Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Andrew Jackson Middle School 5

Posted June 08, 2014
- a parent
Andrew Jackson Middle School has an environment where a healthy emphasis is put on recognizing and developing students academically. The majority of Andrew Jackson students respect their fellow students and the school's employees. A J is notably clean and cared for and a county library and a recreation association pool are adjacent to the school property.

Andrew Jackson Middle School 1

Posted July 01, 2013
- a community member
I just got out of this horrible place that they call a school. Its more like a prison. Everyone at this school is horrible other than a few good students and a very little amount of teachers, but the principle and the vice principal are like dictators. They have to scream and yell at you about every little thing. They make the school miserable and the teachers follow them. We can never have fun ever. The lunches there are unbelievably disgusting nobody likes them at all everyone should pack their lunches if they don't want to be poisoned. Not even the lifeless teachers there like them. And there were fight almost everyday, that the teachers were slow to stop. Then in the class rooms people are always getting up talking yelling cussing and the teachers almost never stop it. Most of the teachers play on their phones in class. They have since I was there in 6th grade. Nothing has changed since and that's sad. I hope that any parent reading this listens to me and takes their child out of that horrible school. I almost failed this year and most of 6th and 7th because of the teachers. I listened never talked asked questions but they don't help you. I would never send my kids there ever!!


Andrew Jackson Middle School 5

Posted August 24, 2012
- a community member
This school is amazing! The teachers are very kind and easy to communicate with. The dress code amd school policies are inforced and most are reasonable policies. Go Knights!

Andrew Jackson Middle School 1

Posted December 12, 2011
- a parent
This school doesn't seem to care much for the students. It seems as if the ones who have authority let the children behave and say whatever is on their minds. The children show no respect and the teachers say nothing to them! The children are allowed to speak as an adult would. There seems to be no dress code enforced. As eleven year olds are wearing very inappropriate clothing. This goes for both girls and boys. Would would think that this school is for the misbehaved children. Andrew Jackson middle is a poor excuse for teaching children anything. It is ashame that my taxes are promoting this kind of behavior!

Andrew Jackson Middle School 3

Posted August 08, 2010
- a community member
The teachers in this school are fantastic but the principal was an opressive dictator. I'm not sure how it is going to change with that woman gone. Hopefully for the better. People like Mrs. Montgomery are the only reason I did not attempt to escape that penitentiary. As my graduation from that prison neared, it became even more like a third world country. Basic freedoms were thrown away like a crumpled up piece of paper. Things like the anual "Turkey Trot" finally make sense now though.. I always wondered what happened to the last 1/3 of that money. hahahahahahaha


Andrew Jackson Middle School 5

Posted March 07, 2010
- a student
See im a student at Andrew Jackson and the princable is doing all she can to make edacation as fun as she can and gives us a lot of extra activitys for us to do edacation u rock Ms.Woo

Andrew Jackson Middle School 3

Posted September 12, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Andrew Jackson Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 11, 2008
- a parent
I have three daughters at AJ and it is heart breaking, the teachers and faculty belittle the children and tear their self esteem apart. No communication or support from no one here, and good luck talking to Mrs. Woo, she hands you off to someone else.


Andrew Jackson Middle School 4

Posted February 08, 2008
- a student
I am currently a student at Andrew Jackson and i think the principal is doing the right thing of keeping control of her kids. p.s. The AJ girls b-ball team just won the county championship and went undefeated. The boys play their last game tomarrow at 2 30. If they win they will be the number two seed in the county.

Andrew Jackson Middle School 5

Posted October 09, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Andrew Jackson Middle School
5445 Big Tyler Rd, Charleston, WV  25313
(304) 776-3310
Last modified Andrew Jackson Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Andrew Jackson Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top