Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Columbia Elementary School 2

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
KINDERGARDEN PARENTS PLEASE READ. Horrible guidance for kindergarten students. Just horrible kindergarten program overall We got stationed in WA from Mississippi(which has the worst school district in the nation according to the government but I will gladly send my daughter back because my daughter learned more there than at Columbia)....To begin the kindergarten students only go to school for a half a day (about 3 hours) they get out of school early every other Friday 10:28am. For working parents this is a nightmare. The teaching and learning for kindergarten is mediocre at best. They DONT feed the kindergarten Breakfast or lunch.All they get is Maybe a fruit snack or some goldfish that the Parents have to provide for the whole class throughout the year. They Beg for parents volunteer on a daily basis. The academic plan for the kids are horrible. Basically the parents teach the kids they send home elaborate lesson plans for the kids to do at home and that is all they learn. They color all day.... maybe learn letters for about 15 to 20 mins a day. And after I volunteered about 5 or 6 times I realized most of the kids in the class could barely write their name or recognize basic sight words (the see). My daughter came from "the worst " school district but she can fluently read and write. The principal lacks leadership and awareness and does not take her position seriously. It's terrible and on top off all of that the kindergarten DOES NOT GRADUATE AT THE END OF THE YEAR AND NO AWARDS ARE GIVEN. They took one of The most memorable experiences for kids and strip them of it and of a half way decent education. My daughter is a quiet behaved child and she learned nothing more than what she already knew. I feel sorry for the other kids in her class. It's a poor start to their education.

Columbia Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school my children loved Kindergarten - third grade here! Teachers were great. There were no problems.


Columbia Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Always safe fun and reliable for the children. The teacher and child interaction is amazing and the staff around the whole facility is great!

Columbia Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
My children have been in Columbia for 3 years and we love it. The teachers are wonderful as are the administration staff. The few things I don't like, come down from the district, not from the school. The principal works very hard to learn every child's name. There is so much parental involvement & I always feel welcome when I come to volunteer in the classrooms or PTA events. I would recommend this school over and over again.

Columbia Elementary School 2

Posted February 07, 2013
- a parent
Mediocrity! That's what the principal of this school seem to adhere to. Does she not know that the leaders set the standards and the tone of each and every organization? Just because it looks good from the outside does not mean it is any good academically. She dresses well and the appearance of the school is great, but what is lacking is substance in this school; the programs that are implemented lack depth focus. it seems to me that they really have not thought things through and not understood what their goals were for the kids. Although I do have to say that couple of my children's teachers were pretty effective, especially the 1st grade teacher: she gave her best and expected the best from the students as well.


Columbia Elementary School 1

Posted January 17, 2013
- a parent
Very dissappointed also. Moto of this school is "Solve your own problems". If you have a child in this school you will know this fraise. Principal needs to have a conversation with her staff. ASAP please!!

Columbia Elementary School 1

Posted September 07, 2012
- a parent
Was very dissappointed in this school. My (at the time) 1st grader was reading and comprehending (per the test scores) on a 4th to 5th grade level and was told by her teacher she was only allowed to read 1st grade level books. I had to call the teacher out on this and fight for her to read books that would actually challenge her. I work full time and couldn't be in the classroom, my child was treated differently because of this by her teacher. My advice, stay away from schools in Harbour Pointe unless you are a stay at home mom who has nothing but time to dedicate to the school. Harbour Pointe has a reputation for being stuck up and pretentious for a reason. We have since moved to the Lake Stevens area and the schools are far better, first week of school and my kids have already had music class and PE. The teachers are all friendly with smiles on their face and the parents don't care what street you live on or how big your house is. LOVE it here.

Columbia Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2011
- a parent
Columbia Elementary is an amazing school! The administration staff knows my daughter by name. Her teacher and the principal are very open to parents involvement. They return calls, answer emails and are available for extras conferences after school hours if needed. The school have a great Reading Program and the teachers make the students find love for books and library. No student is left behind and no advanced student is delayed. Her teachers, in kindergarten and first grade, found out the students level and formed groups of different reading levels, which was great. They teach love, respect, responsibility and organization!


Columbia Elementary School 3

Posted August 31, 2010
- a parent
I was very dissappointed to learn that Art, Music, and PE are not introduced to the students at this school until grade 3. We came into this district for the highly rated schools but feel that this lack of exposure to specialists will effect the students desire to learn and love more about these areas.

Columbia Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent

Nearby schools

Columbia Elementary School
10520 Harbour Pointe Blvd, Mukilteo, WA  98275
(425) 366-2600
Last modified Columbia Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top