Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Albert Einstein Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 49 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

Einstein is the best school my kids have attended till now. This school has some exceptionally talented and hard working teachers. Both my kids got an opportunity to work well ahead of their grade levels in Math and English. Through the variance program my kids got an opportunity to move to a 10/10 school nearby, but we discovered that the learning in Einstein was way better than most other school. We chose to stay on right uptill grade 5 and it was the best decision ever. It provides a warm and nurturing environment for kids. I highly recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2014

My son attends Kindergarten this year and we have many neighbors who attend Einstein in varying grades. Consensus seems to be that they desperately search for faults in the kids whether they are excelling or struggling. I get that they focus on improvement but these are kids need positive reinforcement. My child has gotten high marks (3.5-4/4) across the board on his report cards and from seeing his homework, he is well above grade level. Every time we have gone in for conference, his teacher wants to discuss his weaknesses and he walks out feeling pretty down on himself. My son is very sociable and loves reading and writing and math and science but he's not a fan of school and I don't blame him. We are moving this summer just to get out of this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

This is an excellent school. The staff and principal work seamlessly with parents and the community to make this a caring, loving place for students. I feel privileged to be able to be a part of this school community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

Einstein is a remarkable school and I have been more and more pleased with the quality of education my children have received every year they have attended. These teachers bend over backwards and are obviously passionate to teach to the individual student, not the tests. They are OVER involved in after school activities and family events because they CARE. I am so sad to see such a libelous comment previously written about these committed and caring teachers and devoted principal. Not only does highly trained Einstein staff deliver top notch differentiated instruction, but students also get to learn and experience the invaluable lessons of diversity, acceptance and respect, as this school is a small, but realistic taste, of the real world. Excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

I would not recommend this school to a parent who wants his child to learn something. Very low level of teaching. Weak trained teachers and the principal's attitude is not for the benefit of students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

Einstein is a great school , we are very happy with our choice. Great teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

Einstein is a remarkable school and as parents we are very happy with our choice. Great teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2013

Einstein is one of the best schools I have ever know. The teachers are incredible, the principal is excellent and the school has an incredible spirit. I am so glad my girls went to Einstein and would highly recommend it for any other familiy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2013

Einstein is an excellent school. It gets dinged on these mechanical assessment systems because, unlike most of the district, it has a diverse student body that includes various socio-economic levels and a significant number of immigrants. Don't be fooled. The kids are kind, well-behaved, and there to learn. The teachers are hard working, and strive to make sure every kid is challenged, regardless of what level they are starting from. For my money, Einstein provides richer experience for my sons, without giving anything up academically. The proof for me is that more than one neighboring family that has petitioned to have their kids switch to one of the "10"-rated elementary schools nearby has had them back at Einstein within a year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2012

Great school with great teachers.I am very happy my child is attending Einstein elementary. Teachers, principal, all staff is very much included in school activities. It is very bad that such a great school has so little rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

Einstein was a successful school community for my son. He had caring well qulaified teachers who both challenged him and helped him succeed when he needed remediation. The mulitcultural school climate gave him a golabal perspective and fostered in him an appreciation for all cultures. Einstein prepared my son for Junior High and future learning. I am so glad we chose Einstein for his elementary education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

Both of my children attended Einstein until the district boundaries were redrawn. The school has amazing, dedicated teachers that work as a team. Due to the leadership and cooperation amongst the staff, parents are happily involved at Einstein. Unique events hosted by teachers and parents bring the community of Einstein together. The unity and cultural diversity is unique and to be celebrated at this school. We miss what we found at Einstein.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

I love this school and new principal so much that I m still volunteering 6 years after my kids have left. My daughter started at Wilder and transferred to Einstein for 5th and 6th grades. We were worried at first, but it was the best move. We finally felt needed and appreciated as volunteer and Katie loved her teachers. My son was in one of the first classes to go all the way through, he also loved all his teachers. If you have a choice, go to Einstein.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

Its sad that people rate this school the way they do because it is awesome. There is nothing we dislike about this school. The students, the teachers, and the parents are awesome. We care a lot about challenging our kids and we feel that this school can totally meet the needs of advanced kids. Plus, there are kids from all over the world at this school which makes it so much better of a school to attend than a place where all the kids are from the same ethnic group.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

Einstein has incredible parent participation. This is the part we like. The parents help bring a sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

We moved here in the middle of the year in 2nd grade and his teachers were very helpful and understanding. He didn't miss a beat. The first day of third grade, his teacher, Ms. Hemingway taught the class the word ""quintessential". They really challenge students there and I'm frankly surprised their rating isn't much higher. In the five different schools my son has been to, this is his and my favorite. They make learning fun which is difficult and relate to the kids without patronizing or diminishing them. I can't say enough about them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2008

Einstein is a great school. The teachers are excellent and caring. The principal is super involved and really goes out of his way to care for the kids and the overall school environment. My daughter does speak of a class bully or two, but overall we're very fortunate to have such a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

We are delighted with our experience at Einstein. Each one of my daughter's teachers has been creative, kind and effective. Terrific music/choir program, active PTA, fun family activities, the principal knows every student by name. We love the multi-ethnic, multi-lingual population and the celebration of differences. A poster in the library contains a quote from Einstein: 'How I wish that somewhere there existed an island for those who are wise and of goodwill!' This school is such an island!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2006

I am a former student and the teachers were great but the principle was almost never seen .
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 10, 2006

There is a great parent involment at this school. Although the students may be a little roudy, the academic is great. There are not a lot of sports at this school, though.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students81%
Female77%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic68%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income70%
Not low income92%
Special education57%
Not special education87%
Limited English53%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female86%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income67%
Not low income90%
Special education43%
Not special education87%
Limited English33%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students50%
Female46%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic32%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Low income29%
Not low income71%
Special education23%
Not special education56%
Limited English19%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female63%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic52%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Low income47%
Not low income82%
Special education31%
Not special education71%
Limited English38%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students56%
Female56%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income40%
Not low income73%
Special education23%
Not special education63%
Limited English33%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students66%
Female69%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic38%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income45%
Not low income83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education69%
Limited English15%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female86%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asian85%
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic62%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Low income66%
Not low income90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited English23%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students81%
Female81%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic62%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Low income63%
Not low income95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited English39%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 60%
Hispanic 35% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 7%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 127%N/A8%
Special education 115%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 249%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 13N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 9N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 66%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Melissa Pointer

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18025 NE 116th
Redmond, WA 98052
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 936-2540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT