Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Whitman Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 958 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 4, 2014

I like it at Whitman, there are plenty of electives and afterschool activities and sports! I am a student there and do not understand why other recent reviewers would say there is no activities at all, it has more activities then most other schools I toured. The kids there are friendly and I like all my teachers, sometimes administrative staff can favor different groups of students and forget to discipline those groups but this happens rarely. I think people only rate Whitman so bad because of its reputation, it is truly not a bad school and I look forward to continuing my education there because I have learned a lot since I started going there.


Posted October 18, 2013

It's truly an awful school... We on the tour in my sons 4th grade year, and it sounded great. That was back in 2010. The principal seemed great and there was lots of elective choices. He started in 2012 and it was awful. Staff Do not care, people are rude, extremely overcrowded. My Child learned the most sexual and awful things in 6th grade. Awful test scores, needed two tutors for grade-level math because they simply do not teach it. No electives/ after school activities. I mean None. My child faced awful bullying and came home in tears. The principal did not stay and neither did any staff members for over a semester. Everyone leaves. There is no science, all they do is Advisory (greetings) only three labs in 6th grade year. Zero field trips because they can not afford it. LA was okay, but nothing great. There is 15 portables because of the size. Bathrooms were gross. By 7th grade we moved schools, and now he is way behind. Thanks a lot Whitman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2012

If you want your child to learn math, don't send them to this school. There's a tremendous amount of homeschooling/tutoring in math, because Whitman just doesn't teach it. Students have to "discover" it. The LA department is great. Science is non-existent. Yes, there are good teachers to support, but their administration does not. The administration specializes in how to say "We can't help" in bureaucratic language. You have to work around them and so we do. But they have been aware of the problems in their math program for years and have failed to correct it. Principal is great with administration, but she couldn't lead her way out of a paper bag. I am a parent who is very involved in the Whitman community. I have been tremendously disappointed. Good music program though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2011

I went to this school in 6th and 7th grade (Not 8th grade because I moved) and this is by far the best Middle school I have been in. The teachers do really care, and a my teacher specifically helped me become better at math, which might I add I wasnt so good at. Well I moved to Tacoma and now go to Giaudrone Middle school (3 out of 10 stars in great school grade) and I didn't know I had such an amazing life in Seattle until I moved to Tacoma. Now I feel as if I dont have a future at this school because the teachers are intelligent and they do push your thinking but they stray from topics. They start talking about their own life which is nice that they are open about telling their current whereabouts of they're family but please I just want to learn. Giaudrone made me realize that Whitman is one of the best middle schools ever. Our teachers striked for weeks on end when we should have been studying and I lost all those weeks worth of review. (Yeah I said it everything at Giaudrone is a review nothing new) I do highly recommend Whitman for it's safe neighborhoods and caring teachers, but if your looking for an art or sports school this isn't it. This school is more about the brains.


Posted July 22, 2009

I love Whitman! I'm going into the 8th grade. I couldn't ask for a better school. It may not seem like the safest neighborhood, but Mr. Starosky (principle) and all other staff keep everything in order.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2009

My son started 6th grade this year at Whitman and overall we've been very happy with it. There are many dedicated, hard working staff members, the principal is wonderful, parent involvement is strong and there is a unity in working to make it a great school. It is scheduled to be torn down and rebuilt in a couple years which is way overdue but don't overlook the good things happening inside this old, dingy building!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

I love this school. My daughter graduated this year. She loved all three years. And she loves the principle (curent) mr.Starosky. He helps out alot. Wow i reccomend this school a 10!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

This year at Whitman we have a new principal who has shown great pride and commitment to the school. The parents and teachers are very happy with the results. The PTSA parent involvement is growing and parents are excited about what is happeining at the school, from Writers Workshop to CMP3 math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2007

Our 7th-grader enjoys Whitman and the school is improving under a strong principal. Students are now separated by grade, each with its own counselor, 6th grade students get a taste of all elective programs, overall number of students is declining, teachers are enhancing their skills by working in teams. Diverse student body, generally positive environment, reasonably good parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2006

Not helpful to twice exceptional kids. My daughter is gifted and learning disabled. This school was not practive in assisting her. The after-school program coordinator is wonderful though.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted November 2, 2005

Very disappointed that they eliminated jazz band this year. Although there is a music program, it has been effectively dismantled in the last few years to give way for more 'academic' subjects or to make room for P.E.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2004

Absolutely no compliance to State or Federal standards when it comes to Special Ed. Spiders and dirt reported by students over the course of several years. Fountains finally shut down because of unsafe drinking water. School district culture, not just personalities, are responsible for this.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

326 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

325 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

325 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students76%
Female81%
Male72%
Black41%
Asian73%
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanic54%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income47%
Not low income89%
Special education37%
Not special education83%
Limited English29%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female86%
Male69%
Black57%
Asian77%
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanic54%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income53%
Not low income87%
Special education46%
Not special education81%
Limited English33%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students76%
Female83%
Male70%
Black38%
Asian90%
Asian/Pacific Islander87%
Hispanic54%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income53%
Not low income87%
Special education42%
Not special education81%
Limited English7%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female82%
Male66%
Black33%
Asian86%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income50%
Not low income85%
Special education54%
Not special education77%
Limited English7%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students75%
Female86%
Male63%
Black25%
Asian97%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income52%
Not low income85%
Special education55%
Not special education78%
Limited English0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students75%
Female82%
Male69%
Black45%
Asian90%
Asian/Pacific Islander87%
Hispanic51%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income47%
Not low income86%
Special education17%
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female89%
Male74%
Black55%
Asian89%
Asian/Pacific Islander87%
Hispanic59%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income62%
Not low income89%
Special education17%
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students78%
Female84%
Male72%
Black48%
Asian89%
Asian/Pacific Islander87%
Hispanic54%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income58%
Not low income86%
Special education48%
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students75%
Female83%
Male68%
Black63%
Asian85%
Asian/Pacific Islander81%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial56%
Native Americann/a
White81%
Low income63%
Not low income82%
Special education60%
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Low incomen/a
Not low income100%
Not special education100%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 63%
Asian 13% 7%
Hispanic 11% 18%
Black 9% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 127%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 25%N/A8%
Special education 211%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 20N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 13N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 58%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9201 15 Av NW
Seattle, WA 98117
Phone: (206) 252-1200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. John School
Seattle, WA


Wexford School
Seattle, WA


Salmon Bay School
Seattle, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT