Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Rose School

Private | PK-8 | 174 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Longview

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $135,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 20, 2014

My two children have been attending St. Rose since preschool. I would not change my and my children's experience at all. Excellent students, teachers and staff. Parents are involved positively. Well worth the tuition which is not that much in comparison with other high ranked Catholic schools. The teachers are fantastic, my children are learning well above their grade level. I am a very picky parent, there is no where else I would sent my children living in the Cowlitz County area. Bar none the best learning atmosphere and educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2013

Excellent school! Great teachers and the students are great! I recommend everyone I know to send there children here. The teachers truly care about each child and makes sure no one falls behind. The teachers stand out and are here because they love kids and love to teach.


Posted July 14, 2011

too many cliques amongst parents and administration lead to an unhealthy environment for the children. he who has the most $$$ and biggest mouth.......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2011

This school was a nightmare for us. They just seemed to want money. The teachers were not that qualified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

The teachers are more than qualified. They have specialities in certain areas giving students extra information and makin learning so much easier. I attended this school from 2006-09 and would not have changed a thing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 15, 2009

St. Rose has really helped our children grow in all areas. The school is very welcoming and the level of academics is balanced with the enrichment. We are very happy with our school choice and highly suggest St. Rose to any family who wants to see success in their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2006

Excellent academic programs including Spanish, Art Appreciation and religion all beginning in Kindergarten. Parents are very involved, and can be seen constantly in the building helping out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

Test scores (including math) both on the WASL and the ITBS are well above average both for the state and for the Longview community. There is no place that has more parental involvement than St. Rose. It is a warm and welcoming environment. A major expansion of the school facility is targeted for mid 2007.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2005

Children are given opportunities to be challenged academically. There is a huge emphasis on parental involvement, and the parents are generally high achievers themselves. This has enabled a wonderful Art Appreciation program to flourish, for example. The opportunity for the teacher to teach on religion and Christian values develops a very special side of the children. The students learn respect and discipline. The facilities are somewhat aged, but they are working on a significant expansion that will make this an even more attractive institution in this community. The all day kindergarten, 4 days a week, has been an awesome start for students into a more academic world than ever before. I would like to see more extracurriculars, like debate, forensics, foreign language, home ec, science clubs, for example, at the middle school level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

St. Rose offers a diverse and stimulating environment for attendees. It is clearly communicated to students what is required and expected. At St. Rose, Catholic doctrine is taught, Mass is mandatory, and awareness of social justice and other's needs are explored. As a Catholic parent these values are important to me. Equally, however, is the 'bar' that is set for students. Along with the exceptional carriculum offered, the moral and ethical standards are beyond compare. Students learn to think for themselves, to take responsibility for their actions, and to challenge themselves and each other. For your child to be successful here, the lessons and expected behavior should be a continuation of what is taught in the home. St. Rose is NOT a school parents should consider if they're not willing to be active in their child(ren)s academic, spiritual and social activities. It's a challenging and nurturing environment where children learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 60%
Hispanic 7% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Seattle
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

720 26th Avenue
Longview, WA 98632
Phone: (360) 577-6760

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT