Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shaw Road Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 546 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2014

Student to teacher ratio 34:1 in my child's 3rd grade class. Lack of accountability to provide a stress free learning environment as there seems to be drama/ bullying that has not been delt with effectively from the top down. School yard Duties have little tolerance and on more than 5 occasions have heard about these people yelling at kids. We personally have seen a deterioration in our child's work through out the year. So far, not what we expected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

My son has ASD (autism spectrum disorder) . This school and their staff have been great. They really care about the students and their families. I am very proud of the progress that my child has made in the 3 years he has attended Shaw Road elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Both our sons go to this school and have been there for over 5 years. The teaching is excellent and the discipline is perfect. If at all there are any issues, it is because the parents of the affected kids are not giving enough time or attention to the children there. Parental involvement is critical, plenty of parents participate so regularly that there are not enough spots left to volunteer. Although categorized as minorities , we have enjoyed this school and the teachers and the learning process. The Principal is excellent and very involved in everything and takes parental advice very well. We shall miss her when she moves on after this school year. The AP program is superb and feel very fortunate that we have been able to participate in it. This school is an overlooked asset to this community and Puyallup in general.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2013

Shaw Road continues to provide a positive and safe learning environment for our child. I am surprised to read others negative reviews of this school because Shaw Road has exceeded our expectations and I have never had anything negative to say about it. My child is engaged and happy here. The teachers are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

It is unfortunate that we chose this school for our kids. Without exception, this is the most disturbing experience my wife and I have witness in regards to the curriculum, attitude of the principle, and certain staff members. As a concern parent I highly suggest and discourage any parent to choose Shaw Road Elementary as a tool to education, motivate, and provide a continuously learning environment. If you want to submit to a faculty preconceived opinions, defensive disposition, and superiority complex, I would think carefully before enrolling your child/children in this school especially, if you are moving in from another location and are a not native of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

If you want your child to be challenged this is not the school. I agree with the other parent. If you've recently relocated to this area and your children came from a prep, traditional or advance education school this is not the school for you. I am very dissapointed in many areas and unfortunately it starts at the top: The Principal is not open to a parent view of what is best for their child. My husband and I was promised a meeting with our child's teacher, this never happened. Some of the teachers takes it personal if you - the parent- question them on things like extra homework. I was told " go and get work books if i wanted more homework' !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

The principal there, Ms. Piger, is fantastic. She takes the kindergarteners two at a time to read to at the beginning of the year and then at the end of the year she has them read to her! She has brought an openness and caring to Shaw that is rare these days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

I have had children at Shaw Road now for the past 5 years. This year they have a new principal (as of 9/08) and she seems very good. Overall, the teachers are compassionate and helpful. The one time I did have problems with a teacher I felt the principal at the time handled it very well. Would recommend to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

The teachers are great! The complaints others have about the doors are for safety reasons and the staff has been awesome. My son is only 5 and can read everything. I very impressed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

Our family is new to the area, and I'm not impressed. most of the staff that I have met are ornery and quick to snap. They only have certain doors that your allowed to go in through, but they don't inform new parents and there is no sign out. They take Wednesday afternoons off so PM kindergartners have to go to the AM classed. Like weekends and summers aren't enough time off. I'm going to homeschool next year because they are behind and my child is getting bored. His teacher is nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

My son attended shaw rd in the 03/04 school year and I was very happy. However several teachers were let go due to budget cuts and a new principle is in place. There are still many good teachers present, but overall I am not pleased with the new structure and am very disappointed in the unemotional decision making. I always feel that the chilrden should come first and not strict policy. I have not been pleased with the school for the 04/05 year and am looking to switch.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students68%
Female68%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income63%
Not low income69%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female88%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income81%
Not low income87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students85%
Female79%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income71%
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female88%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income79%
Not low income93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students81%
Female82%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income79%
Not low income81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students90%
Female89%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income82%
Not low income93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female79%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income71%
Not low income84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students85%
Female81%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income77%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students82%
Female79%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income60%
Not low income87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female86%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income80%
Not low income87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 60%
Two or more races 12% 6%
Hispanic 11% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 14%N/A8%
Special education 116%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 224%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 11N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 73%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1106 Shaw Rd
Puyallup, WA 98372
Phone: (253) 841-8675

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT