Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodbrook Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 501 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

The teachers care at this school, my sons have not experienced any bullying at the school. my oldest son was promoted from this school and moved on to high school with no problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

First I would like to say that the community reviews are mostly biased. Having teachers, PTA members get on here to taint the reviews is LOW Woodbrook. The real reviews are the one star reviews from Parents because it is the truth. If you really want to know, just take a look at their test scores and it is obvious what their so called "hard work" has accomplished. I have two kids at this school. I was warned about this school and wish that i could have gotten them in elsewhere. Hopefully the next school can repair the damage done to their education. If you have a good student, then the teachers will pretty much ignore you, if you have a special ed student, they single them out completely. And they love jumping straight to suspension over every little thing never mind that it is your child who will fall behind. They have a serious bullying problem at their school. If your child does nothing than nothing must be going on, if they stand up for themself, they are equally responsible. This school district is a joke but ive heard worse from other districts in the state of washington. This is not a state to live in if you have children!!!! Like i said, the scores...speak volumes!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2013

My 7th grade daughter goes to Woodbrook. She is in advanced classes and has no issues with teachers, staff, or the children. The school itself NEEDS to be updated and the neighborhood is rough. But overall as of now its going well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

There communication skills to do with your child are pretty much not there. The bullying is ridiculous! The children that go to this school obviously have parents with minds of teenager. We have had nothing but problems since day 1. I have no contact with any of my daughters teachers, principal etc. Simply because they do not contact me what so ever. My daughter is not a problem child so I assume that is why I hear nothing but I would like a letter/note sometimes confirming that she does what she is suppose too. I pray we are never in this school district again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Well im a 7th grader who attends Woodbrook Middle School right now and it is pretty cool.Woodbrook has nice teachers (my opinion) and they have cool classes and the friends are awesome! Go Woodbrook
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 10, 2010

Woodbrook is questionable at best. Don't even think about taking your specak needs child to this district. They don't do inclusion, even though they say they do when you call the district office. They have 'special design' classrooms they stuff the kids in. No accountability by principal for these teachers in this class. Just poor. And the teachers dress in jeans, tshirts and don't generally care about their appearance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2010

Woodbrook has great teachers and a great caring staff. The neighborhood can be a bit rough, but the students work hard, the teachers work hard to get every student to learn and enjoy school and the school is getting better each year.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 17, 2009

This school rocks. The neighborhood is rough but the teachers work hard to make sure every kid learns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

This may be the last year there is a PTA unless next year's 6th grade parents step up and get involved. The PTA pays for field trips and gets most of their income (this yr and last) from Book Fairs. PTA also donates to the lunch fund for students that lose, forget or don't have a lunch (and aren't in the free lunch program yet). PTA also donates money to school nurse so kids that need clean clothes have some to choose from. The school does spend a lot of time with math, reading and writing programs but that is so they can pass the WASL. More gifted programs would be wonderful, but can't afford them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

All the teachers help with anything you ask school or in general and they really help they just dont make something up and send you off they check back with you later. The classes help are challenging but not to challenging and a big oart is how the kids help and the teachers care.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2008

My daughter loves school, participates in many of the great extracurricular activities that are held through the year so far, has made so many friends, and the teachers are always there to help her when needed. She loves it there and I know will have a difficult time leaving when we move again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2007

We work very hard for our children at Woodbrook.And yes we had some problems but they have been solved.I enjoy working at Woodbrook and have been for the last four years.


Posted February 19, 2007

Three of my children attended this school. One who was in the gifted program in Elementary was completely bored the entire time he attended this school. He was not challenged at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2007

I am a student my self and can tell you that not much has changed since 2004. The school has excellent teachers it is just the curriculum that bothers me...no advanced classes, unless you in gifted(which is a joke)and the curriculum would barely challenge a 4th grader. They are trying there best but they do not have enough money or teachers. They really expect every student to do the fundraising and are on the verge of losing all after school activities. I am not to fond of the principal either, you never see her and for the last two years has sat in her office all day sitting. I'm not trying to bomb on Woodbrook but they seriously need help and money.I really care about my education and hope to go to BYU-Utah, and I am disappointed in wasting three years at this school. Everything else is Okay,hitting bad.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2006

Woodbrook, like any other school has its good points and its bad points. What I like about this school is that most of the teachers use and respond to e mail. Most are more than eager to work with you and help you find a way for your child to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Like any school, it has great teachers and some not so great. But, I was able to talk with all the teachers when I was concerned and that was a big deal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

My son is in the 6th grade at woodbrook and I have to say I am very impressed with the school. The staff is very interested in the students and provide a variety of field trips, extra curricular activities and night time get togethers. To see how this school works, you only need visit during lunch and see the parental involvement, staff involvements and activities that are provided to entertain students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2006

I am a parent who sent my son to Woodbrook after he was feeling distressed in the Tacoma School District. Other students and administration worked well to make him feel like he belonged. He was in a gifted program in Tacoma, but all of his classes at Woodbrook were challenging, rigorous and planned in strict accordance to the state standards. This school is a gem- I highly recommend Woodbrook Middle School to any family. My children feel very safe and happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

I have been very happy with woodbrook. My 2 children love it, they have great, caring teachers and the school does not tolerate bullying!As soon as kids report it, the adminstration addresses it. Lots of kids get involved. Unfortunately, it's the parents that don't! The only way parents come to evening things is when they can get something for free! what happened to caring about your kids education or getting involved in their school world? Lot's of people complain, but they aren't the ones that actually participate in PTSA or other evening activities! Get involved with you child's work, help them study and learn, quit blaming the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2005

This school is really making progress. Parent involvement has increased and the PTSA is making positive steps. The rules are established and enforced. I find that it is easy to contact key personnel (ie. admin, couselors, teachers). My son is enjoying his experience and getting a quality education. I really like their attention to individual reading needs of students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
28%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students45%
Female49%
Male41%
Black26%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander64%
Hispanic41%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White51%
Low income44%
Not low income49%
Special education24%
Not special education52%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students66%
Female73%
Male60%
Black60%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic65%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income65%
Not low income70%
Special education49%
Not special education72%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students62%
Female60%
Male63%
Black67%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Low income59%
Not low income72%
Special education38%
Not special education65%
Limited English40%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female69%
Male61%
Black52%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income60%
Not low income86%
Special education38%
Not special education69%
Limited English40%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students65%
Female74%
Male56%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic68%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Low income64%
Not low income69%
Special education38%
Not special education69%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students49%
Female58%
Male40%
Black39%
Asian73%
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanic42%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander27%
White55%
Low income46%
Not low income63%
Special education21%
Not special education54%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students66%
Female65%
Male66%
Black62%
Asian73%
Asian/Pacific Islander59%
Hispanic69%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander46%
White71%
Low income65%
Not low income69%
Special education21%
Not special education72%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students58%
Female58%
Male58%
Black31%
Asian46%
Asian/Pacific Islander32%
Hispanic54%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander18%
White81%
Low income54%
Not low income72%
Special education42%
Not special education60%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
59%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students91%
Female88%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Low income92%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 63%
Hispanic 20% 18%
Black 19% 5%
Two or more races 9% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 2%
Asian 3% 7%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 172%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 24%N/A8%
Special education 216%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 19N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 9N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 70%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Nancy LaChappelle

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14920 Spring St
Lakewood, WA 98439
Phone: (253) 583-5460

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Mann Middle School
Lakewood, WA




Firwood
Steilacoom, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT