Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Salmon Creek Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 29, 2013

So disappointed. The teachers are rude and don't allow you to have a voice or opinion. I can't believe this community would give them 3 stars. I had my child there for 3 years and then finally moved to a different school. Thank goodness ! My child is doing awesome now ! I should have listened to my gut . There was no support for my child who needed help with math. I was told he needed special ed for it was there only math program. Why would you put a child in special ed just for math needs ? The only thing the past 2 teachers could talk about was that they had too many kids and how they couldn't handle the volume of students . Hmm so let's put kids in special ed to help the volume of students . Makes me sick!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2013

I once was a student at this school for five years and I have to say this was beyond better then what I had at walnut grove elementary school. The teachers her are wonderful. Except for mrs.perry she is a 5th grade teacher and she will make you think this school is bad. The reviews you have problem read about this school were problem not good but parents are not the ones going to school it is the kid and as a past student I do have to day even though there ate about a handful of teachers that may not be nice those are the teachers who push you kids harder to successes and helped be become a 4.0 student in middle school. Thus is such a great school and they have so much to offer with their awesome PTA that helps out with school events. This is a good school!


Posted November 13, 2013

I'm extremely disappointed in this school! 2 of the rudest unprofessional teachers I have ever met are there. I removed my son whom they said was "autistic". I didn't know they had a PHD to diagnose children. Come to find out (which I already knew) he is very smart. Top of his class. His new school loves him and are also disappointed for how salmon creek staff treated him. I wish I could take back having my child in there care of teaching....p.s the principal was aware and did nothing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My 2 sons attend Salmon Creek and although the staff are friendly I have been greatly dissapointed with the commitment to helping my oldest son who needs a little extra one on one attention. The plans agreed to in our parent teacher conferences were never put in place and teachers say they are too busy to help students with individual needs. I had heard that this was an excellent school but I have been nothing but dissapointed in nearly every aspect of my childs educational experience. I look foward to our upcoming relocation and would suggest that parents think long and hard about sending their children to this school if they need any extra help and I am not talking about children with special needs just kids that need a little help with direction and focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

I have had three children in this school and I have other children whom I am able to compare this with. We recently had to transfer due to a move and my youngest two went into a deep despair mode. They missed their friends, the teachers and how their structure was so much more involved with their independent needs. I had to transfer them back and thankfully they are back to normal, even though the drive is way out of my way, it is still worth it. I agree that there are some teachers who shouldn't be around children and I certainly have had my share of teachers conferences. If I feel that their teacher is counter productive to their needs, I move them to someone else and the school has been very accommodating to this. However, the new Principal has been less than talkative and doesn't seem very friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

we are new to this school. my son is in the 1st grade. we came from a near by elementry school. i am very disappointed for i had been told this was a great school. the teacher that my son has seems to be unemotionally detached and not super invested. what a bummer!my son's kinder gaten teacher last year was sooo wonderful. i guess we got spoiled. anyhow, the office staff fairly friendly but seem to be a little dis-organized at first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

I agree that Salmon Creek Elementary has a lot to offer through outside activities and they encourage the parents to be part of their son or daughter's education. There are still really good teachers left despite the past couple of years. However, with the Administration changes I have been greatly disappointed. They are not willing to work with the parents if the student does not fit 'the norm.' Although I have two children attending, I'm looking to place them into another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

My family loves Salmon Creek. There have been so many fun activities for parents and children to do together, as well as many ways for parents to be more involved. This school has more parent involvement with their childrens education than I have ever heard of. We have 2 daughters who attend and they both love the teachers, counselors and principle. My oldest had some reading problems and was instantly helped, but they did not deprive her of any classroom time. She was 10 lvls behind in her reading as of the begining of the school year, but she is now at the same lvl. with the rest of her class! My youngest has some health issues and her teacher and the office staff have been very supportive and caring towards her. This is an excellent school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

My experience last year was great because of a hard working teacher. My child improved in that one yr. than all others combined. This year is the complete opposite due to an out of touch teacher. This school is extremely liberal and easy on bullying. It's just the luck of the draw on which teacher you get. The teacher makes all the difference in the world...no matter how unhappy you are w/the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

i have enjoyed having both my kids at salmon creek. It in my opinion is one of the best elementary schools in the vancouver area. There is a ton of parental involvement, and the teachers are very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students81%
Female74%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income77%
Not low income83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female84%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic90%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income90%
Not low income83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students67%
Female76%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income67%
Not low income67%
Special educationn/a
Not special education72%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female76%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income62%
Not low income78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students71%
Female76%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Low income63%
Not low income76%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students66%
Female68%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic30%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Low income52%
Not low income73%
Special education60%
Not special education66%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female78%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income78%
Not low income83%
Special education60%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students62%
Female54%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income53%
Not low income66%
Special educationn/a
Not special education64%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 60%
Hispanic 8% 20%
Two or more races 8% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 7%
Black 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 15%N/A8%
Special education 16%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 239%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 20N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 14N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 65%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1601 NE 129th St
Vancouver, WA 98685
Phone: (360) 313-2800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT