Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Orting Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 530 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2010

I went to this school for awhile although I will admit I was rebellious in those days I would still like to say there were far too many rules which caused the students to feel hostile towards most figures of authority because rules that most would consider dumb were enforced to the letter such as no hats inside many students would become fed up and more than a few hated the middle school itself and there was always a hostile attitude towards the building and certain teachers and from what I know it's no better this year
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2009

I'm not sure I could agree that the teachers and staff care about the students. After the three years that my children were in the school, it was apparent that there was no attempt to know them. Not even their teachers could correctly pronounce their names during the end-of-year awards ceremonies. In fact, my son even had his name spelled incorrectly on his award. That's just inexcusable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

My wife and I recently took our children out of Orting Schools and now home-schooling. We found that most of the teaching cirruculum used at the school was less than adequate and were very dissapointed with the method math was being taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2008

My wife and I know the funding situation in Orting School District is a challenge, as it is with most districts. We applaud the principal and his staff for their perseverence in making all efforts to provide our students a worthwhile, valuable learning experience at Orting Middle School. We appreciate that our students enjoy going to Orting and feel safe and cared about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2008

The Principal and the staff are outstanding. Lots of different activities are offered to the students, like Band, Choir, Novel Days, Fieldtrips, Battle of the Books, Knowledge Bowl, Challenger Proram, Honors Badge, Student of the Month, Movie Day, Blue Ribbon Breakfast, 6th grade camp, various sports and much more.The teachers are involved in school activities beyond their classroom. They care about the students. Everybody is excited about moving into the new Middle School this summer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2008

I started teaching at Orting Middle School last year and I have been impressed by the awesome staff that I have to work with. They really want what is best for kids, so I was shocked by some of the other reviews. We are so very excited because we will be moving into a new facility next school year and I know that can only improve the school climate for all of us. There have been a number of changes in staff and curriculum in the last couple of years and our test scores are on the rise. OMS is really a great place for kids and a wonderful place to work.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 21, 2007

i luv this school we have the best education your kids could ever need and it still has that small town feel!!! our teachers our great and know how to discipline students without going over the top!!! Im going into the my last year at OMS and i couldnt go to a better school! No its not a private fancy school with uniforms but i think uniforms dont let kids express their personality!!! Ive gone to Orting Schools since i was in kindergarden and ive never missed a day in two years and i got one B this past year and the rest were all A's!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2007

Completely shocked! This school is so far behind the other schools in the area that it is sickening. Everyone is accepted for after school sports because only a handful of kids try out. The level of education is so bad the our children are excelling because they are 2 grades ahead of everyone else attending Orting. After touring the school we also found the conditions of the classroom in less the desirable conditions. Not very health.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

Special Education academic programs do not exist at the Orting Middle School.Sped instructor has no program and requires assistance.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students51%
Female52%
Male49%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic34%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White51%
Low income37%
Not low income61%
Special education0%
Not special education56%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female75%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic62%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Low income61%
Not low income73%
Special education30%
Not special education72%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students53%
Female58%
Male49%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White52%
Low income45%
Not low income58%
Special education30%
Not special education58%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female89%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic61%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low income69%
Not low income79%
Special education44%
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students66%
Female83%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic59%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income50%
Not low income75%
Special education22%
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students38%
Female38%
Male39%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic53%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White36%
Low income30%
Not low income42%
Special education7%
Not special education44%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students69%
Female80%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic74%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income56%
Not low income75%
Special education46%
Not special education73%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students66%
Female71%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic63%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income49%
Not low income75%
Special education25%
Not special education73%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students72%
Female78%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Low incomen/a
Not low income67%
Special educationn/a
Not special education72%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 63%
Hispanic 10% 18%
Two or more races 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Asian 1% 7%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 135%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 21%N/A8%
Special education 214%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 19N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 13N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 71%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

111 Whitehawk Blvd NW
Orting, WA 98360
Phone: (360) 893-3565

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT