Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Horace Mann Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2007

Horace Mann is a wonderful school with exceptional learning opportunities for students who want to learn. Some of the best teachers and administrators in Kanawha County can be found here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

HMMS is one of the best middle schools around. Mr. Blackwell knows all of the children and he or a teacher representing him shakes the hand of every child as they enter the building in the morning. He attends every extra curricular activity he can. The chorus recently came back at 1:00 a.m. and he was there to greet and congratulate them on a first place win in Ohio. The academic program at this school is one of the best I have seen. The only problem I can point out is that some of the teachers don't take the extra time that it sometimes requires to help students that don't completely understand things. Overall this is a wonderful school and I am very pleased my daughter attends HMMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

My son recently entered Horace Mann Middle School from another school and I have nothing but positive comments. He has been academically challenged and been given large amounts of positive reinforcement to continue to do so. I am very pleased with the amount of discipline and respect the students are required to show towards the teachers, staff, and each other. Mr. Blackwell is very impressive with his involvement with the students directly. I have no doubt when I speak with him that he knows my child and what he is doing in the school. For an older school, I am very pleased with the facilities and equipment, such as computers, available to my son. The choices of extracurricular activities are extensive as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2006

I was very displeased with the level of academics at Horace Mann. We moved here from out of state and after two years at the school my son's Stanford Testing scores dropped tremendously! I would definitely recommend HMMS seriously improving their academic program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

We were not sure we wanted our son to attend HMMS because of the reputation the school had when my younger sisters attended this school. We met with the administration and shared our concerns. We were educated about the recent changes that had taken place at the school as far as faculty and building improvements. Our son is now in his second year at HMMS and we could not be happier with the administration and faculty. HMMS has provided our son with a safe environment where teachers and administrators are involved with the students daily activities as well as extra curricular activities. This school is exceptional in a variety of different areas including athletics and performing arts programs. I would rate HMMS as an A+ middle school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

This has been an excellent school for my child. The Strings Orchestra is Awesome!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 10, 2006

The overall school building has made so many good improvements over the past four or five years. It was amazing to see the difference it has made to the school. I like the office being at the front of the building and the library is really nice and has so many good books to choose from.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 27, 2006

This has been a wonderful school for my child. We pulled her from another middle school in the valley where there was no leadership or involvement from the staff. Horace Mann's principal and staff attend all of the extra cirricular activities and are very supportive of their students. If you call to request an appointment with your child's team of teachers, they accomodate that request immediately. This school cares about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2005

There are no perfect middle schools as we all know and i can't speak for everyone, however, this was not the right choice for our child. This school has a poor reputation that continues to decline and will do so until there is new leadership and teachers that care about the success of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2012.

153 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2012.

153 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
47%

2009

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

151 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
48%

2009

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 34% in 2012.

149 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
43%

2009

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2012.

149 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2012.

150 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2012.

146 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
57%

2009

 
 
51%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 40% in 2012.

146 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2012.

162 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
54%

2009

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

162 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2012.

155 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
53%

2009

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 34% in 2012.

156 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
40%

2009

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Black33%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Title I61%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities63%

Reading

All Students53%
Black36%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Title I53%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities56%

Science

All Students42%
Black9%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Title I42%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities45%

Social Studies

All Students44%
Black20%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Title I44%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Black49%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Title I64%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities67%

Reading

All Students57%
Black38%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Title I57%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities60%

Science

All Students51%
Black31%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Title I51%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities53%

Social Studies

All Students58%
Black37%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Title I58%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students57%
Black27%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Title I57%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities60%

Reading

All Students58%
Black32%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Title I58%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities61%

Science

All Students57%
Black33%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Title I57%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities59%

Social Studies

All Students38%
Black19%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Title I38%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 92%
Black 27% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Hispanic 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A53%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Gifted specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4300 MacCorkle Ave
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 348-1971

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Keystone School
Charleston, WV



Carver Career Center
Charleston, WV





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT