Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Kent, WA
Students enrolled: 2,117
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kent-Meridian High School 1

Posted September 23, 2014
- a community member
I hated going to this school. Rude/immature kids, terrible teachers, and a HUGE drug problem. It's just not a great campus. Glad I graduated this year. It was the WORST 4 years of my life. If you have other schools available for you, PLEASE take them! Do NOT go to this school!

Kent-Meridian High School 5

Posted May 14, 2014
- a student
Kent-Meridian is the greatest school out there, our diversity is out of this world. Represent the Royal Power and build our dynasty as one. Rumors are KM is the most ghetto and lousy school out there, but I'll tell you what, it really is not. It may be the best, it's your opinion, not otheres.


Kent-Meridian High School 5

Posted January 28, 2014
- a student
When I told my friends that I was going to KM (went to Cedar heights) They thought that I was crazy and KM is the most Ghetto school there is. But in reality this is a rumor that was started by outsiders and/or possibly someone who has had a bad experience. Also having low test scores can be from people in the school who have more problems at home. Also there's more people who have had less time to get an education because they have immigrated. Also if you want good teachers who help you out go to the KMTA or kent meridian technology academy. The teachers there are phenomenal, there way of teaching isn't just out of the book. Also if you do KMTA and certain electives you don't even have to carry a textbook.

Kent-Meridian High School 1

Posted January 15, 2014
- a parent
No they don't they are horrible to the kids; the teachers make them feel useless. They make sure they don't pass the WAHSL and they give out Certificates of Completion instead of Diploma which effects them getting into any high intuition. I don't recommend this school to anyone with special needs or without special need children. The facility are just there to collect a paycheck, they are lazy.

Kent-Meridian High School 2

Posted August 13, 2013
- a student
Kent Meridian was the worst school i could have ever have gone to in my life! It was my junior year and i wasn't really feeling like i was getting much attention form my teachers who were are all rude and didn't grade or teach properly they all had an attitude and even worse the principal was so arrogant He lets the teachers bully there students and he ignores the parents when they ask for help and doesn't care about the students that were failing and they honestly weren't great teachers they were all lazy and sat on their computers everyday ....i honestly wouldn't be surprised if no one graduated there because the staff aren't even devoted to their jobs in helping us achieve.


Kent-Meridian High School 5

Posted June 26, 2012
- a student
KMHS is a GREAT school. Everyone is very friendly; the teachers, students, and staff. The school is very diverse; so if you are of another race other than caucasian, you won't feel left out or anything. The rumors of the school having a bad reputation for fighting and such are not true at all. Yes, there's fighting ocasionally, but even the best of schools have those kind of diciplinary problems. At KM you'll feel at home and will be treated with respect and kindness. Proud to be a GRADUATE ROYAL! GOOOOOO ROYALS!!!

Kent-Meridian High School 5

Posted July 09, 2011
- a student
The best school! Im proud to be a royal! Teachers are awesome! The helped me alot!

Kent-Meridian High School 5

Posted October 20, 2010
- a community member
I am a junior at KM and absolutely love this school. and highly encourage everyone to come here. we have a bad reputation in the kent society but 1) we are the ONLY kent school district that offers IB (international baccalaureate) 2) we are the ONLY kent high school with the technology academy 3) Beat Kentlake and Kentwood (local high schools) in mock trial. 4) our principal was voted the 2010 best principal in western washington 5) one of the very few schools in washington and ONLY school in kent with the Challenge Day program 6) very diverse and friendly student body and staff. 7) undefeated track and field team 8) dance team won state and many many other things that makes KM a fantastic school!


Kent-Meridian High School 4

Posted June 15, 2010
- a parent
Don't listen to the response below from a "teacher". The WASL & SAT scores are low not because of the teaching staff but because of the transient nature of the student population. The turn over rate is high, if students don't have a stable living situation and move often they will do worse and not form teacher relationships. My son is in the Technology/IB program and does very well. He has all 4's on WASL and excellent SAT scores. I believe the good teachers at this school are part of his success. They have some of the best teachers in the district. And also one of the few schools offering 4 years of Japanese. You aren't just a number here. A very diverse school with an environment that kids can thrive in. As far as sports the coaches are great, very good cross-country/track team.

Kent-Meridian High School 1

Posted January 29, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kent-Meridian High School
10020 SE 256th St, Kent, WA  98030
(253) 373-7405
Last modified Kent-Meridian High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kent-Meridian High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top