Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mount Vernon Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 309 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Mount Vernon

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $183,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2014

At first, my husband and I thought we found the right perfect school for our son. We, furthermore, thought that a Christian learning environment would enable our son to succeed to his fullest potential. My husband and I never considered or even crossed our minds to see the demographics of this private Christian school. Mount Vernon Christian School consists of 97% primarily Anglo/White families and 3% mixed/Latino/Mexican families. Mount Vernon Christian School isn't prepared or educated to have, educate, and/or serve mixed/Latino/Mexican families. Our son is Latino/Mexican-American and has endured racial discrimination, harassment of his culture, physical abuse, verbal abuse, and emotional abuse all by white students at Mount Vernon Christian School. The students are cruel, hateful, demeaning, bashful towards other cultures. Concerns were brought to the attention of the appropriate officials and they had no clue how to handle the situation. This school environment is NOT SUITABLE or a Safe learning environment for Latino/Mexican families. The above statement does not include all students. Some, students are educated in accepting other cultures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

Mount Vernon Christian is an excellent school! Please consider it for your child or children!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I am a current student at this school and I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is the best school ever with a great envirment the kids are great the teachers are great and the humor is great! My school Is the BEST EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2009

My daughter started preschool here this year, and she came home learning so much. I can't believe how much they learn, and how wonderful the teachers are. The staff is very compationate and great with the kids. I visited many other preschools before choosing this one, and we found this to be the best environment, and the best place to start our daughter at. Everything felt exactly as it should.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

My son attended here and now my daughter is attending. Wonderful school. Great environment for learning. Highly recommend Mt. Vernon Christian. My daughter loves the school and is learning great values and most of all she is learning about our loving saviour.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

Excellent teachers, staff modeling the love of Jesus to the students! My daughter is in 4th grade and loves Mount Vernon Christian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

I started there in the beginning of my kindergarten year in 1989 then graduated my senior year of high school in 2002. The teachers seem very passionate and always willing to learn. God was always mentioned in every class and no teacher was ashamed to talk about God which is just what the school needed. I felt like I learned a lot from the teachers throughout all the years that I was there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 15, 2006

I went there for 10 years...great school. Highly recommend for quality Christian education.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 60%
Hispanic 3% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 0% 5%
Two or more races 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • CSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

820 West Blackburn Road
Mount Vernon, WA 98273
Phone: (360) 424-9157

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mount Vernon Special Ed
Mount Vernon, WA


Lincoln Elementary School
Mount Vernon, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT