Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Olympic View Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 617 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

This school is a joke. The staff doesn't even look like they want to be there, not to mention talk to parents. They want parent involvement but only from certain parents and volunteers so don't expect to help out. If your kid is main stream they will fly under the radar and you won't have a issue but you can count on being behind when you move. If you have a child that needs special education you can be sure they drag there feet and try as hard as they can to prove they don't. The school psychologist is a piece of work, she actually told me she just used Wikipedia as a reliable source. She will treat you like garbage and has zero people skills. They are not equipped to handle military families they have a lunch program and think that is enough, they are oblivious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

Excellent teachers, top notch principal, outstanding parent participation. The only thing this school lacks (like most others in WA State) is proper funding and smaller class sizes. Principal earns respect from students, teachers and parents with friendly, respectful and fair treatment of all. He definitely walks the talk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

This is our second year at Olympic View and we've been very impressed. The curriculum is diverse while continuing to build the necessary foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

This is a great school so far. My girls have attended private school since Kindergarten. We just enrolled them at Olympic View this year and it is a fabulous learning environment. The pricipal and teachers are upbeat and positive. The families are welcoming. I look forward to a great year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

They show concern above and beyond for the children who attend there. They are friendly in personal visits and over the phone. they are willing to take calls concerning a stituation/or calling you back on that concern. Yeah to the teachers in Olympic View Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

This school is surrounded by older homes and gives a deceiving impression to a passer by. The Principal is smart, kind and motivated. He commands respect in a friendly, approachable way. The support staff in the office is also great and when comparing notes with other families in different school districts, my children are ahead of the curve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2010

We love Olympic View, it took a while, I am the one who gave it a 2 star raiting. My child is excelling, and I feel is being challanged in some areas. The programs that are being offered are wonderful! They offer CAN, Comunity Action Nights that are quite educational. We have experianced a PTA Movie night, Assemblies, and one of the best Reading programs ever. I just wish the first 9 weeks woundn't have gone so slowly. I am a Teacher, I know what goes on the first 9 weeks, and I also know that the students who are on target pop out at you within the first few days. Please continue to challenge them constantly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Olympic View Elementary has a warm, friendly feel, and I love volunteering my time in this school! The staff is very supportive and helpful. The teachers my daughter has had so far, have been stellar- always going above and beyond their job descriptions. This school has met AYP (adequate yearly progress) in all areas, so I feel it is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Olympic View has been a very positive experience for our family. Excellent teachers, quality leadership and abundant parent involvement. Just one month into the school year, and it is clear that OVE is successfully involving parents, teachers and students in everything from fundraising & volunteer opportunites, to enrichment and curriculum development. Take one step through the front doors and you will instantly recognize a friendly, well organized facility(not to mention freshly painted walls courtesy of our PTA and parent volunteers) where all students are supported and encouraged to give their best. Whether it be academics, good behavior or community involvement, Olympic View parents can feel confident about sending their children to this safe and highly productive elementary school. Our principal Mr Richards is the best!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

This school deserves better rating then the previous parent that gave two stars. We have a 2nd gder and during the first weeks of 1st grd they were not learning colors or letters, students were given work according to their skills! So its a possiblity that the teacher feels that student needs more work in that area. Over all this school has improved over the last 2 years and is geting better w/ the new principal, who is extreamly involved with student learning. He is aware and active in studen learning and parents wants for thier children. My advice for that other parent is to go to the school and talk to the principal about your concerns. You might be surprized the reaction you get. After all we are the only ones that can advocate for our kids, also go to the PTA meetings get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

I just read the last review about OVE and am shocked. My son is a 1st grader also and is really enjoying himself. His teacher has been teaching for almost 23 years and really knows her stuff. If you have a problem with what your child is learning, you should call ex-president George W. Bush. He started the 'No Child Left Behind' act. I can tell you that some of the children in my son's class should not be in 1st grade, but taking kindergarten over again. The reason your child is learning their colors and letters is probably because the teacher is trying to see where each child is academically. The school is in the process of starting a tutor program, where individuals in the community can come in and work with children that need extra help. Get your facts straight before you review this school next time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

First of all let me just say this to you. First grade in the beginning is a test period. The teachers need to find out if the children know the basics and if they Don't then they get the appropriate help they will need.. So please just give it some time. I have a second grader and a kindergarten there and I both will start and finish there! We love Olympic View elem and will continue there until we go to a higher school!!! Go Eagles!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

My child is in 1st grade and I am very impressed with her progress thus far. She is bringing home what I consider to be grade/age appropriate if not advanced homework assignments. The weekly spelling test requires that she use the words in a sentence in addition to just spelling them correctly. My daughter is thriving under this challenge. Her teacher is new to the school and is doing a fantastic job. We receive a weekly newsletter that clearly states her expectations and goals for the class. We also receive individual feedback on how our daughter is doing and areas for improvement. Kudos to the OVE Principal who is really changing things for the better at this school. He is very hands on, returns phone calls and actually sets aside time every week to meet and have coffee with parents who wish to speak with him. We love Olympic View Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

My son is in Kindergarten and so far I am really impressed with this school. It's nice that they have been able to save programs such as art and music. His teacher is wonderful and we are very pleased with OVE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2006

Olympic view has taught my child so much, and the teachers have been wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

This is an outstanding school. The teachers are highly qualified and very motivated. My daughter has loved all her teachers here and I feel has received an excellent education. There is a wonderful library program and excellent art, music and PE instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
27%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students89%
Female89%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income89%
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female86%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income76%
Not low income90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students80%
Female86%
Male74%
Black64%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income77%
Not low income81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female89%
Male89%
Black91%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income81%
Not low income93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students79%
Female91%
Male67%
Black64%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income65%
Not low income86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students71%
Female82%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic53%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income58%
Not low income79%
Special education8%
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female86%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic82%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income68%
Not low income95%
Special education62%
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students79%
Female82%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic71%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income61%
Not low income91%
Special education46%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students69%
Female68%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income59%
Not low income76%
Special educationn/a
Not special education72%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female71%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asian60%
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income47%
Not low income74%
Special educationn/a
Not special education65%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 63%
Hispanic 17% 18%
Asian 12% 7%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 126%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 23%N/A8%
Special education 212%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 16N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 73%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1330 Horne Ave NE
Lacey, WA 98516
Phone: (360) 412-4660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT