Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Seattle, WA
Students enrolled: 473

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Woodland Elementary School 3

Posted October 05, 2012
- a parent
This school works really well when you're lucky enough to get a good teacher/classroom placement for your child's needs. If not, the principal will listen to your concerns but will not make any changes in student placement. It takes a lot of parent effort to get help in a struggling classroom. The principal seems more concerned with how the school looks on paper than in the individual needs of the students. The principal allowed a very poor performing kindergarten teacher to continue to be in the classroom for way too long. Parents had to fight really hard to get a poorly performing second grade teacher to leave. Many of the classrooms are multiage, with K/1, 3/4, and 4/5 classes, which can be good or bad, depending on your child. Good PTA, good community. The Kid's Inc. program is the best school age program we have ever seen. Hats off to them for their care of our children.

West Woodland Elementary School 5

Posted June 28, 2012
- a parent
Great place, excellent (mainly) teachers & staff. My daughter loved it here (she just 'graduated' 5th grade). Kids Inc is also a much-needed gem, with great staff.


West Woodland Elementary School 2

Posted May 09, 2012
- a parent
We've been at West Woodland for two years, first and second grades. First grade was amazing, completely due to the fact that our son had a fantastic teacher. Second grade, however, has been a real struggle. The homework assignments he is receiving now, in May, are exactly the same as the assignments he received in September. There have been no projects, investigations, or deviation from busywork the entire school year. The teacher seems to primarily be focused on maintaining discipline and squelching creativity. I think she means well, but is either burned out or out of her depth, I'm not sure which. Our interactions with the principal have been disheartening as well. We felt like our concerns and frustrations have been dismissed, at the expense of our child's learning environment. Furthermore, rather than addressing the teacher's shortcomings, the burden of blame has been placed on us. The few bright spots include that one first grade teacher, and the other families who invest a great amount of time into their children and the school. We also appreciate the staff at the attached childcare center, Kids Inc. However, we are excited to be transferring to Salmon Bay next year.

West Woodland Elementary School 4

Posted October 22, 2010
- a parent
We have been at West Woodland for four years and had the most amazing, creative wonderful teachers for those early grades. Unfortunately, the upper level teachers are very inconsistent--you are really rolling the dice which is unfortunate for the older grades especially after having such a great experience in the younger grades. The Spanish program is a weak spot. The principal is very dedicated, very involved and works really hard. The PTA is strong and inclusive.

West Woodland Elementary School 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
West Woodland Elementary cares about every child. The parents and staff at West Woodland commit every resource they have within themselves and their community to the education of each child. Every child experiences the feeling of family and community. The students learn about respect and caring every day. The PTA at West Woodland works very hard to keep programs like art, music and language as priorities along with the general curriculum. West Woodland Elementary received Governor Gregoire's award for school of distinction. We love West Woodland Elementary!


West Woodland Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2009
- a parent
My son has been at West Woodland for two years and he loves it. My son has learned so much in being in Ms Manley's class. It is a great class for learning subjects as well as having good behavior towards others. The teachers have been very supportive and communicate with me often, whether his behavior is good or bad. I truly loved Math nights. It was so much fun to have fifth graders teaching me math games. Janet Meyer

West Woodland Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

West Woodland Elementary School 2

Posted March 20, 2009
- a parent
Do not be fooled by the one single award the school has received. This is a very traditional, discipline-driven school where individuality is discouraged, and bad (very bad) teachers are protected by a pro-teacher principal, and parents concerns are ignored. True, the PTA is great, but ultimately powerless against a principal and hard-line teachers (particularly in the upper grades) who should retire, because it's obvious they don't enjoy teaching or children. The principal is a huge problem and simply will not put kids first--it's the teachers all the way. If you want a truly loving, supportive environment that values individuality, and you care about the self-esteem of your child, look elsewhere. We left for another school and are glad we did.


West Woodland Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2007
- a parent
We've been at West Woodland for 2 years. We switched to this school from another school and are very happy. The teachers are great, the parent involvement is amazing, the principle is wonderful, the kids are happy. The activities are terrific. Excellent school.

West Woodland Elementary School 5

Posted November 01, 2007
- a parent
We have been at West Woodland for 4 years with two children there. It has been a great school for my kids. We love the community, the emphasis on high academic standards and the caring community. We have found the principal responsive and of the 6 teachers we have had 5 have been truly outstanding and inspiring. All teachers have welcomed parent involvement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Woodland Elementary School
5601 4 Av NW, Seattle, WA  98107
(206) 252-1600
Last modified West Woodland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Woodland Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top