved to this school almost year ago. We have had nothing but awesome experiences here. The leadership and staff are dedicated to the students learning experience and safety. My daughter has grown scholastically & socially by leaps and bounds in 10 months. I will be sad to say goodbye to move on to Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2009

Our daugther is in all day kindergarden this year and she is already reading thanks to her absolutely wonderful, warm, kind teacher. Every day, after school while at home, my daughter sings a whole variety of songs that she has learned in her class , and she has all these little books that are actually little coloring books that they made in class that illustrate the songs. She loves these books and sits and reads them and then sings what she has read every night. Reading and learning are made to be fun and enjoyable for her, and overall, there is so much positive reinforcement. We are very happy with the teacher and the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2009

We moved to Jackson this year (2009) and it is an excellent fit for my child. Being an alternative family we had several unresolved issues at a previous school but have not had a single negative experience here. The staff is phenomenal and they treat the students with kindness and encourage diversity acceptance. The kids are great and fun to be with. What I love most is that the staff allows the students to be kids while teaching them with positive reinforcement rather than less effective discipline. The students actually like their teachers and most of all, they like their principal. Wow-what a concept!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

Jackson is a wonderful school. We moved into the area this school year and have been impressed with the warmth and helpfulness of all the teachers and staff. It's evident that parents are involved and supportive and my daughter loves it here. However, having moved from a district where the art and music programs had greater emphasis, I am disappointed that Jackson does not offer many opportunities in this regard. But overall, we've had a very positive experience here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

I am so sad to be moving out of state, this school has been so great, the staff is warm and welcoming, and it is such a positive learning environment for my kids. Last year when my oldest started kindergarten he had trouble with his speech, he started meeting with the speech teacher twice a week and has made so much improvement. They also have music class, gym and library once a week. The school counselor comes in once a week to talk about positive action. It's just all together a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2005

Wonderfull environment for our K. The staff is caring and supportive. Our daghter has music, PE art and even spanish lessons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

Jackson Elementary is a personal school. The entire staff is very loving of all the children and it shows. My children have gone to Jackson from kidergarten till now and I am so sad to move out of the district. I have a 3rd grader who is behind in his learning skills and the teachers have gone the extra mile to get him caught up with the rest of the class. There did not seem to be alot of challenge for my 1st grader though, he caught on to reading and math real quick and started to get board in Kindergarten. There was not much challenge for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

I am very pleased with this school :) I pulled my son out of a montessori school because I didnt think he was getting what he needed. In the course of less than two months he was sounding out words and starting to read, had improved his counting skills up to 50 where before he could only count to 10 and barely....(He is in Kindergarden) In addition the parent support is amazing and all of the staff are more than helpful! I am so happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2004

My son transfered into Jackson from another Snohomish school. My son also has Aspergers syndrome, and his IEP time out of the class room for special assistance has been cut from 90 minutes a day at school X, to 15 minutes at Jackson. This has greatly increased my sons self-esteem, which is really important for a special education child. The staff who have worked with my son are great, and keep fairly up-to-date on special education issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2004

I have not been very pleased with the results of my children's education here at Jackson. As an educator myself, I understand the difficulties of the demographics but I believe that poor leadership has had an adverse effect on parent involvement and student achievement. I am pulling my children out to send them to a montessori school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
25%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students66%
Female66%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income56%
Not low income84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education71%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female72%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Low income59%
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education71%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students58%
Female62%
Male55%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic54%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Low income52%
Not low income70%
Special education15%
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female65%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic62%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income59%
Not low income90%
Special education45%
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students56%
Female68%
Male49%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic69%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Low income48%
Not low income75%
Special education11%
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students66%
Female77%
Male53%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low income59%
Not low income79%
Special education20%
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female73%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income63%
Not low income79%
Special education20%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students63%
Female64%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income56%
Not low income79%
Special education30%
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 63%
Hispanic 13% 18%
Black 9% 5%
Two or more races 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Asian 1% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 152%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 27%N/A8%
Special education 219%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 52%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Robin Imai

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3700 Federal Ave
Everett, WA 98201
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 385-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Other Schools
Everett, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT