Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Talbot Hill Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 492 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2014

An out of the box thinking school. Teaching kids "real world" skills to help them solve real world situations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2013

My daughter has been going to Talbot Hill for the past four years. During this time, she's had terrific teachers that I feel really pour everything into helping all their students learn their best. The school maintains a safe and respectful environment. The Microsociety program is interesting and I feel is more beneficial for the older kids especially. If you child has the opportunity, then they should at least run for student government. It's a good learning experience. The PTA is super active and many other parents volunteer time to help out in the classrooms. Talbot Hill is also one of two Renton school district elementary schools with the Discovery Program classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2013

Our two daughters attend Talbot Hill Elementary School. From K through 3rd this school has been outstanding and we expect the excellence to continue in grades 4 and 5. The faculty and administrators are top notch. Mr. Hanson (1st grade) and Ms. Hutt (2nd grade) deserve special mention because their passion for teaching and love for the students creates an enthralling learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

My husband and I are both local business owners in Renton and we debated on sending our children to Talbot Hill because we always dreamed of sending our kids to a private Christian school. I am so happy we gave Talbot Hill a chance because I am very impressed by my kids' level of learning and progress that they achieved in one year. The Microsociety program is a FANTASTIC program that I feel more schools should offer. Not sure what the fuss is all about and why parents would ever question a program that would benefit their child's future. My husband and I loved being a part of a Microsociety school because our children learned a great deal about how the real world operates. They are ending the year with the basic understanding of how our postal system, currency, economy, & government works. As a business owner, I appreciate that my kids are learning things other than dinosaurs and addition. I love the innovative and creativity that goes into making learning FUN! Makes my heart smile! Big shout out to Ms. Teung and Ms. Hennessy for being such great leaders and role models. A school is what you make it, parents. Be active, present, and involved and your child will inevitably succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

If you really care about your child's safety and emotional health, then don't send your child here. I failed my baby terribly by sending him here after I found out what was happening. The principle doesn't care. The micro society is a strange thing that I didn't see much benefit to. There are other more efficient ways of having students learn. At such a young age, the bullying my child experienced has left a scare too deep. It's been few years and he still remembers and talks about it with hurt. He also talks about how his teacher and principle didn't protect him. He went to another school finally to learn how a good school operates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I was really excited when my daughter started at this school in 2nd grade, since then I have had my bubble popped. Their MicroSociety program is the highlight of the school and pretty much the focus. The parents seem to work really hard on getting and making money for this program, but there is no real learning in it for the kids. It sounds like a really interesting project, but they put so much of their effort into it instead of reading and math skills which are lacking in this school. They really need to drop the program and concentrate on what is important. I have not been impressed with the teachers either, but her 3rd grade teacher was excellent. Ms. Billings cares. She provided an after school tutoring which changed my daughter's reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2005

Best school my child has ever attended. It has the Microsociety Program & the Discovery Program for gifted children. My son enjoyed being in both. The teachers are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2005

Wonderful school - very active parent body and most of the teacher's are very interested in helping student's learn. Their accelerated program is wonderful. By far, the best elementary school around Seattle that I've found.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2005

Talbot Hill Elementary is a fantastic school! I recommend it to all parents. My son has enjoyed his time in Talbot Hill for the past 2 years, has made huge strides in academic and social achievement, and looks forward to going to school each and every day. The teachers at Talbot treat their students with respect, giving them challenges as well as help them when they run into difficulties. The Microsociety program is a fantastic way for children at this age to understand life in the real world, and to help them cope with everything as they grow into adulthood. I honestly cannot say enough about the positive elements of this school. Our family will not leave the district until my son graduates from Talbot as we want him to experience this enviornment for as long as he is able.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2005

This is a great public school! The Micro Society program is a wonderful experience for the children, teaching them great life skills. The school is very well organized and well run. The staff is very helpful and appears to really enjoy their work. The Discovery Program is far and above anything I've ever experienced with our children. The challenges it presents to the kids and the opportunities for them to learn and grow are wonderful. The tools they have to work with are amazing and the teachers in the Discovery Program are definitely top notch. My only wish was that the program, both Micro Society and Discovery went through Middle School!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students64%
Female71%
Male55%
Blackn/a
Asian63%
Asian/Pacific Islander65%
Hispanic53%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Low income57%
Not low income73%
Special educationn/a
Not special education69%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female82%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian67%
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanic73%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income74%
Not low income82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education79%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students76%
Female70%
Male84%
Black60%
Asian94%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income63%
Not low income83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female89%
Male84%
Black80%
Asian97%
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Low income75%
Not low income92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students77%
Female84%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asian84%
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income65%
Not low income83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students54%
Female59%
Male49%
Black47%
Asian65%
Asian/Pacific Islander65%
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Low income34%
Not low income75%
Special education29%
Not special education60%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female82%
Male57%
Black65%
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income54%
Not low income88%
Special education29%
Not special education79%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students59%
Female68%
Male49%
Black47%
Asian70%
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic42%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Low income42%
Not low income78%
Special education29%
Not special education66%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 28% 7%
White 27% 60%
Black 19% 5%
Hispanic 16% 20%
Two or more races 8% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 119%N/A8%
Special education 111%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 247%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 14N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 63%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • SHERYL DUNTON

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2300 Talbot Rd South
Renton, WA 98055
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 204-4900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT