Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kellogg Marsh Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 600 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

This is the best school in Marysville Washington the time my son spent their was awsume prefect great loved every thing about Kellogg Marsh "1 beast school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2013

Favorite teacher is Mrs.Gray. We are so blessed that both grandkids were in her class.


Posted March 7, 2013

My daughter has been going to this school for 2 years, and multiple instances of bullying have occurred each year. She has been stalked, pushed, attacked on the playground by 4 boys, spit on during library, and lots of name calling in class. When I brought the problem up to the principle, my daughter was then called a "tattle tail", and the bullying didn't stop! The students attending this school are not getting disciplined to behave properly in a social setting, and it shows. It's very sad, and we are now transferring to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

My son loves KM! The staff really cares about the students and tries to see that each ones needs are met. My son is autistic so he is very sensitive to who he's around and he really loves going to school. He feels comfortable getting on the bus and looks forward to going everyday. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2012

the teachers are great the school is nice, the office staff and one in particular is grumpy and seems annoyed when you call or ask for assistance. this is the first person you come across entering the school shouldnt they be friendly?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

I could not agree more with the parent that talked about the staff at Kellogg Marsh. I have had great experiences with the teachers but the office staff is definitely lacking. I actually complained to the principle once about the lady that works in the office. She is an older lady..not to sound mean but the overweight lady in there. She was so rude all the time on the phone and like the other parent mentioned "lazyy as if interrupting a nap". I think the principle needs to find new staff for sure. What a shame as it is a nice school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

This school has wonderful teachers who love their students! There are great things to be said about the teachers. The people working in the school office on the other hand don't seem to care about their job. A few in particular are very LAZY, and when you come to them with a question they act as if you are interrupting their nap or the game they are playing on their computer. You are lucky if the take your information and pass it on. They should really be let go, and hire new people who are willing to work with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2011

I just love this school!! I have a Son (now in middle school) who spent his entire elementary school years at KM. The Teachers he had were all fantastic!! Even the one I liked the least, I would say was good. I feel they do need a few more Male Teachers. The one he had has to be the best male Teacher there is. My Daughter is now in Kindergarten at KM and I look forward to her career as well. They put my Son on the road to success and I know they will do the same for her!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2011

My daughter is on her 4th year at KM and I absolutely love it! The staff is incredible and the teachers really careabout the kids. They have made the drop off and pick up precess much faster and safer for everyone and are always improving. All staff is very helpful when your child need some help or just parent help. I have not seen another school in Marysville that measures up to KM. By far the most positive and helpful staff I have seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

My on went to that school until 2 yrs ago..Peple in Marysville have a top 10 school on their hands...Bless themselves really. I rate the teachers and staff as one of the highest I have ever had any child in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

Our daughter is in 1st grade in her 2nd year at KM. She absolutely loves her class and teacher. We have great communication with her teacher. The staff is always friendly and helpful. She is progressively learning at a solid pace and we see improvement in her reading and math consistently. Over all we are very pleased with the school and hope she will be there for all 4 remaining years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

Year one, 1st grade- when I visited at lunch and on the playground I felt there was not enough time for the kids to eat. It seemed like the adults at lunch were halfway present and could have been more connected and interactive with kids. Each time I visited the playground after lunch there were hardly any grown ups out there and kids were rough with eachother and getting away with it. More adult led games and direction needed at recess. Coat pulling and wrestling common. Great group of volunteers and teachers are probably great. Feedback from my daughter was that the kids were mean compared to neighboring school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2006

Fairly good school where the staff goes out of it's way to work with parents of special needs children. They fail to offer field trips, or any outside activities for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

I am very pleased with the school, definitely room for improvement, but a nice community and a good experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2005

Kellogg Marsh is a very beautiful school. The teachers are very involved and the curriculum is very fun for the children. There is a very safe and organized parking lot which allows children to get to school safely. The only thing negative to say would be that the school is over-crowded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2004

I was very pleased with this school the teacher was exellent. My grandaughter loved the teacher and the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2003

I just want you to know that you are extremely lucky if your children get to attend this school in Marysville. There are only two schools in this district that meet my standards of a great school and this one is on the top two. There envolvement with children is excellent, parent envolvement is wonderful and all the extra activites for the children and family events is a class act. Kellogg Marsh provides a safe place for the kids to enjoy to learn and play. Kellogg Marsh also has great programs for advance learning and strives on higher learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
21%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students49%
Female53%
Male46%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White49%
Low income44%
Not low income53%
Special education13%
Not special education56%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female70%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Low income54%
Not low income64%
Special education27%
Not special education66%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students56%
Female60%
Male51%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic44%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Low income54%
Not low income58%
Special education22%
Not special education65%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students61%
Female72%
Male46%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic69%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income61%
Not low income60%
Special education28%
Not special education69%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students42%
Female49%
Male33%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White33%
Low income39%
Not low income44%
Special education11%
Not special education50%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students59%
Female59%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic52%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Low income52%
Not low income66%
Special education14%
Not special education66%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female63%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income56%
Not low income72%
Special education14%
Not special education71%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students71%
Female73%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income64%
Not low income79%
Special education29%
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 63%
Hispanic 17% 18%
Two or more races 9% 5%
Asian 5% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 141%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 210%N/A8%
Special education 221%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 20N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 11N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 58%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6325 91st St NE
Marysville, WA 98270
Phone: (360) 653-0643

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Grace Academy
Marysville, WA





Marysville SD Special
Marysville, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT