Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Albert Einstein Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 750 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2013

This school is a really nice school to go to! The place is pretty well-managed, the students are nice, the teachers are cool, the counselors are amazing, and the administration is great. I have a lot of fun here and I feel like I'm challenged but I also feel like the teachers actually want me to learn and succeed. Also, the music program is the best!


Posted September 7, 2012

Einstein is a wonderful place to be. The teachers care about the students and the work is challenging and well chosen. It's a very welcoming, positive, and open environment. Five out of Five stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2012

My kid is learning at an excellent rate, from excellent teachers. We are very happy with Einstein and the administration. Thank you Einstein!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2011

This school is okay, from the stand point of a student. The teachers could be better, and the REAL principal could actually takecare of things that happen. As an 8th grader a lot of things have happend and when i get in trouble they don't quite resolve it, they call your parents, give you detention and say your never alous to talk bout it again. And no matter what, they think your lying. The vice principal yells at you. And the security gaurd (who does not make me feel safe) mocks you. When they expel someone, they can let them come back apparently? Well, thats what einstein does. But other than the way they handle things they are totally set on making you achieve! But if you go there, you will cry at least twice. Good luck!


Posted September 28, 2010

My second son is at Einstein in 7th grade this year. At Einstein, kids are encouraged to do their best while having fun learning at the same time. The teachers are passionate about what they teach and work together as a team while caring about their students. The after school clubs seem to offer something for everyone. The students take pride in their sports program as well, and boast high turn outs for Cross Country, as well as Track. They have begun a sustainable garden and compost which the students take care of completely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

Principle calls to give updates but if thre is a problem with students...it appears the security guards are the ones who call the parents and NOT the principle. Ive heard of incidents where vice principle and security guard grabs and yanks children by their arms to get them to go places...IF this is true....there is a HUGE lawsuit waiting to happen. NO teacher, security guard, or principle or vice princple should be allowed to touch any students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The kids are great, the teachers really care about their students, and I'm just really proud to be a parent of an 8th grader at Albert Einstein Middle School in Shoreline, Washington!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love how Principal Clark calls the parents to keep them informed about current events happening at the school so the parents stay involved with their kids. I love being able to look up my childs classes and see how he is doing and comunication open with his teachers. Great kids, great programs for sports and tutoring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

Good school though the changes in the curriculum make it hard to take both a foreign language and band/orchestra/choir
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2009

I love this school!!! The lunch is great, the teachers are so nice!! Its so sad that I had to move...
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2009

I am very impressed with this school we just move from texas down here on shoreline, because of the changes in my job and this school is great we all love it especially homeroom teacher in 7th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

Everytime I write a review they won't post on here so I think this website is run by the school district. Einstein is the worst school I have encountered. The teachers have low morale, the school district is broke, there is no school spirit, the parents are encouraged not to participate. We came from a great school to this badly managed school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2003

This is an excellent school overall. Above average opportunities for learning, considerate treatment of students, and a safe environment. The only criticism is that bullying is still a problem - which remains a problem at any school I have ever seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

360 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

359 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students74%
Female76%
Male73%
Black55%
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander81%
Hispanic42%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income56%
Not low income81%
Special education20%
Not special education80%
Limited English42%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female86%
Male78%
Black73%
Asian86%
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic59%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income68%
Not low income87%
Special education39%
Not special education86%
Limited English55%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students85%
Female95%
Male76%
Black82%
Asian91%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic66%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income78%
Not low income88%
Special education50%
Not special education89%
Limited English55%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students74%
Female76%
Male72%
Black40%
Asian87%
Asian/Pacific Islander84%
Hispanic56%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income55%
Not low income81%
Special education24%
Not special education80%
Limited English65%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female81%
Male81%
Black55%
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic66%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income65%
Not low income87%
Special education24%
Not special education88%
Limited English20%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students84%
Female83%
Male84%
Black45%
Asian89%
Asian/Pacific Islander87%
Hispanic69%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income71%
Not low income89%
Special education30%
Not special education90%
Limited English50%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

26 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students98%
Female96%
Male99%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
Native Americann/a
White97%
Low income96%
Not low income98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Male100%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Low incomen/a
Not low income100%
Not special education100%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 7%
Hispanic 11% 20%
Two or more races 11% 6%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 15%N/A8%
Special education 110%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 230%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 13N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 79%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19343 3rd Ave N.W.
Shoreline, WA 98177
Website: Click here
Phone: (206) 393-4730

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

King's Schools
Shoreline, WA



St Luke School
Shoreline, WA


Madrona Nongraded
Edmonds, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT