Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Jefferson Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 531 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 9, 2013

Like many schools and work environments, South has it's issues and we seemed to run into all of them. We left private school to expose our child to a more realistic peer learning environment only to find out the educational values the teachers we were assigned were dismal. Classrooms are noisy and undisciplined, with students distracting others during learning time. We tried our best to get involved to help teachers to provide a greater learning environment but there was no desire for improvement. We changed schools to find things can be very different with inspirational teachers. If things are not working out at this school, there are better schools in the county. I am sure there are good teachers in this school, we were not fortunate to have those.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

I currently have one child at South Jefferson and also attended this school when I was a child. We love the staff. It feels like a family there and always has. Classrooms are overcrowded but this is at no fault of South Jefferson staff. The teachers do very well with what they have to work with and my sons learning is above average. Thank you to all employees of South! Keep up the good work! To those moving here from the city and having negative comments about our country schools....go back to the city!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

This school does not teach math and the teachers are biased towards kids that have roots in the neighborhood. Most of the teachers seem to be a little backward and afraid of technology. They tested only 70 per-cent proficient in math. Check their westest scores and websites to get an idea of what I mean. If you value education, please find another school for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

I have been somewhat disappointed up until now. My child went to a private school for the first two years and, now in 1st grade, is repeating the work he did in Kindergarten. No foreign languages are offered in primary here and they only have physical education one day a week. He was also using computers in kindergarten but doesn't have access to them now at South Jefferson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

One can see that over three years time, views of SJE seem to be changing. I have my third child in SJE and while we found no better elementary school (Loudoun, private or otherwise) in 97-01, we find things quite different now. While there are some really great teachers, they seem to be farther and few between. The school is very overcrowded, which is the norm for this county at the present time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

This is not the kind of school to send your child to if you aren't expecting 'tough love', whether your kid needs it or not. The goal of each class is to pass tests. Not learn, not grow as human beings. Just stay quiet, pass tests, and leave the staff alone. After two weeks of this, I decided enough was enough, and pulled my kids. The office couldn't have cared less.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

School was a disappointment...sorry to say...very little parental involvement....level of education was 'less' than par....lack of school to parent communication...Think twice before enrolling....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2006

We moved from Northern Virginia to Charles Town, WV for more land and space. We have a 3rd and 5th grader at South Jefferson. Generally a caring environment, however, teaching staff is hit and miss. Resources are slim with no computers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2004

I have one child at this school (the last of 3) and I am a teacher in Virginia. We recently relocated from Loudoun County Schools (Virginia), where the parent-driven 'over achiever' is the norm and where test scores is the priority. I have found South Jefferson to be an extremely friendly and warm place to be for the transition of my 5th grader. The teachers are wonderful and they care for their students. I think my son is getting every bit the quality of education that Loudoun offered. As a matter of fact, he likes it better and is performing better. The only drawback at this time is that the school, though clean, is overcrowded and the facility is not always functioning at its best. This is because Jefferson County has recently begun to grow at a surprising rate. I would recommend this school next to any in Loudoun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2004

I have three children who attend this school and again there is no better education. The teacher truely care the class sizes are still small and the kids learn so much more then simply academics. They nurture such a true sense of family. I am getting ready to pay for private school for my middle schooler and know we will never be as happy as we were here. Thank you so much for your dedication!!!!!! My kids prefer to read over video games and I know I have this school to thank!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2003

This is an excellent school in all categories. I have three children attending this school and I couldn't pay for a school that would give my children the same education. The teachers are very different and they all seem to love their job. I am very proud of this school and the care they put into each individual child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
47%

2009

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
41%

2009

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 43% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 37% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
40%

2009

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
37%

2009

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
31%

2009

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 36% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
46%

2009

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 35% in 2012.

105 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
49%

2009

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 50% in 2012.

104 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
31%

2009

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2012.

104 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
37%

2009

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

104 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
37%

2009

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 34% in 2012.

104 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
38%

2009

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Title I53%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities51%

Reading

All Students54%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Title I54%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities56%

Science

All Students57%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Title I57%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities57%

Social Studies

All Students45%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Title I45%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Title I54%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities55%

Reading

All Students52%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Title I52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities55%

Science

All Students48%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Title I48%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities51%

Social Studies

All Students49%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged22%
Title I49%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Title I40%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities42%

Reading

All Students51%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Title I51%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities56%

Science

All Students37%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged22%
Title I37%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities39%

Social Studies

All Students39%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Title I39%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 92%
Black 5% 5%
Hispanic 4% 1%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A53%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Route 2 Box 151b
Charles Town, WV 25414
Website: Click here
Phone: (304) 728-9216

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Jefferson Academy
Kearneysville, WV


Claymont Childrens School
Charles Town, WV





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT