Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Redmond High School 2

Posted May 30, 2016
- a community member
Two reasons for an unfavorable review. 1) RHS has gotten too big to manage – academic example: they send you a letter asking if you are interested in something, but when you follow-up with them, they have no idea why they sent it, what classes it is referring to, or what action the parents should take. 2) sports – the coaches have absolved themselves of wanting to teach the kids. They are looking for ‘natural talents’ who can take them to State or their desired competition. It has nothing to do w/ the kids anymore. All Coach-ego based. The drop in Great Schools score is an indication of the downward trend of this school and it will continue until Superintendent starts directing attention towards this school.

Redmond High School 3

Posted November 07, 2014
- a parent
A school with an attitude. We've had two children go through Redmond High, and are soon to have a third. Perhaps the best way to describe the environment is to say that it seems like a bunch of freelancers. Teacher quality is generally good, but sometimes teachers seem to be on their own path altogether, without feeling answerable to anyone. And we had the very unpleasant experience of having explicit, written parent instructions overridden by an associate principal, leading to a devastating consequence. One of our children had a 504 plan, and when I learned that none of his teachers was aware of it, I spoke with the 504 coordinator. He told me it "wasn't his job to make teachers aware of the 504." Essentially, it was mine. So if you have kids with special needs, be prepared to be a very assertive advocate.


Redmond High School 2

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
Bellevue or Issaquah schools, in that order, are much better. Fewer police looming with drug-sniffing dogs, which are a buzzkill. Huge and generic, noisy and factory-like. If you avoid it - do so.

Redmond High School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a student
Our school is ranked amongst the best in it's variety of courses, best educational experience, and most greenest campus amongst the nation's schools, making it to the elite lists of these topics. Our school has not yet made it to the top yet, so let's help it make it there!

Redmond High School 5

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
I've spent most of my childhood moving from school to school, my price to pay was my actual education. Moving to Redmond caused a dramatic turn from the path that I had been following. My grades rose, my social life flourished, and home problems seemed to disappear. The school itself provides a wonderful atmosphere for the kids that attend. The teachers work very hard, actually care about their students, and Love what they do. I've never seen a student who has had trouble (of any type)be unable to approach a teacher, to ask a counselor, or to even go to a fellow student for help. As for programs and departments, RHS is strong in just about every department. It offers a wide range of programs and extracurricular activities for the students, and mostly by the students. Teachers encourage students to be active, and the kids oblige, making this school strong.


Redmond High School 5

Posted October 08, 2008
- a student
Please, please send your kids to this school! I also attended Eastlake HS for my senior year, trust me Redmond has better prepared me for college than any other school BY FAR! This school is nurturing and sets high standards which most students achieve. Staff and teachers are WONDERFUL, you won't find better teachers or a better education at any other school in the area. Students are friendly and accepting, and I always felt welcome there.

Redmond High School
no rating

Posted July 17, 2008
- a student
Dispite the problems that the administration has had, it has undergone some incredible change. With the new change all i see is improvment. My time spent as a student was mostly spent slacking off and thinking of better things to do. But when I can still walk into any class room and have the teachers remeber me, that has to mean somthing about how much they care; Even about the students that do slack off (such as myself) Now I would like to draw a spot light on one very special teacher to me, Mr. Robertson, also known as Ert. In my sophmore year he not only was in charge of the band program, but the ASB, the concention stand, and anouncments at football games. He was the only teacher that I actualy looked forward to his classes. He is so devoted to his personal life suffers cause of it

Redmond High School 5

Posted June 23, 2008
- a parent
I think that RHS really provides an excellent education for those who are motivated enough to take advantage of its Honors/AP courses. It has more AP courses than most private schools and the new principal has really worked hard to create a good environment for learning.


Redmond High School 5

Posted June 23, 2008
- a parent
I think that RHS really provides an excellent education for those who are motivated enough to take advantage of its Honors/AP courses. It has more AP courses than most private schools and the new principal has really worked hard to create a good environment for learning.

Redmond High School 4

Posted January 08, 2008
- a parent
I have a son with an IEP in Redmond's Special Ed Program - The teachers in this program are dedicated and work tirelessly to get these kids through High School. Kathleen Lee has personally nurtured my son's education throughout High School at Redmond. Her personal dedication has provided him with the tools necessary to suceed, she has definitely been the difference between him becoming a productive member of society.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Redmond High School
17272 NE 104th, Redmond, WA  98052
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (425) 498-7130
Last modified Redmond High School is a Public school that serves grades 10-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top