Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Orting, WA
Students enrolled: 761
 

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

13 reviews of this school


Orting High School 4

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Orting HS has a very "small" atmosphere yet big ideas that are accomplished with goals set at the beginning of each school year. The students are all in all friendly and up beat. I enjoy the staff very much.

Orting High School
no rating

Posted November 07, 2009
- a parent
it's a good school with great teachers and staff


Orting High School 5

Posted January 25, 2009
- a parent
My son has been at OHS for two years now. He has some 'issues' that are taken very seriously by all staff. The Director of Special Needs Children is phenomenal! My son's grades have gone from failing almost all classes to a 3.6! What does that tell you that are considering having your children attend OHS. OHS has the best staff and communication of ANY school I have attended or had any of my five children attend. GREAT SCHOOL!

Orting High School 4

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
I have 2 children in OHS. I like the school. I really like the staff. I know there are things that can be improved upon as with any school. I am also tired of parents complain because they don't know what's going on with their child. They have family access here. I can for check grades and missing work online. Any time I have contacted a teacher (by phone or email), they are more than willing to work with me to help my children get better. Parents are just as important in their childrens education as the schools.

Orting High School 2

Posted April 03, 2008
- a student
This school has gotten really bad over the past couple of years. There is no discipline and no leadership. The school is so overcrowded.


Orting High School 2

Posted January 07, 2007
- a parent
Totally disgusted with the school. We have lost a lot of good teachers and the new administration is lousy. In comparing other schools, Orting schools are way behind. If your child is in sports he/she should do well, if not, expect problems. Special Education department is terribly inept. Great after school activities for younger kids, not much for teenagers. Great parent involvement for Junior/Seniors and sporting events. I encourage you to evaluate the type of education you want for your child before making this decision.

Orting High School 3

Posted May 14, 2006
- a parent
In the process of significant staff turn-over. Losing best teachers. Sad.

Orting High School 3

Posted January 14, 2006
- a parent
All four of my children are recently enrolled in the orting school district and I have some concerns. The schools are great when it comes to sports and giving the kids extra things to do after school. The teachers need to work on keeping the parents up to date on what the students are doing. The students seem to be running the school more than the staff are and I think that has something to do with why the district is running so far behind. If you rate where our students are in comparison to other schools and how the students are doing Orting district is way behind. That is the main concern.


Orting High School 4

Posted November 29, 2005
- a parent
The quality of programs is decent, not the best but it is good. The availability of extracurricular activities is outstanding. They offer great sports programs where the kids can excel and show their talents. The level of parent involvement is okay. Not many parents of the underclassmen in the school care much. But parents of Senior class students have excellent participation. Discipline at Orting is kind of slack, they allow the students to basically run the school themselves, which in my opinion is kind of upsetting. Overall it is a great school and I am glad that my son is there.

Orting High School 5

Posted September 11, 2005
- a parent
What a great place to be!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Orting High School
320 Washington Ave North, Orting, WA  98360
(360) 893-2246
Last modified Orting High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Orting High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top