Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Endeavour Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2013

Endeavour is a school with very active parent participation...VERY active. As such, the educators and administrators need to be very strict or else they get complaints from concerned parents...i.e. Bobby slipped on the playground, you need to do something about that ..response...a decree: kids are no longer allowed to run on the playground. Literally. Kids can't chase on the playground! They definitely have high standards as most of the kids come from parents of highly educated families. A small percentage are "no child left behind" children who are bussed in. They often don't fit in as stated by the " I do not encourage ur child" review below. In my opinion the principal Ann has great dedication to the school, but does not have the respect of the staff. She takes the side of the concerned parent too often and therefore doesn't stand up for the staff. As a result there has been high teacher turn over recently. Most of the teachers remaining are definitely skilled educators teaching in a great environment with highly capable kids in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

This school strives hard at academic performance, but loses something along the way. My child's self esteem has suffered significantly. I especially have to call out the principal Ann Jordon who seems to be more of a disciplinarian than an educator. If you can, enroll your child in Mukilteo Elementary school, do so!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

This is school isn't all that's it's cracked up to be. In fact, the staff are too strict with the kindergarteners and put them down when their papers aren't done perfectly. My child was so unhappy at this school that I decided to transfer my child to a different school district. At her new school she praised for her great behavior and academic skills. I wouldn't recommend sending your child to Endeavour.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

I definitely disagree with this review. Endeavour Elementary is a great school with great principal, great teachers, great staff and a very great PTA committee with parents involvement. And that's what kids need - they need to see their parents actively involve in their classroom as well as in the school. I strongly disagree with whomever commented that Endeavour staff members are mean. You have to be strong to discipline the child. Academicly, Endeavour Elementary school is doing way above state average for everything. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

Endeavour encourages academic excellence from all of its students. The environment is structured/firm yet supportive. Great teachers/staff, principal and parent involvement!.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Excellant school with lots of good teachers and very good library. One of the best feature of this school is parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

The staff members are quite mean and do not respect the kids for what they do. They accuse them for things and are very strict. I do not encourage ur child to attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

this school is the safest school in the mukilteo school district
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

Our kids have gone to this school for three years now. We have seen a deterioration in both test scores and school discipline in that time. The principal who took over two years doesn't seem to have the same philosophy as the prior strong principal. There are strong cliques among certain staff and parents, and if you aren't a part of those cliques, it can subtly affect your child's treatment. Many grade levels have class sizes that are too big. The academics are good, but this school isn't all it's cracked up to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2008

I have 3 children at this school: 5th, 2nd and K. The teachers have all been very positive, helpful and willing to communicate. We love all the parent/child activities such as the dance and the movie nights. The Principal has a great open door policy and seems very eager to connect with both kids and parents. There is always a need for parent help, but it seems many parents are willing to help out. This year is a little more crowded than the small class sizes we previously had (17-20 kids) because of the Choice Schools mandate, but everyone seems to be pitching in and doing their best to make it still work for everyone. I appreciate the extra effort the staff is making to maintain high standards in education and student expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

I have 1 child at this school and it is a fabulous school with great parent, teacher and PTA support. A lot of parent help is needed (as in most public schools), but has always been very appreciated and never taken for granted by the teachers whom I have helped. It is a high performing school in a very affluent area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

I've had two children through this school. Overall the academics are very good and the children learn quite a lot. My only comlaint would be that the staff and parents are very clicky. The staff is so used to parents volunteering it really is taken for granted. Can't remember the last time any staff greeted myself or any other parent coming in to volunteer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

I have 2 kids going through this school and I myself have been quite involved. Teachers and academics are superior! It's in an affluent area, but we have poor PTA support and we always have a tough time getting parents to volunteer for PTA sponsored events. In the past, we have been lucky to get 20-30% participation in fund raising efforts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

I have children attending this school. The academics are outstanding and my children are really excelling, while still enjoying school. My concern is the class sizes, which are way too large. Even with all the classroom parent volunteers, that is simply too many little guysto have in one classroom; they don't receive enough individual attention. Whether the responsibility for classroom sizes rests with the school, the district or the state, class sizes are too large.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2006

Great school with solid WASL test scores. I think a lot of how well the school is doing is based on Mrs. Stubbs involvement and commitment to education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2005

This is my son's 3rd year at Endeavour. I feel it is a good school overall. Parent/Teacher involvement is very good. My only criticism involves teacher turnover. So far, my son has had 3 teachers (1 for Kindergarden and a team taught 1st grade). All 3 of these teachers are now gone from the school. I don't know what to make of this, but my instinct tells me it can't be positive. I remember as an elementary student the support and comfort I felt in being able to see my teachers from years past, and many of them offering encouraging words when needed. With the turnover at Endeavour, my son won't get that same experience, and I just wonder if it points to an underlying issue involving administration and parents?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

Endeavour's the kind of school where the principal, Linda Stubbs, knows the kids by name. She runs a tight ship, makes her expectations clear and resultingly, the school is clean, quiet, efficient and safe. There is enough parent volunteerism that you will not always be needed because so many have volunteered already. It's a wonderful environment. (I'm comparing with personal knowledge, to Seattle Public, Lake Washington, Northshore and other Mukilteo School District elementary schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2004

My children have had wonderful teachers who have met their educational needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students82%
Female84%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian98%
Asian/Pacific Islander98%
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income65%
Not low income86%
Special education60%
Not special education87%
Limited English92%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female97%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian98%
Asian/Pacific Islander98%
Hispanic79%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Low income75%
Not low income96%
Special education80%
Not special education95%
Limited English83%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students86%
Female80%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income69%
Not low income92%
Special education39%
Not special education93%
Limited English77%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female86%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asian89%
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income68%
Not low income90%
Special education46%
Not special education91%
Limited English46%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students76%
Female74%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian89%
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Low income56%
Not low income83%
Special education31%
Not special education83%
Limited English46%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students83%
Female79%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian95%
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Low income71%
Not low income85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female90%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income81%
Not low income94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students77%
Female71%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian87%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income57%
Not low income82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 36% 7%
Hispanic 11% 20%
Two or more races 8% 6%
Black 4% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 114%N/A8%
Special education 112%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 223%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 21N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 69%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12300 Harbour Pointe Blvd
Mukilteo, WA 98275
Phone: (425) 366-2800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Mukilteo Academy
Mukilteo, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT