Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Illahee Middle School

Public | 5-8 | 835 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 6, 2014

This school is fantastic! The teachers are really supportive and attentive, there are strict no bullying policies, and the school spirit is through the roof. Truly an amazing school I'm so sad I don't get to come back next year. But, once a brave always a brave!


Posted September 15, 2013

My child has had an amazing time at illahee and I love how the teachers care for you and try to help you as much as they can, i absolutly love the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

My daughter is in their special 5th grade program for which we are proud to be in. She has wonderful teachers who have compassion and care for their students. She loves the school and her teachers and she enjoys coming to school everyday. The school has excellent extracurricular activities too. It has a good mix of academics and other activities. I love their current grading system which is standards-based. We as parents are actively involved in our child's education and are always in contact with the teachers regarding her school activities. Overall, this is an excellent middle school in Federal Way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2012

this school is absolutely wonderful. all the teachers are literally amazing and great teaching their own unique ways. of course the sports are amazing including their top music programs. the students are great too! so basically this whole school is great. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

i love this school my daughter learns so much the teachers are amazing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2010

Illahee is hands down the best middle school. Their focus on academics and athletics is absolutely remarkable. I attended alll three years and wish I was back again. There is a huge focus on athletics there and you may think you are unoticed if you dont do them. That is what I thought until I focused on the bigger picture which is school spirit andstudents DO NOT BE AFRAID TO GO OUT FOR SPORTS! ou have to start somewhere and the coaches are great. As far as academics and teachers there are a select group of great teachers as there are with any school however the difference about Illahee is that all of the teachers are above average and go above and beyond. I do not regret one minute of my time at Illahee.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2010

I am a 'straight A' athletic 7th grader at Illahee right now and I can say I want to stay here for the rest of my life! I don't want to goto high school or move on any further! I want to stay with my brothers and sisters at illahee (they aren't my real family but they feel like family) I am proud to say that I goto a school that stands above the rest! Even though the school is old I love it! Looking at the wall in the little gym makes me want to cry! Illahee is the best in athletics and academics! Our teachers give us so much motivation the biggest pushers on the planet! We have the best PE teachers on the earth! No one can replace anyone at Illahee! I wouldn't change one thing about Illahee it is my home!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2009

Illahee is a great school. There is no such thing as mid-winter break anymore...It's been gone for about 2 or 3 years now. Student breaks and snow days are a district/voter decision, not illahee's decision. In-service days are training days for staff to keep updated with new learning tools to help our students, also a district decision and counts as one of the 180 required student learning days. Illahee doesn't operate on a schedule unlike any other school. They are only guilty of having a great staff, great students, great athletics, great academics, and great ptsa - who recently granted $10,000 so their school could purchase upgraded visual technology for their classrooms! wow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

Illahee is a perfect school if you are into sports. I.M.S. starts to early.. the same times as high schools and it makes me almost always late
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2009

No discipline what so ever and a day off every week due to teacher inservices, mid winter breaks, etc. is all I see! What the heck is mid winter break? Then days off for more inservices, another for teacher to 'learn day', and what ever else the city comes up with. Ridiculous. Our kids had more than a week away from the classroom due to snow. If only everyone else had that, (gosh I need that at my company). I can not count the number of days my child is out of school! I thought Washington had a 1000 hour school ciriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2009

Yes, it can be competitive making the Varsity teams as IMS is well-known for their athletic strength. MANY families with extremely focused athletic children attempt to choice their students at IMS because of the strength of the Athletic reputation there. Mr Brauer is the Athletic Director if you have questions - he's always supportive. However, IMS is not only in demand for their Athletic participation, but also for their Academic reputation; Excellent scores on the State mandated test, the notorious WASL. As with most things in life, you need to make your voice heard and let the people in charge know your goals and the goals of your child to be involved. Apply yourself. Parents who would like to be involved in the school's PTSA are encouraged to participate, without pressure. Parents always choose what projects they want to help with via signup sheets. PTSA contacts are in the student planners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2009

Illahee is okay. There is a clique. If you are not in it, you might not get those great teachers. The Pta will not welcome every parent, I signed up 3yrs in a row and was only allowed to participate in the less popular activites. If your child is not extremely good he might not make jv sports, unless you know the coaches. So the statement for the best school can be challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

