Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pathfinder K-8

Public | K-8 | 490 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2014

My son, who is not neurotypical, attended Kindergarten through second here. Our experiences were horrid. I hear the school has changed and that may well be true. My son was fairly traumatized. One of his teachers practically called him stupid to his face and another didn't believe him when he said he was being bullied and the special education department was a disappointment. Very sad for us, but we've since gone on to home-school and then to a very positive experience in another school. Parents were very much busy volunteering, but mostly coddling their own children, rather than helping the entire class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

We've been at the school for eight years. Both of my children attend. I have had mostly great experiences here. No school is perfect but the teachers here have gone above and beyond in their teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

My son is just finishing up K this year. I wasn't sure what to expect but I have been pleasantly surprised. The teacher he has is wonderful and all the others I've met seem just as caring and committed. The schools leadership are engaged and want feedback. There were a few minor things I brought to the vice principal's attention and she was very professional and concerned and is working towards a solution. My son never liked school but likes Pathfinder. The parent involvement is amazing in his class (can't speak for rest although I've heard just as good). Our attendance school is Alki but I chose Pathfinder over it because of the amazing teachers and expeditions. I would recommend to anyone. I have also used Blazing Trails and it is very convenient to have on-site. Only negative is large class size but I know that is a SPS issue. Not happy with that one. I'm hoping that we continue to be as happy at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2013

Our son started kindergarten this year and we have been consistently impressed so far. The staff is wonderful, the parents are involved, and as a result, the children are very respectful and caring. I have walked through the school with my 6 year old and kids from K-6th grade all know his name and say "hi". As a parent of a kindergartener, one of my concerns was bullying but after seeing how great all of the kids are to each other I no longer have that worry. The before and after school program at Blazing Trails is an absolute god-send. I feel so fortunate to be able to be a part of this great program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2012

My child attended Pathfinder and I have to say I was not impressed. The parents were nice enough but the leadership gave me a bad impression. Glad to move my child out of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2012

We have our first kid in kindergarten here this year. We are having a great year and really love this school. Our son is excited to go and on Friday he was so excited about his project that he told me that it was going to be the best day ever. K and 1st grade had just finished in a learning expedition about markets around the world. They did several field trips to actually see real live examples that culminated in a kids craft market at school. All of the kindergarteners and 1st graders made projects that they got to trade with other kids. It was great and the kids and parents all enjoyed it. I love how they teach ideas, concepts and our teacher. She is great with the kids. We feel really lucky to get to be a part of this great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

I have had three children go through Pathfinder (one through grade 8). The teachers, staff, parents, and children are a loyal and loving crew with very solid academics in an expeditionary learning environment. Consistently great experiences for all of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

I'm a student in middle school at Pathfinder, and I enjoy it. I am learning a lot, but learning is interesting at Pathfinder. The teachers apply the things we are learning to everyday situations that we go through, so it never seems irrelevant. The teachers really care about us, and want us to succeed. If work is too hard or too easy for us, they will take their personal time to help us, and make sure we are doing the most we can. I feel like I will be prepared for the future because of Pathfinder, both academically and mentally. I couldn't imagine being at any other school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2010

If people would ignore standardized test scores and go with their hearts, this school would have an endless wait list. I have never seen a group of such happy children who love to learn and staff who love to teach and not just to the test. Great onsite childcare too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

Absolutely wonderful school! I have yet to come across a member of staff who is anything less than fully dedicated and passionate about education and the success of each child. The students are so proud of their school (rightfully so!) and excited about going every day. My daughter comes home and can't wait to discover more about what she has learned at school, using the internet or going to the library for more resources. The classwork and homework is relevant and provides a real link between home and school, we find it easy to know what our daughter is learning and how she is being taught so we can reinforce it at home. Not only is there a great variety of after school programs but there is also a world travel program where students learn about countries like China and Guatemala and then get to visit them. Beautiful facility too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

My grandson loves his school and teacher and is getting a catapulted start on his road to an educated and productive life as a good citizen of the planet!


Posted September 16, 2009

I love the community and family spirit of Pathfinder. Expeditionary learning is excellent at teaching kids real skills, not just how to pass a standardized test! My son went on a dozen field trips in kindergarten, each one of them memorable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

We now have a 'big kid' in upper grades (middle school) in our fifth year at Pathfinder and we are happy to have stayed. So it would seem the upper grades has an image problem more than real problems. My student is not a low acheiver and has not lost performance due to teachers teaching to the lowest common denominator. In fact, my student has found that helping other students is a great way to learn. Parents who are concerned about lower acheiving students in full integration setting should put their student in a more traditional school. The only thing we seem to be missing is more student activities for the big kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

We have a K student there this year. Pathfinder was actually our 4th choice for schools. We were afraid of the future because of the poor facility, so we really never considered it seriously. We are very happy we didn't get into our first three choices. We really love the teachers we have met, the community is very engaged, the principal and staff are very passionate about the school, and the kids seem to have a great time learning with the expedition model. With Pathfinder moving to a new facility in 2009, I wouldn't hesitate to give it high recommendations. We are very excited about the new opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

students thrive in this unique community. they are able to be individuals with out ostrification. educational leaders in the school seem to inspire and teach to the idividual strenghths of the children while making sure that they are growing a fab. foundation for further education. the parent community is extrenely involved. some people are able to log countless hours and others are here and there- all seems to flow so well. there is family support in all areas. next year we are movng to a new building that will help our community to grow even more. I would reccomend this school to anyone looking to have their child(ren) in a safe, caring, supportive and strong environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

I am the parent of two children that attend Pathfinder. We landed at Pathfinder after a difficult start at a more traditional school. My older son was diagnosed with ADHD and needs to learn in a way that is very engaging and allows for some differences from the traditional 'sit at a desk' lecture style. He is thriving there. The teachers have an ability to teach in a very individualized way while not compromising expectations. There is a sense that the children learn from being with many different types of learners and that each child brings value to the classroom because they are different. My younger son has a much easier time in school and can learn easily with more traditional methods. While he would likely learn as well in a more traditional setting, his excitement and interest in learning through a expeditionary method is palpable. A wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

We moved to Seattle so our child could attend Pathfinder. That was three years ago and it was one of our best decisions. My child has medical and learning difficulties and the staff at Pathfinder have gone out of their way to her needs. She is thriving there. We love the casual, community, of the school. Parents are very included and always welcome. I can go sit in my child's class anytime I want. Learning has been fun. It is a unique school, with it's own history and culture. Our new building next year will only enhance the school. I recommend this school to anyone. The staff is extremely dedicated and really go above and beyond. Children are respected, instead of over controlled. A child's social emotional development is valued.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

We have two children at Pathfinder, one in 5th and one in 3rd. Both have very different learning styles. One is a self- directed student, the other needs a cattle prod to get started. Both are thriving both intellectually and socially at this school and I credit this to the dedicated staff and creative learning environment at Pathfinder. Our son's reading and writing has increased a whole grade just since September with the support he has received from his classroom teacher and the resource room tutors. As a parent volunteer I feel I am part unique and caring community that respects and welcomes differences. The teachers are motivated, and the approach to learing core subjects is integrated into expeditionary learning in a thoughtful and creative way. We look forward to our kids continuing on through Middle school at Pathfinder and thriving if its safe, supportive environment. Submitted by Lynette Martin
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

We chose Pathfinder for the Expeditionary Learning Curriculum. But, the culture of Pathfinder is what really drew us there. It's a casual atmosphere, with a real sense of community. The 'alternative' aspect had an appeal as well. On the other hand, we were not aware that Pathfinder is somewhat of a dumping ground for children with behavioral problems. This isn't exactly something they advertise when you're touring. These kids are mixed in with the general population. There are several in a classroom. This is a constant distraction. Especially in an environment where children are expected to make choices for themselves, and a certain amount of freedom is afforded. These kids take up the majority of the teacher's time. If your child does Ok or better, they don't get much individual time or attention from the teacher. For one on one time, and to maintain order, you absolutely have to volunteer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2008

The school is great not only because of the dedicated teachers but beause of the community the parents create. We have choosen Pathfinder for expediationary learning and the teachers focus on the whole child not just the academic child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
24%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students87%
Female86%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Low income67%
Not low income97%
Special education58%
Not special education95%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female91%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Low income67%
Not low income94%
Special education58%
Not special education93%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students67%
Female58%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low incomen/a
Not low income73%
Special education36%
Not special education75%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female85%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low incomen/a
Not low income84%
Special education58%
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students71%
Female85%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low incomen/a
Not low income75%
Special education55%
Not special education75%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students70%
Female75%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income52%
Not low income82%
Special education35%
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female90%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income62%
Not low income85%
Special education65%
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students80%
Female90%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Low income76%
Not low income82%
Special education65%
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students67%
Female66%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low income36%
Not low income86%
Special education54%
Not special education71%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female88%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic75%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Low income64%
Not low income97%
Special education69%
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students57%
Female63%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Low income52%
Not low income62%
Special education27%
Not special education72%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female79%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income62%
Not low income81%
Special education60%
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students60%
Female74%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income48%
Not low income69%
Special education47%
Not special education66%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students40%
Female43%
Male35%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White46%
Low income33%
Not low income50%
Special education33%
Not special education44%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female91%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic82%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Low income83%
Not low income94%
Special education73%
Not special education96%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students58%
Female61%
Male53%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income50%
Not low income69%
Special education47%
Not special education64%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 60%
Hispanic 14% 20%
Two or more races 10% 6%
Black 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 12%N/A8%
Special education 124%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 236%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 15N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 10N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 57%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Jazz band

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • David Dockendorf

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Jazz band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5012 SW Genesee St
Seattle, WA 98106
Phone: (206) 252-9710

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tilden School
Seattle, WA



Holy Rosary School
Seattle, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT