Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Covington Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1054 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 6, 2006

I think this school is exceptional. In my opinion, the teachers have been wonderful to deal with. They seem to truly care about the children as well as their academic achievement. As parents, our primary focus must be to aid our children in their education. One must remember, the teachers are very limited to the amount of discipline they can administer. It's up to us to make sure that our children remain in line. If everyone did that, security would not be such an issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2005

I think this is a well planned and great school for learning in the Evergreen School District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2005

This is an awful school that does not teach well and the teachers never will have time to give your child personal attention. I do not recommend this school at all
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2004

The teachers are some what okay. They could have better education themselves. Overall 1-10 10 the highest it is a 2. The teachers do not teach the children proper english. Some teachers allow differant things in class that are not allowed by administators. The principals leave something of desire. The security rather be childs friend than to dicipline. The staff and principals loose papers and letters sent if it is against them in any way. Children with lower income are shrugged and not educated no matter if parents work or not. There is no dicipline to the staff of any kind when they are caught on tape cursing and degrading the children. Warning do not move to that school area. High school is okay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2004

I currently go to Covington and it is not a bad school at all. Also for the parent who says if her kid wants to stay home they just act up. Heres an idea ground them or take something away if they get in trouble at school show them that acting up in school is unacceptible and will not be tollerated. Also for people who think people who graduate from there will amount to nothing it's not where you graduate from it's your grades and how hard you work. I have great grades I don't do drugs and I don't know anyone who does. Also the teachers are great. I plan to grow up and have a career and it will not change no matter what school I go to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2004

I agree with others who feel the discipline is not adequate. Certain students are singled out and suspended on a regular basis. My grandson had a horrible year in sixth grade and quickly learned that if he wanted to stay home all he had to do was act out in some way. One of my greatest concerns however is bullying. My grandson was the victim of this behavior and when we tried to address it with school officials, we got nothing but excuses. I believe also that the policy of making IEP students clean the cafeteria and other areas is simply wrong. As a whole I don't think Covington provides a healthy environment for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My daughter has had a great experience at Covington. The teachers have always been helpful and attentive. She has learned a lot and her grades have improved every year. The only problem is the age of the school and that will be taken care in the next couple of years with the construction of the new school. Good job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

I think Covington needs an overhaul and better teachers who care for their students and not just a pay check! Who can focus on student that need just a little more help. I've had an instance where my child said they need more explaining the teacher told him if you don't get it, you don't get it. Needless to say my child never asked again.They also need to work on their dicipline issues. As they send the kids to detention for everything. We have had nothing but rudness at that school and if we had a choice my children would not attend there. I've tried!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2003

Most of the teachers at this school are great. There are a few that are hard to deal with. I disagree with the schools discipline. They tend to use suspension as their only vice. I am extremly concerned that this tells teens that them being in school is not important. Where do most teens want to be? (home) So why give that as a discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2003

I strongly agree with the previous comments on discipline. They are way too quick to suspend kids instead of gathering all of the information first. They suspend students and then hold it against the student until they leave. I would never recommend this school to anyone with children of this age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2003

This school has good and bad teachers. The problem with this school, I think, is discipline. Their solution to everything is to suspend the student. Is that punishment to teens? They are not fair. Education wise I would choose another school for my kids if I had known how they are.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

335 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

335 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students52%
Female49%
Male54%
Black0%
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic34%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Low income47%
Not low income61%
Special education17%
Not special education58%
Limited English10%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female82%
Male65%
Black50%
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income69%
Not low income83%
Special education50%
Not special education78%
Limited English25%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students59%
Female60%
Male58%
Black27%
Asian80%
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic44%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income52%
Not low income72%
Special education24%
Not special education66%
Limited English29%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female69%
Male65%
Black53%
Asian79%
Asian/Pacific Islander74%
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Low income59%
Not low income81%
Special education41%
Not special education71%
Limited English21%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students65%
Female74%
Male58%
Black67%
Asian86%
Asian/Pacific Islander79%
Hispanic62%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income59%
Not low income77%
Special education37%
Not special education70%
Limited English39%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students52%
Female53%
Male51%
Black7%
Asian73%
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanic48%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander25%
White56%
Low income49%
Not low income56%
Special education19%
Not special education59%
Limited English23%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female68%
Male60%
Black43%
Asian70%
Asian/Pacific Islander64%
Hispanic53%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander50%
White68%
Low income59%
Not low income72%
Special education33%
Not special education71%
Limited English25%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students63%
Female61%
Male65%
Black36%
Asian63%
Asian/Pacific Islander55%
Hispanic48%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander33%
White69%
Low income59%
Not low income70%
Special education33%
Not special education69%
Limited English27%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
83%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White100%
Low income100%
Not low income100%
Not special education100%

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 63%
Hispanic 14% 18%
Asian 5% 7%
Two or more races 4% 5%
Black 3% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 163%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 26%N/A8%
Special education 213%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 15N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 10N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 74%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11200 NE Rosewood Rd
Vancouver, WA 98662
Phone: (360) 604-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Home Choice Academy
Vancouver, WA




Cascadia School
Vancouver, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT