Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Academy Schools 5

Posted February 05, 2015
- a parent
My Son has been going to Academy Schools since 2nd grade. He is now in middle school. I think it ranks amongst the best schools in the Greater Seattle area. When he started out in Academy Schools, my son was academically behind his grade level . In just a few months in Academy Schools, he started showing significant improvement. He started talking more, he was more motivated and his academic skills were improving. His confidence grew . But the best part was that he was happy. The teachers are phenomenal and the curriculum is very good. But what really sets this school apart from the rest is the way the teachers teach each student. They adapt the curriculum according to the learning style of each child. This works wonders for the students who are enrolled here. Besides academics they have a very good arts and drama program and lots of after school programs like chess, robotics, computer programming etc.

Academy Schools 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
Academy Schools has been fantastic for our high school freshman son. The small class sizes provide an amazing learning environment thats unheard of in most all schools today. The staff is all very attentive, educated, and uniquely qualified unlike so many public instutions. Wouldn't change schools for our son for anything and highly reccomend Academy.


Academy Schools 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
Our son started attending Academy Schools when he was entering middle school. We are so glad we made this decision. He receives truly individualized instruction. It is clear that the teachers and staff are committed to each child's success. We feel that we are truly working as a team. And, he is enjoying school and the new relationships he quickly made there.

Academy Schools 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
Through the years we looked at different strategies for helping my struggling son succeed in school. By the middle of 10th grade he was behind in credits and it became very clear that if we didn't do something he would not only not graduate on time, but maybe not at all. His grades were sliding, but even more alarmingly his attitude and behavior were as well. Thank goodness we found Academy Schools! The small class sizes and the fact that it is a small school have helped him where nothing else ever could. Everybody knows everybody there. My son can't just fade into the background, hope to go unnoticed and barely squeak by. His teachers know him. They know his strengths and see where he struggles and are therefore truly able to teach him. As a result his self confidence and self-esteem have increased dramatically. He is finally a person with value, not just a statistic. He has a good attitude towards school and has worked so hard and made such progress that he is on track to graduate on time! Public schools may be a good fit for most kids, but my son needed more than they were able to offer. Academy schools is the right fit for him!

Academy Schools 4

Posted October 30, 2013
- a community member
all around great school, teachers are very nice and are always there if help is needed. small class sizes means more 1 on 1 teaching, would recommend to anybody :)


Academy Schools 5

Posted October 26, 2013
- a parent
Academy Schools is an excellent school. My children have attended nine different schools from DC to Seattle. This school gets it! Learning is focused on the child and his specific learning style. Education is not limited to the classroom. The school makes use of every advantage in the Seattle area. Each child is able to reach his full potential with the assistance of dedicated professionals.

Academy Schools 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
This is an amazing school! Academy schools offers small class sizes, an individual based learning environment and patient and caring staff members. Our family is very happy to have found this school.

Academy Schools 1

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
Academy school is a school that is greatly geared towards children that are Autistic or have some type of learning disadvantage. Individualized curriculum and teaching methods for these students are hands down right on track. In our situation our children where typically developing and never received tailored curriculum or were challenged at any time. We found that the enrollment dropped significantly by more than half while we were there. We found administration to be unprofessional and had seen many times screaming and yelling from office staff members. Hidden costs and fees are charged throughout the year for different activities that we felt were unnecessary. Overall our experience was very disappointing but we can see the benefit to those that are forced to have a small classroom setting due to learning disabilities.


Academy Schools 5

Posted April 05, 2013
- a parent
My 2 boys have been in this school for 5 years now and because of the excellent individualized teaching methods, they are both working above their grade levels in many subjects. My oldest is now in Running Start at Green River Community College taking Calculus 3 (while taking all of his high school courses at Academy Schools plus 3 online courses offered by the school) and has tested in the top 2% of the nation's juniors in the PSAT. He will most likely be applying to a few ivy-league colleges in the fall. This school is not only for special needs children.

Academy Schools 5

Posted August 07, 2012
- a parent
This is an outstanding school. As a parent of two students, we were impressed by the small class size (no more than 10), individual attention and academic strength. The school has the flexibility to challenge each child based on her or her potential - whether they are gifted or need additional assistance. Our son was strong in math and science and joined the higher classes for those subjects. He was encouraged to advance to as far as he wanted. You do not get that type of attention or flexibility in many schools. This is a place where each child is truly valued.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Academy Schools
14601 Interurban Avenue South, Tukwila, WA  98168
(206) 588-0860
Last modified Academy Schools is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Academy Schools Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top