I am a student at Ilahee right know and I love it. I am in 8th grader and I do believe Ilahee is the best middle school. The teachers are very involved and so are the students. My favorite thing at illahee is the pep assemblys!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 31, 2006

As a student, I have always been treated fairly and with kindness. I don't know about other districts but this is definentely the best school in the Federal Way School District. Everyone there really cares about you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 13, 2006

illahee is without a doubt the best school in the district. with motivating teachers, coaches, and admisitration, the students strive to do better which is why this school has top academic and athletic scores all around
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 18, 2005

The academic programs are top notch! Teachers understand and teach to grade level standards. The overall climate is amazing. School spirit and student involvement in sports and music are at a level rarely found in middle schools. Every student is truly proud to be a brave!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2005

Several programs offered including music, art and a variety of athletic sport teams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2005

I have a daughter that is attending Illahee and she loves it!! Their sports program is exceptional. Their p.e. conditioning class is the best thing that happened to her. Their music program is great. The 8th grade history project is teaching her to work hard and not just take the easy way. The teachers and administration respond to e-mails promptly when there was any concerns. Overall I feel fortunate to have had my daughter attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2004

Our daughter attended Illahee as a 7th grader in '03-'04 and we were very pleased with all that Illahee offered. The teachers were happy to hear from parents with any questions/or concerns and offered meaningful suggestions for our child's academic goals. Our daughter's self esteem in her own academic abilities went up tremendously in the course of a single school year. There were many extra curricular activities for students to be involved in including an outstanding sports program. In our opinion, this is the best middle school in Federal Way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2004

Right now im a 8th grader at this school. Its a good school to go too if your into sports. The teachers are friendly. Its the basics of a school. I mean its not perfect things go wrong here and there but overall I say its the best midlle/junior high in Federal Way. The teachers really enjoy doing their job and care about their students. Students will be students really. We like some teachers and we hate the others.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students77%
Female83%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income73%
Not low income79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female96%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Low income82%
Not low income86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students77%
Female88%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income64%
Not low income81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students49%
Female50%
Male49%
Black18%
Asian68%
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanic45%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander30%
White55%
Low income39%
Not low income60%
Special education0%
Not special education55%
Limited English29%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female73%
Male70%
Black52%
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander80%
White76%
Low income60%
Not low income83%
Special education8%
Not special education80%
Limited English21%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students55%
Female55%
Male56%
Black27%
Asian81%
Asian/Pacific Islander63%
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander27%
White68%
Low income40%
Not low income70%
Special education10%
Not special education60%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female72%
Male70%
Black47%
Asian87%
Asian/Pacific Islander76%
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander53%
White84%
Low income63%
Not low income78%
Special education14%
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students78%
Female89%
Male68%
Black65%
Asian84%
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic63%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander73%
White87%
Low income72%
Not low income84%
Special education43%
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students53%
Female56%
Male51%
Black24%
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander74%
Hispanic26%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income40%
Not low income68%
Special education10%
Not special education59%
Limited English20%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female71%
Male57%
Black45%
Asian89%
Asian/Pacific Islander81%
Hispanic52%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income52%
Not low income76%
Special education17%
Not special education69%
Limited English30%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students56%
Female58%
Male55%
Black17%
Asian71%
Asian/Pacific Islander63%
Hispanic41%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income42%
Not low income71%
Special education21%
Not special education61%
Limited English40%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

84 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
46%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
99%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students56%
Female61%
Male53%
Blackn/a
Asian60%
Asian/Pacific Islander58%
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Low income48%
Not low income68%
Special educationn/a
Not special education55%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Students94%
Female94%
Male94%
Asian95%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Low income82%
Not low income96%
Not special education94%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 63%
Asian 18% 7%
Hispanic 14% 18%
Black 12% 5%
Two or more races 9% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 134%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 23%N/A8%
Special education 211%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 19N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 13N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 48%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

36001 1st Ave South
Federal Way, WA 98003
Website: Click here
Phone: (253) 945-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Merit School
Federal Way, WA





Saghalie Middle School
Federal Way, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT