Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Saltars Point Elementary School

Public | 4-5 | 428 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

It was the worst 2 years my kids ever went through.... Hands down destroyed my boy want to go to school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

Not sure why someone is trolling to dog this school. 2 yrs experience with the school and myself and everyone I know are happy with it. Take the bad reviews with a grain of salt.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

Not worth the time to really educate your children properly. poor teachers and even poorer administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

My 9 year old Son has ADHD. At first, he did well at Saltar's. He had an IEP (individual learning plan) with one on one help in math and writing. About half way through his 4th grade year, his teacher began calling his mother at work in the middle of the day. Warning her that her Son was becoming disruptive, not cooperating, and causing undescribed disruptions in the classroom. These calls evolved into almost a bulling or badgering to put our Son on some kind of medication. We tried several different drugs, but our Son would not eat because of hem and lost weight. Here's our dilemma. Do we ruin our child's physical health so as to make him easier to teach, or do we nurture him and expect the staff at Saltar's to do their jobs?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

We are a military family who moved into this school district to avoid the on-post and military feeder schools off-post and it has been WELL WORTH IT. Our son has always been slow to meet friends and we have always had to have an IEP due to stress induced stuttering but at Saltar's he has made friends immediately, no longer requires speech services after a quality evaluation that finally identified the speech issues as stress induced (as we thought as parents). Additionally,Mrs. LeCompte immediately welcomed Louis into her classroom, has a strong stance against bullying and challenges our son to do better...not just in what he is struggling but in what he is succeeding in as well. My son loves her because she seems to do all this "without ever yelling." The office has been responsive, expedient, and friendly. The PTA is very involved with many different events each month. We were hesitant about enrolling our son in school knowing we would move again shortly & considered homeschool but are happy we decided against it. They have helped our son develop social skills and he is quickly learning to make friends. Most important he smiles when he comes home for the first time in a while.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2012

terrible school. No follow ups and poor office staff. very disapionting staff !! Not a good school for an average student or a very bright student as well . no special services are offered and the staff is clueless to state funded programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

After several transition years withchanging principals, Saltar's is now settled with a stable principal, a staff that genuinely cares, and teachers who are motivated and engaged with the children. The district does not provide funding for extra-curricular activities, but the teachers try to do the best they can. The school is responsive to parents' needs and concerns when placing students. Our children really enjoyed it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2011

We have had some excellent teachers at Saltar's Point. The student body is well behaved and the building is well maintained. We have been generally very pleased with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2011

Terrible school! I have never felt like my child was in danger of going to school until he had to go to this one. They never did anything to make sure the students were safe. Glad we moved away from here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

Disappointed! Our son is doing great as far as grades are concerned. The school itself lacks an element of lifting the kids spirits and making learning fun. With the exception of a small holiday choir event, holidays are not celebrated. Very sad. Honestly, we are looking forward to moving just so we can change schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

I have a daughter who was caught up in the 6th grade overload of Pioneer Middle School. Her group of children went to Salter's instead of the middle school. It was a hard year for them because the school was not designed to have middle school age children there. With this in mind, I think the school did the best they could. My daughter has had a positive experience while at Salter's. I have to give them a respectable grade for makeing an acward transition happen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Saltar's Point Elementary is an absolutely wonderful school. From the Principal, teachers and wonderful programs, I would give this school an A+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

Salters point is a wonderful school. The teachers were all remarkable teachers. They have a wonderful educational program a well as great after school programs. They have a sock hop where the children and the parents attend. They have a carnival at the end of the school year. It is in a small school district so al the kids get to know one another throughou there school years. I would say that an oportunity to go to Salters is a wonderful oportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

I have to daughters one who is going on to the sixth grade and the other in third grade the both love it and have had postitive experinces. The after school programs a great and intresting for the kids. art muic and sports are all offered. and parent involvent is pretty good could be better but i know it is hard for working people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2004

Being a parent of a child who has just recently completed his first year at Salter's Point, I can't say enough postive things about his teacher (Mrs. Snow) and the the entire Salter's point staff. Truly, each of the professionals that make up this school are supportive to students as well as parents. From keeping us(the parents) informed to being great listeners with all of our comments and concerns. We have been truly blessed to have been within the Steilacom District these past 8 years. It is very evident that staff and adminstration care about student learning and parent comment. Being a educator myself, I appreciate and see clearly that this staff goes the extra mile for these kids. We are so blessed to be a part of this district. Thank you, our hats off to you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

256 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students65%
Female67%
Male63%
Black68%
Asian89%
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic56%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income50%
Not low income69%
Special education31%
Not special education69%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female86%
Male72%
Black68%
Asian94%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic74%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income63%
Not low income84%
Special education31%
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students65%
Female72%
Male57%
Black47%
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic59%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Low income50%
Not low income69%
Special education25%
Not special education70%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students73%
Female76%
Male71%
Black72%
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander70%
White77%
Low income63%
Not low income76%
Special education21%
Not special education79%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female86%
Male81%
Black79%
Asian90%
Asian/Pacific Islander87%
Hispanic83%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander80%
White87%
Low income67%
Not low income88%
Special education38%
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students76%
Female79%
Male73%
Black71%
Asian86%
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanic71%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander50%
White80%
Low income61%
Not low income80%
Special education25%
Not special education82%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 60%
Hispanic 13% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 7%
Two or more races 7% 6%
Black 5% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 12%N/A8%
Special education 113%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 225%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 13N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 50%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Joel Lang

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

908 3rd St
Steilacoom, WA 98388
Website: Click here
Phone: (253) 983-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Firwood
Steilacoom, WA


Oak Grove
Steilacoom, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT