Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pleasant Valley Primary School

Public | K-4 | 441 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 11, 2014

i wonderful school with a really homey, community feel. Staff is friendly and really are attentive every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Both of our kids went through Pleasant Valley Primary and we could not have been happier. Great teachers and office staff. By far the most amazing part of Pleasant Valley is the parent involvement. The PTA is awesome. Highly recommend Pleasant Valley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Pleasant Valley might not have some of the advantages technology-wise that other, larger neighboring districts do, but the small size, and the quality of the educators and staff more than makes up for it. The PV parents & teachers work hand in hand to make sure every child is successful - it truly is a community where parents can be involved. PV is quick to identify ways it can improve and continually works towards those improvements. With three children at PV, one who is on an IEP, I have nothing but positive things to say for Pleasant Valley Primary and how hard they work for the success of our children every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Pleasant Valley is the BEST! The staff, parents, and administration work hand in hand to make this school a community. Now that the levy has passed, we are seeing smaller class sizes and it's making a big difference. Kids are on the same main campus from Kindergarten to 8th grade..in separate buildings. Going to school with all the same kids for years helps to bond these kids together. That with a hugely supportive parent group, and fantasies teachers, combine to make the kids feel safe and loved. We love PV!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

Have never felt so welcome in my life. The staff at PVP listened and cared about my students. We've been through a lot of changes in the past 2 years and went from being a 2 parent military household to single mom with 3 kids in tow. I look forward to a great year at this school directly relating to the staff I saw today. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Is a great school but lately been overwhelmed with the boundry changes and cut backs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

I have a son who is finishing his 2nd year at Pleasant Valley and we absolutely love the school. We love this school because it is on the small side and it feels very safe and homey. The teachers are above average and really care about my son. The communication is the best. We get phone calls on a regular basis from the principal and emails from the PTA about what is going on around the school. We also get a calendar/newsletter from the teacher. Everyone in the school that I have come in contact with (principal, office staff, nurse, etc.) are very approachable and friendly. We love this school and wouldn't change a thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2010

I have had two children attend this school. While the teachers are above average, I too have found the school lacks communication with parents. I should have known when I went to look up information on the school website and found nothing had been updated since the previous year. My daughter is now attending a school in another district and low and behold their website has calendars and recognizes children for their accomplishments etc etc. and is updated on a regular basis. The website is an easy way for parents to check in and find out what is going on at their childs school. Unfortunately, Pleasant Valley isn't utilizing this simple tool. Direction comes from the top, so if the principal is disorganized, so is the whole school. Striving for excellence is what they should be doing from the top down, rather than just plugging along satisfied with status quo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2010

I am not pleased with this school. I'm not sure if it was the teacher we had last year or the school itself. Last year was our first year in this school district and I feel that there is a HUGE lack of communication. I never knew what was going on in the class and I would get less than a weeks notice for a conference date (which doesn't work when you are a working family) and I even got a flyer for a sport that was about a month overdue. In the school district we were in previous I received these things called weekly letters. They were nice, you knew what was going on in the class and what they were going to do next. I believe this is a great idea and something that every school should have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

I'm a very involved grandparent. I have grandkids in 2nd and 3rd grades. These kids love school and always have something to share about what they've learned in school that day with thier parents on us. Their teachers and the principal are great. Financing can be an issue for textbooks, etc, but at this age the #1 issue is getting kids to enjoy and look forward to school and learning. Nice job!


Posted September 26, 2007

I posted a review a couple of years ago I was not very happy. At the time I gave the school three stars . Since then I have changed my view . We now have a new principle who listens and takes our oppinion in to account . Takes action to improve our school for the better . The school has a completely different feel . There is still a lot to improve but I'm confident this principle is up to the challenge .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2006

My two children absolutely love this school--they feel secure and engaged. I appreciate the receptivity of teachers and staff; they've been open-minded and flexible about learning strategies best suited to my high-cap son. Parent involvement is welcomed, whether volunteering in established roles or trying something new. Parents with energy and ideas are given every opportunity to participate. Overall, I feel PVP does a good job of balancing student academic, social and physical needs. Is there room for improvement? Sure. What I like about PVP is that, even though I m just one parent, I feel empowered to help make some of that improvement happen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2006

Pleasant Valley has a wonderful staff. The childern alternate music, art and PE during the week. Unfortunately, the Battle Ground school district has a hard time passing levies, therefore there is not much in the way of updated technology. They definately do the best they can with what they have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2006

This school tries to be progressive; however, does not realize this goal. With limited accelerated learnng programs and stagnant curricula, chidren are moved through the system with little creativity. Even the so-called 'highly capable' teachers are forced to teach to the WASL rather than focusing on more exciting learning philosophies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

I think the cirruculum is mediocre, administration is uncaring and uninvolved and do not take parents into consideration in decision making process regarding the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

Pleasant Valley follows suit much like the rest of the battle Ground district. It it unorganized and technologically behind the rest of the districts in the area. The teachers are nice and friendly but are hit and miss. The school district tends to be better for children with special needs but kids that don't need extra attention are missed in many areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

I have a daughter in Pre-school and she loves it! She is in a class that combines special needs children with children who don't have special needs. She brings home artwork and creative things daily and her teacher Holly Cattin, is wonderful. She has been a huge help to our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

PVP has is very homey and friendly. I do have a problem with the lack of music related activities in music class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

I think this school is very warm and inviting as well safe enviroment for your child. Academics are wonderful, great reading program and special needs classes for all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2004

Fantastic teachers and support staff! Our two girls need some special teaching and all the teachers in SKILLS are wonderful. Highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students48%
Female49%
Male46%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic52%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White45%
Low income35%
Not low income56%
Special education13%
Not special education53%
Limited English48%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female78%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic76%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income67%
Not low income76%
Special education33%
Not special education79%
Limited English62%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students65%
Female65%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic53%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income58%
Not low income70%
Special education17%
Not special education74%
Limited English50%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female85%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income69%
Not low income85%
Special education45%
Not special education84%
Limited English50%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students71%
Female88%
Male51%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income58%
Not low income82%
Special education33%
Not special education78%
Limited English36%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 60%
Hispanic 10% 20%
Two or more races 8% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 7%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 114%N/A8%
Special education 114%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 232%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 16N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 80%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Melissa Mitchell

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14320 NE 50th Ave
Vancouver, WA 98686
Phone: (360) 885-5550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Gardner School
Vancouver, WA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT