Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Federal Way Senior High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 11, 2016
- a student
Mr. Cameron, for being an amazing and inspiring person who makes sure all of his students learn and know what they need to.

Federal Way Senior High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 11, 2016
- a student
Almost every teacher is dedicated and strongly committed to everything at the school. The students all respect their teachers and themselves, and the teachers respect their students.


Federal Way Senior High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted February 11, 2016
- a student
The structure and culture of the school is very mature and promotes a respectful, diverse learning environment.

Federal Way Senior High School 5

Posted February 11, 2016
- a student
This school is excellent in many ways. It has the number one Boys Basketball team in the state, top teams in countless other sports, the top Speech&Debate team in the state, one of the top choirs, a strong robotics organization, a well-organized and led ASB, it is an AVID demonstration school, and over 80 different activities that students can join. Aside from the great activities, it is one of the only high school in WA to offer the Cambridge International program and its diploma to students. The teachers have an average top rating in all ways. It is also the 7th most diverse High School in the United States, and everyone benefits from an open, accepting, incredibly diverse environment. An excellent place.

Federal Way Senior High School 5

Posted August 10, 2015
- a student
I love this school! I'm glad they're finally rebuilding it! The campus is going to look amazing! All of there sports teams are amazing and they faculty is so friendly. I don't understand why people think it has such a high crime rate because it doesn't! Everyone fits in, nobody is left out! This school is amazing! Go Eagles!


Federal Way Senior High School 3

Posted March 13, 2012
- a student
I currently go to FWHS. I am only a freshman but so far in my experience i have learned that fed is a good place to go. We have a lot of good programs here and really good coaches. As a student i am involved in many sports and programs that they have here at fed. When i go to fed i feel safe. The staff is amazing. Being a student i feel like there is a connection between the teachers and students. The students are willing to learn and the teachers love their jobs. As a Cambridge student though i feel like i am not being challenged enough. All my classes are easy, especially since this new grading system. Sometimes i feel like i'm learning middle school all over again. Another flaw is the building. It is falling apart. Fire alarms randomly going off, no heat, clocks breaking down, tiles falling, leaks. All of those are some of the things i have witness during my 6 months here. Recently there was a levy for our school to be rebuilt and sadly it did not pass. We now have to make due with what we have left of this school. Despite those flaws the atmosphere here at fed is amazing. Many kids are kind and respectful. From what i have heard and experienced fed is an overall great school.

Federal Way Senior High School 1

Posted February 09, 2011
- a student
The teachers are FANTASTIC but everything in or about the facility is disgusting. The hallways are abnormally crowded, people are extremely rude, and people get privileges they truly don't deserve. This place is NOT diverse, 49% white, but why does that matter?? It shouldn't. The people here are acceptable at times, but the school itself is a piece, and the whole establishment is practically useless. I am NOT challenged in any class because the requirements to be in it are to pass the state tests...So average people end up in advanced classes. I'm in tenth grade, and we were going over how to write a persuasive essay in my Cambridge english class. I LEARNED HOW TO DO THAT IN 5TH GRADE!!! WHY DO THEY ALLOW STUDENTS TO BE IN CLASSES THEY DON'T DESERVE TO BE IN?? I don't know why everyone's so prideful, this school is a dump. GO ROYALS!!

Federal Way Senior High School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
My granddaughter goes there and my son once attended. My granddaughter is on the tennis team and is learning lots, and has great grades.


Federal Way Senior High School 4

Posted September 10, 2010
- a student
Federal Way is NOT perfect, but when it comes to being real, it's as real as it gets. Diversity is not the only key to a good enviorment, but acception to diversity is what matters most. The students can't be generalized, but when it comes to homosexuality, being black, white, asian, whatever... I think Federal Way is one of the best schools in the area for you to feel like you can be yourself.

Federal Way Senior High School 5

Posted June 03, 2009
- a parent
This school is great. It's a good place to get a good educations and a good place to do sports. Cambridge program is very unique around the Northwest. The rumors about this school being really dangerous and such is not true. The teachers are cool and the principle as well. I know this school is the best school in the Federal Way district. I would definitely recomment you to go to this school.

Nearby schools

Federal Way Senior High School
30611 16th Av South, Federal Way, WA  98003
(253) 945-5400
Last modified Federal Way Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top