Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Evergreen Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 91 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2014

My 6 year old kid, was attending Rocky Ridge Elementary School in Graham wa. The staff and the teachers were awesome they help me and work with me to meet my child s need, then I moved to the Parkland area and I was told to transfer my kid to Evergreen middle School in Spanaway, so I called one day and left a message to follow up with the transfer for my child, a day passed and no answer, I called again around 3pm and left another message next day and no answer, so I called for the third time and bingo somebody answered the phone so I explained the situation, and I was told to come in and fill up the enrollment package, so I did, than I ask the staff about dropping my kid after school to my daycare , the answer I got is this is the number to the bus dispacher talk to them and go from there, so I call the dispacher and she said fill up the paperwork and we will call you to let you know about it, so I did and went to dropped at the school office the lady at the front desk said we will call you soon, 2 day later I called em back to find out about what was going on, they said that they were waiting for the dispatcher to decide about dropping my kid to his day care provider.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

We've had our son at Evergreen for 1st & 2nd grade. Students and local neighborhoods are extremely diverse in their makeup - a virtual melting pot that brings difficulties which staff and the PTA work hard to handle. Not all are successful, but most have a strong desire to help these kids where they can. Title I, ELL & PAL programs schoolwide, a great Technology program & teacher, plus a Librarian is wonderful - encouraging kids in a way I've not seen by many librarians in past schools. Music program a bit lacking in my opinion... PTA is pretty active, although parent involvement is not always as good as it could be. The administrative staff is (for the most part) all new this year and AWESOME!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2005

This is my kindergartener's first week at school. He has had little organized social interaction. His daycare has always been homey and low maintenance. Simon already does simple math with single digit numbers. He knows many words by site and can sound out many words. Unfortunately so far the only focus there has been on his behavior, which does, I'll admit, need modification for a complex social setting. My concern with this school is their apparent tendancy to look no deeper than an outburst, and I have yet to see his teacher try to discover what might 'set-him-off' rather, she simply asks what our discipline style is. She seems to be perterbed that we did not send her a ready made clone that would tow the mark. I am please that they offer full-day kindergarten classes, which seem to offer much more than a <3 hour day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2005

lack of parent involvement and overall effort. Parents (at least I wasn't) aren't kept informed. Unless yougo out of your way to find out you won't know. I missed some assemblies because I never received a flyer. The teacher didn't make sure all students had one. There are a few GREAT teachers here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2004

My child has attended this school from k-3. He has had a very good experience and has had nothing but wonderful teachers all the way through. I feel this school is doing everything possible as far as discipline and safty and are doing a good job with extracirricular activities. I am very pleased with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2004

My daughter had a hard time at her previous elementary school and I couldn't pin point what it was. She was acting out and misbehaving. But at Evergreen she was challenged enough to where her mind was on learning and not on over acting. Her grades went from c's to a's. They have to be doing something right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2003

I would not recommend this school nor the school district to anyone. The classes are overcrowded and the building needs a lot of improvement. The new principal is rude and does not have a clear outline of rewards and punishments. She singles certain students out for punishment, while allowing others to misbehave on a regular basis. Bethel school district does not make true attempts to improve students test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2003

I have had three students attend Evergreen, and a fourth one still attending. I have had nothing but positive experiences with Evergreen. The staff truly care about the children. I would recommend Evergreen to everyone. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Outstanding support
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2003

My child has attended this school for two years. I would not recommend it. I had problems with a past teacher as well as several other parents. I tried talking with the teacher, but she was very rude and intimidating. I talked with the new principal regarding other issues this year. She was helpful while I was there, but never followed through or contacted me regarding the problems again. My children will not be attending this school next year no matter how close we might live.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students79%
Female73%
Male83%
Black67%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic85%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income74%
Not low income91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female80%
Male81%
Black75%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic85%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income76%
Not low income91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students75%
Female70%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic72%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income68%
Not low income91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female73%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic79%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Low income66%
Not low income87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education79%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students71%
Female75%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic72%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income68%
Not low income78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students75%
Female72%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic77%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income71%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female81%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic81%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income75%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students60%
Female54%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Low income56%
Not low income73%
Special educationn/a
Not special education63%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students71%
Female83%
Male58%
Black90%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander79%
Hispanic76%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income64%
Not low income84%
Special education15%
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female81%
Male61%
Black60%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander79%
Hispanic91%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Low income64%
Not low income84%
Special education23%
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 60%
Hispanic 25% 20%
Black 15% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 7%
Two or more races 6% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 115%N/A8%
Special education 110%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 269%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 13N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 58%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Bradley Graham

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1311 172nd St East
Spanaway, WA 98387
Phone: (253) 683-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT