Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cross Lanes Christian School

Private | K-12 | 264 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Charleston

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $93,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2014

Amazing Christian school! Best one in WV. I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a good quality Christian education. Wonderful staff!


Posted October 22, 2011

Wonderful school. Excellent staff, teachers, and programs. No better education around. Love the new administration.


Posted March 26, 2011

Excellent school! Both of my children have attended CLCS since kindergarten. One is now a senior in college and doing well. CLCS has well educated and Godly teachers. Regarding the comment made about expelled public school kids corrupting your children " Hogwash" They wouldn't last long enough. Thank God for CLCS it's a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Cross Lanes Christian School is a wonderful place! The school not only has high academic standards, but a strong spiritual emphasis and caring spirit permeates the campus. Our son loved his time at CLCS and has gone on to excell in his college career. We are grateful to God for CLCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Cross Lanes Christian School is my favorative school because they teach kids the importance of manners and they have a high learning experience than most schools.


Posted February 5, 2010

My only advise is to really think hard and pray about placing your child in the school. It was a great school in the past, but it is hard for private schools to keep up with public schools today. Elementary is not a problem, but once Junior High is started, problems will become more apparent. It is easier to not start at all than taking them out and losing the friends that they have made (if they do make some that is).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2009

Cross Lanes Christian has an excellent faculty and staff that are: 1) well-educated themselves and 2) very involved and caring people. Just like anywhere else when dealing with people, some make mistakes but the student's best interest are put first and foremost. The school makes an effort to work with parents instead of against them or (just as bad) ignoring them. I currently have two students at the school and love the education they are getting. You won't regret having your children at CLCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

We have about 15 years experience with CLCS. CLCS has an excellent college preparatory program. Our children have had little trouble competing in their public universities. #1 Strength: The teachers and staff care deeply about the kids' spiritual and academic well being. # 2 Strength: solid, well-taught curriculum, especially for math, science, and English. # 3 Strength: continual improvement in facilities. Things to change: #1 the uniform policy (please drop it). #2 wider use of the InfoDirect system for keeping parents and students up-to-date on homework assignments and other announcements. Any hassles we've had were trivial and would have occurred in any institution. It makes a difference to know the faculty and staff are praying for your children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

I went there and am now in college. I learned a lot there from great teachers and had amazing friends. This school helps you learn about a Christian perspective of education but will still give you a great education. So far I am doing great in college because of the study habits I learned at Cross Lanes. It has changed a little in the last years, but not necessarily a bad change. I am looking forward to the future of this school as long as the parents will be supportive of the school.


Posted December 8, 2008

i went there for years upon years. the school seemed like it flowed well while principle nelson was there. my brothers both also attended. once nelson left, the place declined. and has yet to come back up. i left. i have no regrets. i miss my friends. i miss a few of [the few] caring teachers. i miss my friends. the curriculum, i dont miss. i dont miss bible. i feel like i get just as much from FCA and other bible studies i'm in as i did from bible class 3 days a week. the place has its own ways to do things. they dont want to adapt to modern worship styles. styles of worship that reach out to the students, the main focus of the school. its not a ministry. its a business. better off in public.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2008

This school is AMAZING! The teachers are awesome and the people are so nice. This was my first year there and I made friends in no time. I love this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2008

The absolute worst thing to happen to my son. I wouldn't advise anyone to even consider this school as an option. When my son transferred from Cross Lanes Christian he suffered greatly because he was not prepared for honors or AP classes in a public school (even though he had been an A student). Cross lanes did not prepare him for the real world. The teachers and staff are stuck in their ways and unforgiving of the smallest mistake. Furthermore graduating from a small christian school with no standards is looked down on by secular colleges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

This school is awesome the teachers are outstanding,and care about what we have to say!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2007

this school is well driven and the teachers care about what the parents have to say, sometimes. in the past couple years though, it has gone downhill due to a new principal and do this? its not bad!!' also, it is filled with public school kids who were expelled and will quickly corrupt your kid with sex, drugs, and rock and roll.


Posted November 22, 2007

teachers here are great. they really love and care for their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

Excellent...EXCELLENT school! Consistantly rates among the highest academically in the state. There is no doubt that the teachers love our children and pour themselves into their profession. Parents are well informed and encouraged to be involved. The school provides a safe, peaceful environment for students, parents and faculty. The school may prove diffcult for those who do not apply themselves, yet, offers superior assistance to those who may struggle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2006

Cross Lanes Christian School is an excellent institution! I cannot say enough about the quality of the leadership and academics. The teachers care about the students inside and outside of the classroom. If you desire for your child to have the best educational experience possible, then send him to CLCS!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 14, 2006

This school is very homework driven. You can expect 3-5 hours of homework a night(even on Wednesday- teachers ignore the rules). You will have at least one test a day and be expected to pass each one with C, or you will be olaced on academic probation. It is good college prep school, but be prepared to teach yourself. Teachers present more than teach and move very quickly. This school is not for academically challenged kids or kids that need extra help.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 16, 2003

I have a daughter enrolled in Cross Lanes Christian. I have two sons who have graduated from CLCS and are excelling in college. We have been very pleased with how this school has prepared our children for college and for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 92%
Black 1% 5%
Hispanic 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • AACS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5330 Floradale Drive
Charleston, WV 25313
Website: Click here
Phone: (304) 776-5020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT