Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Brighton School

Private | PK-8 | 23 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lynnwood

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $248,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 19, 2013

We have been at Brighton since Preschool. My daughter was 4 when she entered. She is now in the 5th grade. Our first year was "ok". Then pre-k was better and Kindergarten was awesome. So, we decided to give Elementary a try. What we found was..... Bighton is able to Curtail their Academics to each child needs, because of the small class size and the awesome teachers! This was exciting and a great breath of fresh air!!!! Brighton didn't just say it.... they did it! My daughter is not a Typical learner, but IS a social butterfly and VERY driven! That being said... Brightons Teacher's have always been able to tap into My daughters needs. For US the very best part is the fact that Brighton treats the Whole Child. My daughter feels like everyone knows and loves her. As parents, the best part is what ever We need to make our daughters learning Environment Optimal ....Brighton can Deliver! Every school is not perfect, but Brighton has really been a great experience for our family! I hope this was helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2012

Great School. When our kids first started 4 years ago it was a very good school and it has gotten better every year. The teachers and the climate make it what it is. Many of the staff have been there many years and you can tell they love the school and the kids. We really like the field trips and the projects. Our kids love going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

The Brighton School provides a great balance of learning experiences. They provide opportunities for the students to use their academic knowledge in real world situations. These experiences provide the students self confidence and enforces the importance they provide to our neighborhoods, cities, states, country and world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

My child has been at Brighton for the past two years and has also attended summer camp. The school and staff excel in all areas. I have been continually impressed with the commitment to children and the desire to improve learning outcomes. I am in the education field and consult widely on a local, national and global level. Brighton is truly one of the best schools I have seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2010

My child has been at Brighton from PS- grade 5, and planning to send her for middle school. Brighton's focus on teaching how to apply knowledge in everyday situations and presentation skills is phenominal. My daughter was very shy, and is now comfortable performing in front of an audience due to all the practice she has received in class. I appreciate the small class sizes of 14 or so and two teachers. I love that Brighton is focused on service learning. All the students take pride in helping members of our community and the world by packing meals for starving in Sierra Leone, or toiletries kits for homeless mothers. There is a lot more to education than just learning pure academics, which Brighton does well. Brighton really excels at creating a rich, nurturing and well-rounded environment for my child to bloom. I highly recommend Brighton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

My child has attended Brighton since pre-school, and we have been very pleased with the early education and now elementary school program. The teachers and staff are wonderful and consistent, with many long-tenured staff members. The class sizes are fantastic; each child is challenged at their pace & learning style. Discipline problems are quickly addressed (and really non-existent). The parent community is strong and it really feels like a second family! I love the philanthropic teachings and emphasis on giving back to our community and world. The arts programs, foreign language classes, and enrichment opportunities are a tremendous addition to the core curriculum as well. (Can you tell that we REALLY love this school?!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2009

I only really know the middle school, but it is amazing. The math teacher, Ms. West, is the best teacher I have ever seen and the other teachers are excellent too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

We have had our children at Brighton for 3 years now and we have loved it. The teachers are outstanding and there are many diferent kinds of activies for the studnets and parents. Small classes and no discipline problems. The only thing we don't like is the building it's in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

My two children attended Brighton School for pre-school through 8th grade. The school has excellent teachers. Their individual strengths and gifts were acknowleded. They were treated with care and respect. They both left the middle school prepared for success in our local Jr. High School and High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

Brighton shines in terms of its early education program. The teachers are fantastic, really getting to know & understand the children. Academics are strong, but developmentally appropriate, letting kids be kids. a very nice balance. My only problem with the school is the insular nature of the higher grades and the administration. But it is one of the best preschool/preK programs in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

Great class size. However, I would have like to see more indivualized instruction around academics. Some students were reading and yet, they did not create a small reading group to challenge those students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

Our children have attended Brighton School for seven years beginning with preschool. From an academic standpoint they could not be doing better. The early childhood program is very strong and elementary is very good too. Brighton is small which can be a drawback socially, there are more boys than girls in many grades and as with all private schools the students come from a large geographic area. In terms of specialists and enrichment Brighton does very well: Spanish is available from Kindergarten. There is also an after school Chinese class. The Technology, PE, Music, Drama and Art teachers have wonderful programs. Overnight experiences beginning in grade three with a trip to Mt. St. Helens; 8th grade goes to D.C. and N.Y. Thanks to the success of the annual PTO auction the enrichment programs are very good. Parent support is strong but as with most schools they could always use more volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2004

I think this school is great espically with the student body and the students can go to the teacher whenever the need help w/school work.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 27, 2003

My kids have attended Brighton for 8 years. It has become a part of our family. The teachers are caring and really attend to my children's individual needs. The curriculum is challenging and stimulating. My kids love going to school; they feel safe and cared for and we know they are learning skills that will serve them well in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 22% 7%
Two or more races 5% 6%
Black 4% 5%
Hispanic 2% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6717 212th Street Southwest
Lynnwood, WA 98036
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 672-4430

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St. Pius X Elementary School
Mountlake Terrace, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT