Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Olympia Community School

Private | K-5 | 28 students

 
 

GreatSchools
mobile

Finding great
schools is
now at your
fingertips »

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2011

The school's motto, "Where the love of learning grows" speaks volumes to me. OCS fosters the natural inquisitiveness every child has by personalizing their education and introducing them to new things in the community. In addition, teachers recognize that students also bring many experiences with them so students are expected to share their knowledge with their peers through workshops and presentations. The education at OCS is what every parent wants for their child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

Our two kids attend OCS and love it! The teachers are amazing and it is a really nice balance of structured academics, while teaching kids at their own pace and as individuals. We love that they aren't limited by the state testing curriculum. The kids get to help choose their theme and it is carried throughout the curriculum. Very strong reading, math, science, language arts and social studies learning. Wonderful emphasis on non-violent communication, empathy, problem solving, critical thinking, social responsibility and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

OCS provides a great sense of community and offers a child-centered and progressive model of education that really meets the needs of each student. Our teachers are great and the small, multi-grade classes allow for each child to thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

OCS is full of passion, creativity, and commitment to children and families. We are blessed to have OCS in our community.


Posted May 1, 2007

2 children at OCS, over 8+ years. K-2 for the first (now in middle school) and the second will go for full K-3. Highly recommended. First child had no trouble moving into public school (way ahead of peers in public school). Parent run, so parents must participate and, therefore, are somewhat responsible for the educational outcome. Generally a motivated peer group of students. Excellent teachers. Very good collaboration between older and younger students and teachers choose wisely as to when to teach classes separately, by age. Nearly 100% funded by tuition, which sometimes poses a challenge (parent Board must spend and save responsibly). Excellent mix of academic, artistic and social activities. After 33 years, parents in Olympia can easily consider OCS to be an important educational asset.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2006

We chose this school because our son was very emotional and shy. At OCS he really learned to come out of his shell. Similar to un-schooling in the positive aspect that what they study is very student-led, but also in the negative aspect that in the reading it seems as though they are sort of left on their own with little instruction in phonics, spelling or grammar. Their math and science though is very good, being very hands-on. Fantastic field trips, parent involvement, and sense of community. However, communication can be vague and frustrating because no one, parents or teachers, wants to say anything negative. We were unaware our child was having such difficulties in reading until shortly before they told us he shouldn't come back the next year because of it. Then they were unwilling to put that statement in writing but wouldn't tell us why.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

Our two children both attended OCS, between 2000 and 2006. The academic program is terrific with a high degree of parent involvement. Some parents who only see it as a good full time Kindergarten option, but many others who recognize it for the exceptional K-3 school it is. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Our son and daughter both attended OCS in mid-1990s. At that time, at least, it was an exceptionally good academic and social experience for all. Both children excelled far beyond the public schools, both learned to enjoy and appreciate learning, and much more. One key strength in that school lies in putting various ages within a single class room. It has phenomenal results for the younger AND the older students, as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 7%
Black 4% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hispanic 0% 20%
Two or more races 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 12436
Olympia, WA 98508
Website: Click here
Phone: (360) 866-8047

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Serendipity Academy
Tumwater, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT