Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


60 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Orca (Columbia) 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
Orca is an alternative public school that gives the students an open, warm and friendly atmosphere to learn in. They also have a fabulous greenhouse that helps the students understand food systems. This enables them to make better choices in their own nutritional lives.

Orca (Columbia) 5

Posted October 01, 2010
- a parent
This is my son's first year at Orca. He's in 3rd grade and we have had a wonderful experience so far. Everyone from the new principal and her office staff to his teacher and other parents have been welcoming and supportive to a new family. Our son loves going to school everyday and comes home excited about what he's learned. At Orca, the kids are very involved in the classroom and are taught that they are contributing members of their classroom community, what a great way to prepare them for the world. Our family loves Orca.


Orca (Columbia) 3

Posted May 21, 2010
- a parent
A very clean, safe, progressive school - great attitude from teachers we have met, and wonderful involvement from parents. However it seems in my opinion a bit chaotic and unstructured in terms of creating a respectful, thoughtful learning environment. Our daughter's kindergarten experience has been positive and fun for her, but the class runs wild and is out of control. Also in my opinion the children are afforded too much control of what is going on at any time; they are allowed to bring toys to class, lay down and take breaks when they want, and are generally not told to quiet down when they are noisy or disruptive. When they interrupt the teacher they are not corrected, rather they are asked what they want to say, which encourages bold kids to dominate the class. That said, they are taught empathy and have a great time so overall a positive experience.

Orca (Columbia) 0
no rating

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
because of the morals and standards being taught to the children

Orca (Columbia) 0
no rating

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
My daughter has attended 2 other schools in Seattle public schools. Orca is diverse, progressive and nurturing.


Orca (Columbia) 0
no rating

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
It's a great school, w/ great faculty and staff that really cares about the students.

Orca (Columbia) 0
no rating

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
Community feeling. Incredible support for the children. Great teachers. K-8

Orca (Columbia) 0
no rating

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
I love their gardening program and their environmental studies. We need more alternative schools dedicated to real learning like ORCA


Orca (Columbia) 0
no rating

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
One of the best school we have in the district, caring faculties, administrations and supportive parents.

Orca (Columbia) 0
no rating

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
Patient and nurturing teachers Principle = strong leader Fun, organized and dedicated parent groups Great horticulture program Social justice philosophy

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Orca (Columbia)
5215 46 Ave South, Seattle, WA  98118
(206) 252-6900
Last modified Orca (Columbia) is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Orca (Columbia) Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 60 reviews.